We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't say enough good things about this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Can't say enough good things about this hotel!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I actually joined Tripadvisor just to review our stay here. Alyssa at the front desk could not have been nicer or more helpful, she is truly and asset! I must say all of the staff really made the Hampton Inn shine! From the room being very clean and comfortable to the amazing breakfast and dining area provided it was a terrific stay. We will be back for sure. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 74margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
OH WOW what a nice review. Thank you for mentioning Alyssa...she is truly a gem! She really embodies what taking care of our guests is all about. Thank you for recognizing our other amazing team members as well. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to see you back again!

Best Wishes,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    115
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
184
104
39
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
west babylon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

When we booked I was hesitant due to the price which is pretty cheap but boy was I wrong. The Hotel is excellent. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, they even called the room 5 minutes after we got there to make sure the room was satistifactory. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large. The breakfast area is well stocked and clean. We didn't go in the pool but we did go out to look at it and it was nice. We would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Born2ryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking some time to review us. Our team members really do strive for excellence every day. Thank you for that vote of confidence. The team enjoys reading our reviews as it makes their jobs just a little more rewarding when they get such positive feedback for their efforts. We are so glad you found the hotel to your liking. We’ll be here waiting for you to visit us again soon.

Warm Wishes,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newark, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is great for a group travelling together! The hotel staff is friendly and attentive to guest needs (especially Javier!) The outdoor pool and sitting area was perfect for an evening wind down. Many local restaurants to choose from, with accomdations in the hotel for group meal if food is delivered. Selection of breakfast food was more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
What a nice "shout-out" for Javier!! Thanks for taking some time to recognize one of our team members. They read all of our reviews and take them to heart. It means so much to them as they enjoy taking care of our guests and having some fun! Your review is wonderful and we certainly appreciate that! We host a variety of tournaments throughout the year and we love having you! Hope to see you back soon.

All the Best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, VA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I found this hotel to be conveniently located, clean, well equipped and comfortable. I had one issue with them when there was no hot water for a period of time during my stay. Since I was in town for my son's wedding and needed to get ready that afternoon, it was a concern.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We appreciate you reviewing our hotel. It always helps our future guests to know that our hotel is just a little better than the rest. We so are sorry about the water issue. It was an emergency repair for a pipe that started leaking that morning. Every building requires repair and maintenance to keep it looking and feeling great…ours is no different. The hot water was only interrupted for about 45mins while our plumber installed a new fitting. As we really do understand the needs of our guests, we informed everyone first thing in the morning of what time the repair would take place that afternoon. Again we apologize. Hope you had fun at the wedding! See you again when you’re in the area.

Best Wishes,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Overall very nice stay. Room 102 is next to breakfast prep room, so sleeping past 6AM is "iffy". I would stay here again, good value, nice staff. TV did not have NBC Sports channel, so missed some Stanley Cup action, unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank DanburyDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for writing a review for us. Sorry about the noise in that room. We usually try not to sell it and keep breakfast as quiet as possible but sometimes we are sold out and don't have a choice. We promise to get you a different room the next time you come back since you did say you would return..and we are gonna hold you to it! Thanks again. Have a great summer!

Warm Regards,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drums, PA USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I can't think of one negative thing to include in the is review. The positives: Very clean and very new facility. Shower great pressure and hot water supply. In room charging station for phones. Breakfast set up excellent with great selection of hot n cold foods. Tea was good - hot water was in a separate container so it didn't taste like coffee. Nice artwork and design throughout. Pool looked nice but too cold to try it. Large flat screen TV. Lots of parking. Housekeeping manager checked the room to ensure it was perfect. Front desk clerk (Merle?) was the nicest person I have ever encountered at a hotel. Room was quiet even near the elevator. Price was well worth the accommodations. This facility gets a 99.9%. The only thing I can think of that would make it a perfect 100% is the addition of a small in room fridge. Highly recommend this hotel and we will stay here again for next year's Steampunk World's Fair!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OLDFLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
OH MAN....only 99.9%??? Alright I guess we'll take it! Thanks for your wonderful review of the hotel. We really appreciate that you mentioned all of our awesome amenities...even Merle at the front desk. She’s the best amenity we have! Who can resist her warm and friendly smile? But in all honesty we would love to put refrigerators in every room were it not such a large undertaking that requires mountains of approvals from Hilton/Hampton, a complete redesign/renovation of all our guest rooms to fit them and modifications to the electrical system to add the power. Hopefully when we renovate the guest rooms in a year or two it will be included. Until then guests can certainly request one as we have a few available. Thanks again...hope to see you back soon so you can experience our Hamptonality all over again!

Yours in Hospitality,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Excellent hotel, and perhaps the best in its area! Absolutely the best Hampton I've stayed at. The staff and management were very friendly and efficient, including the room cleaning staff. The breakfast was good, consisting of both warm (eggs, sausages, etc.) and cold (cereal, bread, etc.) food options Room was clean and in good condition.

The HHonors Gold welcome amenity is typically just one snack and one beverage. This hotel gave me one snack and one beverage to EACH of my four family members, so we were all really pleased. The amenity choices are good, including our favorite Toblerone selection.

Every elite benefit was honored well, including 2PM late checkout. All front desk staff I talked to had good humor and tone.

Only one small tip for improvement: I was able to hear some of my neighbors' noises. But I'm not sure whether the neighbors themselves were simply too noisy or whether the walls were thin.

Nevertheless, I will definitely return to this hotel whenever I travel back to the South Plainfield, NJ area.

Note: I may have submitted this review twice by accident - once on tripadvisor.com and once via a Hampton survey.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdullhk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Opps...it does look like your review got posted twice...well...thanks again anyway. We'll hope that this means you found us twice as nice!

All the best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Plainfield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#3 of 5 in South Plainfield
161 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#2 of 5 in South Plainfield
170 reviews
11.3 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 6 in Bridgewater
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway

Property: Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Address: 205 New World Way, South Plainfield, NJ 07080-1141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway is located Just 2 miles from Rutgers University and less than 20 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport in South Plainfield, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, keep in shape at our fitness center & indoor pool. Explore many South Plainfield area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing