We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the overall expereince”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
New Jersey
1 review
“Loved the overall expereince”
Reviewed 27 April 2009

We really liked the way whole thing was set up, we checked in late, and at the front, so conveniently they placed our room keys in a safe. it was as though we are entering our house! The hotel was really clean, room was all neat and we also enjoyed a movie from free CD & DVD library . All the kitchen appliances were of very good quality and in very good condition. We liked the candlewood values store were we don't need to bother about having change for the vending machine, it was honor system payment. Everything was so convenient. It was very nice trip and i definitely would recommend and look forward to stay there again.

  • Liked — It was really neat and pleasent
  • Disliked — Not having wireless internet service
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sogreen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    37
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
16
19
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2009

I've stayed at this Candlewood Suites location several times over the past few months, and I highly recommend it for business travelers or anyone who wants a kitchenette. The rooms are always clean, the staff is friendly, and it's definitely good value for your money. (Especially if you're in any way affiliated with Rutgers University --- there's an excellent corporate rate.) Plus they give you free microwave popcorn and free high-speed internet. I've stayed at a few other extended-stay hotels in this area and this is definitely the best of the bunch. The only downside is that it's in the middle of nowhere in suburbia, so bring your dinner or be prepared to go out.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneed8720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2008

The staff was extremely nice and accomadating

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — no computer or buisness center
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank supermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson Valley
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 9 days over 2 weeks. I checked out once for the weekend, so I had 2 rooms to review on.

Remember that this is a long term stay like Extended Stay America, where you do not have daily maid service. So you leave your room a mess, towels on the floor, they will be there when you return. Rooms are freshened weekly. This was no problem for me as I just treated it like an apartment or home.

The staff at the front desk was very friendly. Again, this is not like a regular full service hotel, so there is no one manning the desk from 10PM (11pm?) to 7am. So if you are checking in or out during those times, you should be prepared ahead of time. for wait to check in or just drop cards for check out in the box.

It is located next to a Residence Inn , a brand I often stay at, but the 1/3 cheaper rate was too good not to try. The rooms were a bit smaller than Residence inns, but fully equipped with electric stove, full side frig, coffee maker, dishwasher & microwave... with all needed utensils, pans etc.

It was easy on & off I287, located down at the end of a section of low rise office buildings, and tech companies. It was very quiet. You will have to drive to get any groceries.. about 2 miles or so away. same for restaurants, except they are a bit further.

I would stay here again as it was clean, quiet, and a great value. I would really give it 3 1/2 stars. Not 'polished/fancy enough for a 4, but a nice stay.

One negative.. the world's slowest elevator.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2008

I stayed at this hotel on july the 9th for 2 nights. The front desk agent : Carlo, Sherlley, they were very friendly. The room look like a one bedroom appartment with a full kitchen, a sofa bed, 2 tv. the neighbohood is very quiet . but if you don' t drive it will be very difficult to walk to grocery store and others.
I will definetely stay there on my next trip to new jersey and i will recommand this hotel to my friends and coworkers.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

By stopover hotel for the night before i start my road trip, it has everything you want in an apartment . From a separated room, 2 TVs a mini kitchen till a vcr and a dvd player.

But there is no service staff after 7pm and you need to managed everything on your own including check in. They put your keys in a safe box and you need to self-checkin. Couldnt find the hotel staff when i want to check out too. Although they say it start work at 7am

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank sengkangboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 August 2005

Recently stayed at the Candlewood Somerset and found it to be very pleasant. Curteous staff, rooms very nicely appointed, particularly for the price. I would have no problem recommending the facility to others.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Somerset
123 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#2 of 16 in Somerset
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#8 of 16 in Somerset
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Somerset

Property: Candlewood Suites Somerset
Address: 41 Worlds Fair Dr, Somerset, NJ 08873-1344
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located in the business district of Somerset, NJ. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary use of the washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located near major interstates and 25 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport. Minutes from downtown New Brunswick, trains to NYC, Rutgers University and shopping malls. Convenient to major companies such as Sanofi-Aventis, Cardinal Health, Avaya, Phillips Lighting and J&J. We are also within the city limits of Piscataway and Bridgewater and adjacent to Basking Ridge and Warren Townships. Pet Friendly-restrictions and fees apply- one pet per suite- call hotel directly for additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Candlewood Somerset
Somerset Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing