We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible experience ever”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We booked 6 rooms a week prior to our visit however when we visited rooms were not ready at all. We had to wait for good 4 hours after 22 hours flight to check in. Rooms are pathetic. Air Conditioners were not working. Rooms were suffocated to death. I would not recommend this place to stay to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhishek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Abhishek J,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Candlewood Suites around. I sincerely apologize that our amenities and room conditions fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    37
    12
    7
    8
See reviews for
16
17
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I needed a last meinute weekend stay in somerset for work that was inexpensive clean. This place exceeded my expectations. I had read some of the bad reviews and was a little skeptical. I was also apprehensive about it costing the same per night as the Motel 6 down the road. I currently writing this in my renovated 1 bedroom queen suite, complete with new bedding with a down duvet, and chic modern look. Impeccably clean. Fluffy towles. Complementary bag of popcorn. Cooking utensils and a normal sized fridge. And I dont know about the other reviews and other rooms but it does work. My ONLY complaint was that the drain in the tub wouldnt stop up the water. Being on my feet all day for work, I was really looking forward to being able to soak. Thats ok though, its a common problem in most homes let alone hotels.

Be aware that the front desk hours are until 11am. Its a quiet hotel so I guess they found it was counterintuitive to make someone stay awake all night for nothing. After 11 you need your roomkey to enter the building.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImaginedImagery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie T, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 30 October 2015
On behalf of the Candlewood Suites Somerset Team, we would like to thank you for the awesome review and feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and loved the amenities that Candlewood offers. We appreciate you for being an IHG rewards club member and for choosing us for your accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed here for a convention in New Brunswick and were not disappointed as usual with Candlewood Suites. It was clean, comfortable and the staff exceptionally courteous. I love the queen one bedroom suite with two TVs and a separate sitting area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBiship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie T, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 16 November 2015
We would like to extend to you our heartfelt appreciation for choosing Candlewood Suites Somerset for your accommodation needs. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Pros:
- Spacious room
- Affordable
- Stove top, microwave, dishwasher, Full refrigerator, and kitchen accessorized
- Comfortable bed
- Smoking rooms available

Cons:
- Freezer was not cold, & ice maker did not work
- No pool
- No ice machines
- Limited entry
- Uninformed/uneducated front desk

Although the room was nice and spacious, the front desk wasn't very helpful when it came to the freezer not working properly. Check in was also delayed from wrong information they provided prior to my arrival. Close to shopping centers and restaurants. Free Internet connection, a little shaky at times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bxsuccess76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear bxsuccess76,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Again, thank you for your time and staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

For several years, I have been staying at Candlewood Suites - Somerset on a fairly regular basis. In the past, the hotel has been a good value for my purposes. However, during my past few stays, the quality and service at the hotel has declined substantially. I will no longer stay at the hotel, nor will I recommend it to others.

I come back to New Jersey to attend a meeting of a college alumni association, and these meetings often last until relatively late in the night. During my last two stays, parking was unavailable when I returned to the hotel late at night. This was particularly infuriating because some vehicles took up several spaces, while other spaces were occupied by vehicles that haven't been moved in years (in particular, one covered motorcycle that has been chained to a lamppost in the parking lot every time I have stayed at the hotel).

In absolute disregard of the Do Not Disturb sign on the door, housekeeping has woken me up early in the morning on checkout day, several hours before checkout time, each of my last two stays. Since my meetings run late into the night, I cherish the few extra hours of sleep I can catch up on the next morning. I really don't need housekeeping pounding on the door to my room. Why doesn't the hotel actually wait until the guests check out before sending housekeeping?

During my last stay, I deliberately booked a smoking room, even though it was larger than I needed and cost more than other options. Although it is a bad habit, I do enjoy having a cigarette while relaxing in my room or catching up on work. In spite of my confirmation of a smoking room, the clerk assigned me to a non-smoking room. When I arrived at the room and found a lack of ashtrays, I returned to the front desk and pointed out the error. The clerk said that there was no error; the smoking rooms were all full (apparently one guest extended their stay) despite my confirmation to the contrary. She seemed proud to say that she assigned me a room close to the exit, so that I may have an easier time going out in sub freezing weather to enjoy a cigarette, rather than staying in my room. She seemed to have little empathy or concern that I had deliberately booked a more expensive room in order to have a smoking room. Her lack of concern and inability to rectify the situation was appalling.

Finally, the condition of the room furniture has been declining. The desk chair was missing some of its leather covering, and its stuffing was coming out. I looked as though the chair was attacked by an animal.

It has become quite clear that the management has little concern for the comfort of their guests, and that they have no concern or capacity to rectify problems during a stay. I will not be returning to Candlewood Suites any time soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear UxbridgeRay,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. Please accept our sincerest apology for the over-all issues you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered which affected your stay negatively. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional information. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Somerset hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I asked for extra pillows & a blanket since the covers on the bed was so thin & the pillows were not firm at all - they told me to come back the next morning-to say they have no extra pillows. We sat a beer box outside the door - hoping they would pick it up and it sat outside the room for 2 days - the people across the hall did the same and their trash sat outside the door as well- who does that, I've done that at plenty of hotels and they've always picked up the trash. The staff was not friendly at all, I'm planning to go back to jersey for thanksgiving, i will not be staying here again!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Bella R,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We will address these points and I hope that when you return you will see the improvements that have been made. Thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughes Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Very nice comfortable rooms. Free laundry for guests and exercise room with many machines. The staff is very polite and courteous and trust worthy. Very reasonable rates as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking or looking for a place to stay in northern New Jersey.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louie T, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, 16 November 2015
We would like to extend to you our heartfelt appreciation for choosing Candlewood Suites Somerset for your accommodation needs. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#3 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#5 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Somerset

Property: Candlewood Suites Somerset
Address: 41 Worlds Fair Dr, Somerset, NJ 08873-1344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located in the business district of Somerset, NJ. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary use of the washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located near major interstates and 25 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport. Minutes from downtown New Brunswick, trains to NYC, Rutgers University and shopping malls. Convenient to major companies such as Sanofi-Aventis, Cardinal Health, Avaya, Phillips Lighting and J&J. We are also within the city limits of Piscataway and Bridgewater and adjacent to Basking Ridge and Warren Townships. Pet Friendly-restrictions and fees apply- one pet per suite- call hotel directly for additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Candlewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Candlewood Somerset
Somerset Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing