We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up To Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I have stayed for about 2 months in Windsor Locks and really enjoyed the stay. Everything was so perfect. The pool was good, Gym was good, and best was the room.

My current assignment was again a 3 month Sunday to Thursday kind of plan and was all up for staying in there but had to cancel the plan after a week of stay.

1. The microwave in my room was not working which I complaint and was said that it will be replaced the next day. It was not replaced as the maintenance guy didn't knew about the work order. It was replaced on third day but still had issues and didn't work which was finally fixed on the last day of my stay
2. The dishwasher leaked water
3. Parking was limited and had to fight on a night when I came at 10:30 PM
4. Gym was OK
5. The free internet- damn slow so not a good place if you are looking to complete some work which may need some bandwidth or emails with attachments

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank priy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Somerset
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

I just stayed one night for business here. The rooms are very nice. The service both when I checked in and out seemed a little slow but overall pretty good place to stay for business. The only downside is that it doesn't offer breakfast, but that's a feature of the Candlewood suites and it's the only place I could find available for me to stay. I have stayed in another Candlewood suites and it was not a good experience, this one was very nice compared to the other one I stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoptRWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I ordered a non-smoking room but the room stinked cigarette and the mattress was not good at all. But the kitchen was nice with the stove, refrigerator, microwave.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nayana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2012

Dear Nayana L,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Candlewood Suites around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the kitchenette amenities.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the smell of cigarette in your room. We will address these points. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This was my very first experience at The Candlewood Suies chain. The lobby as nice and clean and staff was friendly. Very spacious rooms as well as a good veriety of appliances and dishes in each room. Big TV. Satelite was horrible, but it did storm during my trip. Really not much to say but that i was very pleased with the layout of the hotel and the cleanliness too. I will be recommending this hotel to many family and friends when we visit the area again. Keep it up!!

Room Tip: Get a king suite. More room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeepGirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel is half way between Newark and Trenton which is convenient for my business needs and $20 or $30 per night cheaper than hotels near either city. Everything works well and the rooms are more spacious than a regular hotel. Staff were quietly unobtrusive. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globe_trotter35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago and the place was a mess as they renovated. Looks great now. New TV in the room. Kept VCR which is a big plus a lot my older movies are on VCR tapes. Air conditioner worked great which is nice since I've had a lot of problems with hotel AC lately. Located next to a shopping plaza with a good Asian restaurant. Price was more than reasonable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimmJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This is where I stay for when I am working at Rutgers. It is a very easy trip in to campus. The beds are very comfortable and the desk/workspace is extra long. They have the cupboard as well but prices are a bit steep.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Somerset
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#8 of 16 in Somerset
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#2 of 16 in Somerset
513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Somerset

Address: 41 Worlds Fair Dr, Somerset, NJ 08873-1344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: £70 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located in the business district of Somerset, NJ. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary use of the washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located near major interstates and 25 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport. Minutes from downtown New Brunswick, trains to NYC, Rutgers University and shopping malls. Convenient to major companies such as Sanofi-Aventis, Cardinal Health, Avaya, Phillips Lighting and J&J. We are also within the city limits of Piscataway and Bridgewater and adjacent to Basking Ridge and Warren Townships. Pet Friendly-restrictions and fees apply- one pet per suite- call hotel directly for additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Candlewood Somerset
Somerset Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing