We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Food, OK Service”
Review of ovations

ovations
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: East meets west...sushi, fresh fish, fresh pasta all very delicious!
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“OK Food, OK Service”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Has a 1970s feel to it. Needs to be updated though I believe it has been but just missed the mark. Food is acceptable as is service. Priced high given the food and service levels.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tripevaluatorin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Checking Around”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I have been to Ovations to eat, but unfortunately have not gone back because of the pricing of the food. I just feel the restaurant is overpriced, but they did do a really good job at redoing the restaurant. I stopped in this past november, but of course it was closed for the weather.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The rare non-mall New Jersey restaurant”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Varied menu, decent sushi, extensive drink menu. Pleasant outdoor seating. Rapid service. Overall positive experience

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank levtahor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Food was very good. Nice choices and specials. Specials are pricey so ask ahead so no surprises.
Good service, very friendly. The place is lively, good vib, and they have an outdoor patio. I would go back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Food, Horrible Service, Very Loud!”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a very busy spot, in an unlikely location, with a cool bar serving great drinks and freshly made sushi. The menu while limited, features fresh fish, poultry, steaks and pasta dishes and everything we tried was genuinely delicious, though many items seemed to be unavailable. So while the food and beverages will not disappoint,the service is absolutely terrible. Expect long waits, to beg and plead for any attention and some highly unprofessional service...fingers in drinking glasses, on plates being served in inappropriate ways, presenting flatwear with fingers on the side to be eaten from and even serving one person in our party a dinner entree, then rushing over and grabbing it back as it was about to be eaten as it turned out to be the dinner of a guest at another table. Serious training and grooming for the servers seems like a no-brainer and makes you wonder what might be going on in the kitchen. We won't be back to take the chance!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank topshelfplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed ovations also viewed

South Bound Brook, NJ
Bound Brook, NJ
 

Been to ovations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing