We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trip, although I would have preferred less resort & more adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anaula Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I did the Friday-to-Monday trip and overall I enjoyed it. The planned activities are okay, although my favorite day was Sunday, when there was no itinerary and I was free to relax, fish, read, etc.

This trip wasn't exactly cheap, but i think the price is fair since they handle everything from when they pick you up in Paramaribo to when they drop you back off. I would recommend this if you're looking for an easy, structured trip into the interior, but not if you're seeking something on the more adventurous side.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LSMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

When we asked how much the price was for a cabin, they unbeknown to us told us the price per person. When we went to check out and pay is when we found out that it was 4 times what we thought we would pay as there were 4 of us. When we thought the price was reasonable, we put up with the extremely basic cabin and the bad food. They put out just so much food and if you weren't pushy you didn't get enough. The dancers that came to entertain us were clearly unhappy to be there and the visit to the village made us extremely embarrassed as they also were not happy to be watched. The jungle tour was through a path that was only a 10 minute walk on the island. Worst part of our Suriname vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debmauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

It is a nice package. First you will take a boattrip through the jungle. You will pass a few rapids, so that's fun. The resort is placed on a very small island. It has several types of bungalows (all with porch)... we had the bigger luxury bungalow. This is no five star bungalow, because you are smac in the jungle. So standards are lower than you normally expect. It is a living-area with two doublebeds. In the same room there is a table, chairs and closet. There is electricity for light and a fan (no aircon). The bathroom has a toilet and shower. But what more can you want for in a jungle. The restaurant serves meals in buffet-style. Food is good, but not spectacular. Before breakfast some bananas are fed to the monkeys near the jungle edge. These are wild monkeys, not the local pets. There is a nice swimming pool next to the restaurant with nice clean water. You can ly down on sunbathing chairs. On the terrain there are some hammock-buildings... places to read a book. The island has a nice jungle trail. I really enjoid walking the trail. If you really try you can see nice birds (woodpeckers) and insects. Sometimes you will see the monkeys too. We enjoid our stay. Bear in mind: the island is small. After a few days you have seen everything several times. There are several excursions (soaking in rapids, village-discovery, crocodile nightsearch). We did not take every excursion because excursions can take up much of the day. It is quite nice and relaxing to use the pool when everyone is on a excursion. There are 2 semi tame parrots on the island (scarlet macaw). Most people stay 3 or 4 days. That's enough.

Room Tip: There are small bungalows and big bungalows. Take the bigger bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoBodySPerfect1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The buildings and physical plant of this resort are really well kept and pleasant to stay in- the prOblem is that there is no reason to want to stay. It is on a small island, so you cannot organize any activities for yourself, and cannot even go for walks because the only trail takes about 5 minutes from start to end. The activities organized by the resort are aimed at kids. The place is also full of kids, many of them quite obnoxious. If you are adults traveling on your own, you will want to go elsewhere. If you're with kids, it should be great.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Yabanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carlatess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Bela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Erik-Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Anaula Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaula Nature Resort

Address: Wagenwegstraat 55, Aurora 4461 HV, Suriname
Region: Suriname > Sipaliwini District > Aurora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Aurora
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing