We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Hotel and Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Nice Hotel and Excellent Location”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The staff at the Hampton Inn was very pleasant and accommodating. Despite being in a busy part of town the staff exhibited a caring small town attitude taking time to educate about the facility and making sure you knew they were available to assist with things like calling a cab. The hotel is nicely remodeled, the rooms a good size and clean. The breakfast includes many items to please almost any palate. The location can't be beat as it puts you central to all areas of New Jersey and close to the train station to catch a ride to New York. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Such a nice review! Thank you so much for taking a moment to review us. We are glad you stayed with us and got to experience the teams “Hamptonality”. They are very good at taking care of guests as it's truly a pleasure for them. We know that traveling today isn't always as great as it should be so we try to make it just a bit better. Thanks for mentioning our cleanliness. The Housekeeping team appreciates it. Enjoy the last bit of summer. Hope to see you again soon.

All the Best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    113
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
183
104
39
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was satisfied with the room but unhappy that i was charged more then my bill stated i would be. The bill in my room said my card would be charged a certain amount and we were charged over $40 more. I was not happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for submitting a review and rating us "Very Good". We attempted to contact you several times regarding your accusation of being overcharged but did not hear back from you. You were billed exactly the amount your reservation was booked for. Perhaps you saw the "pending" charge on your debit card and did not understand that hotels place an authorization on your card for the full anticipated dollar amount to be owed to the hotel, including estimated incidentals. Upon check-out the hotel releases this authorization but depending upon your financial institution it could take 3-5 business days to be reflected in your account. As we have not heard from you we can only assume your bank has updated your account and you see the full amount of the charge is correct. We certainly hope you enjoyed your stay with us. The team tries very hard to please all our guests as it evident by the hundreds of positive ratings here. For the benefit of all we request that in the future, before writing a negative review about something you do not understand, you would give the merchant the courtesy of explaining the situation so you could post a more accurate review that would not mislead our future guests. The team here is extremely well versed in the operations of the hotel and would have been more than happy to explain how your debit card works so you better understand. As always we are at your service and will hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, VA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The rooms are nicely furnished and contain ample toiletry supplies. The staff is very friendly and concerned about your comfort. The complimentary breakfast fare is good and the dining area is pleasant. The ice cold water, popcorn and chocolate chip cookies are a nice touch upon arrival.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay! We are so happy. The team tries hard to keep everyone happy and it’s great when guests comment and review us so our future guests know we really are a wonderful little hotel. Glad you enjoyed the evening snacks...who doesn't like some popcorn and cookies! Enjoy the rest of your summer. See you back again soon.

Best Wishes,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed here for a few nights while visiting friends. It is a very nice hotel with friendly staff and all the amenities needed when away from home. There is a small gym, an outdoor pool and a jacuzzi. Unfortunately, it rained and we were not able to use the pool. My daughter used the gym and she said it was small but good enough to get a work out. We really enjoyed the complementary breakfast. It had eggs, waffles, bacon, sausage, pasties, bagels and a great oatmeal bar with fruit and nuts. The room was a bit small but the bathroom was a good size. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel also provided Neutrogena bath products which was really nice. And if you forget a toiletry item, the hotel will provide them. The only thing missing was a fridge. The hotel is centrally located and rightoff I287 which was convenient. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanlee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Sorry it rained while you were with us...there are just some things we can't control!! We are happy you enjoyed the use of our other facilities. Thanks for commenting about our fitness center, we know it's not large but we tried to get as much in as we could....just enough to work off those calories from our great breakfast. Thanks for taking some time to write a review for us. The team truly appreciates it. Have a great summer! See you when you return again.

All the Best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithonia, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As usual, the staff was great. Javier went out of his way to make sure I received my HH points. The room was very clean and the breakfast was good. My daughter was very pleased with the variety of choices for breakfast. The staff was very helpful with helping me navigate in an unfamiliar city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Shana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Well...we will certainly give some kudos to Javier. He is a great team member and along with the rest of the team works so hard. I'm glad we helped you navigate around the area...Jersey can be a little confusing. The front desk team is great a giving out logical directions. Thanks for staying with us and for writing such a nice review. See you again soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

All the Best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

very surprised of just how friendly the staff was , always concerned that your stay was good , found the room and property very clean , pool nice , open until 11 pm witch is great , breakfast ok , next time in Somerset area I would not hesitate to stay here

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimy1170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are so happy you were pleasantly surprised. We love when our guests rave about their stay. The team works so hard and they love when our guests have a great time with us. Glad you got to experience all aspects of the hotel included our relaxing pool area. Thanks for taking a moment to review us. We'll see you next time for sure!

Warm Regards,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Eric's team is a bunch of happy and polite people. Pool and Breakfast spread are great. The front office team is helpful and forthcoming with solutions. The rooms are clean and the housekeeping team ensures cleanliness all the time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Kulwinder S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and posting such a great reivew. It was wonderful to have met you and chatted with you during your stay. I'm glad the team took such good care of you...as they usually do. I know you traveled far to get to us and I hope this can be you home when in New Jersey again. We will hope to see you back soon.

Warm Wishes,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Plainfield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#2 of 5 in South Plainfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#3 of 5 in South Plainfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
11.3 mi away
HYATT house Bridgewater
HYATT house Bridgewater
#1 of 6 in Bridgewater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway

Property: Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Address: 205 New World Way, South Plainfield, NJ 07080-1141
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway is located Just 2 miles from Rutgers University and less than 20 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport in South Plainfield, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, keep in shape at our fitness center & indoor pool. Explore many South Plainfield area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing