We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Normandy Inn

Normandy Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Normandy Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Normandy inn recently and were disappointed. There were no beach chairs !! We had to go drive and find a place that of course resulted in wasting time and being overcharged for chairs. Then the Inn had no more parking spots available so we had to park 2-3 blocks away and walk back. The service was mediocre at best and the staff was very unsympathetic to these problems. It seems like if you go during a less busy time and don't mind mediocre service you should be ok.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Postman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normandyinn, Owner at Normandy Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review as it allows us to reiterate exactly what you left out for other readers. You were informed when you booked as well as when you arrived to the house that check in time was three o'clock and that amenities like beach tags, etc. were not promised before that time. We did allow you to occupy your room three hours early. We cannot help that even though you were early, you decided to go and purchase your own chairs. Coincidentally, two chairs were returned to the inn just moments after you shared some unkind words with our young innkeeper. As far as parking goes, guests are informed in multiple ways that parking is limited. That we cannot change. Additional parking is only four houses down on the ocean block. For the few and far between who are unkind to staff trying to help and then who take the liberty to write such words, we are fine with this as it reminds us of all the truly wonderful guests who return year after year simply for our service and because our innkeepers love our guests and love doing what they do every day!
We are sorry that your stay was not as expected and wish you luck in finding a location that better suits your needs.
Christine Valori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
30
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We have stayed in Spring Lake at various bed & breakfasts over the years but this was our first visit to the Normandy Inn. The inn is well-located, easy walking distance to the beach and the downtown. This is one of the larger inns in Spring Lake and so the feel is less personal than a B&B. The Normandy provides a nice choice of meals at breakfast and a lovely assortment of treats in the afternoon. They also have refrigerators to store wine and other items, which is very nice. Our complaint was really with the rooms and the overall state of the inn. We stayed in one of the Normandy's premium rooms, at a cost of over $300/night, which is rather pricey, even for Spring Lake. Our room was only adequate - and the bathroom was really inadequate. Very difficult to get hot water - the hot water would stop midway through a shower, the walls were paper thin so all activity in the hallways and in other rooms could be overheard. The rooms were not well cleaned from day to day - dirty dishes were left in our room from one day to the next, and it was obvious the rooms were not vacuumed frequently. We returned from an outing mid-afternoon one day and our room still had not been cleaned at all. One morning many of the guests came for breakfast at the same time and the innkeeper and her staff were very frazzled trying to serve everyone. The inn desperately needs to be updated - bathrooms are very tired looking, pictures are hung in broken frames that hang crookedly from the walls, the canopy on our bed didn't fit properly into its frame. We didn't have a bad stay at the Normany but we felt we paid dearly for very average accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AALancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normandyinn, Owner at Normandy Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Mr. F, We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. When you came to the desk to inquire about your room being clean, housekeeping had not yet finished the first floor and it was still early in the afternoon. Then, when they did get to your room, it was an inconvenient time. As for breakfast, it is true that this particular morning was busy but we definitely were not frazzled. We pride ourselves on being one of the very few B&B's in the area who do the kind of breakfast we do and many of our guests come back just for this reason. In terms, of the house needing updating, we do not portray the inn to be other than what it is which is a Victorian seaside inn built in 1888. Yes, many of our frames and other pieces may seem old but that is because they are. In fact, The Normandy has won awards for the number of authentic pieces in one location and is proudly listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Truly, we are sorry that this is not to your taste but would not state any differently if asked to describe our property. Our dismay is that you did not come to us while you were a guest to communicate your dissatisfaction because we would have assisted in coming to an acceptable resolution. Finding out about your concerns on trip advisor is not conducive to trying to make your stay as pleasant as possible...which is what we do because we love to do this for all our guests!!! Thank you for allowing us at least in writing to portray what we feel are our strengths and we hope you find the property that best suits your "style". Best wishes from The Normandy Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Our most recent visit to the Normandy Inn was delightful. The innkeepers warmly greeeted us and graciously helped us to our lovely, well equipted room after all the ammenities were explained to us. Our afternoon treats were delicious as was the morning breakfast. Our breakfast began with delicious muffins, then whatever we wanted off the plentiful menu. Everything was top quality. This inn is on the National Registry and is in wonderful condition. The common rooms are inviting and the rooms are truely lovely. Everything about this inn is inviting and you leave totally relaxed. It's always a pleasure to stay at the Normandy Inn. V&L

Room Tip: Spring Lake is a lovely town within walking distance from the Inn as is the Atlantic Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linvin664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Another great stay at the Normandy Inn. Immaculate rooms, beautiful antique furnishings, and a staff that is warm and friendly and always eager to help (thanks Hilary!). Our two children loved the afternoon treats, home made cookies and cakes and lemonade! Perfect after a long day at the beach, which is a short one block away. And of course I have to mention the breakfast which was a real crowd pleaser, especially the pancakes which are paper thin and "bigger than your face". Yummy! We will certainly be returning. Thanks for wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I used to stay at the Normandy Inn every anniversary at the end of June. We’ve had many rooms in the inn, and each had their own personal touch, with beautiful antiques and turn-of-the-century charm. We watched the inn evolve, and appreciated the changes from year to year. The owner and his wife and daughter and their dog would greet us like family, and we always felt like we were visiting our friends at the shore.

It’s been several years since my husband and I have been back to the inn, and the only thing missing this time was the family feel. It’s a bit more impersonal now, although the staff is very attentive.

If you want to relax, this is the place. The quiet street, the quiet porch, the afternoon tea with fruit and homemade cake or muffins, all soothe the soul. We love to walk the beautiful tree-lined streets leading into the charming town and gape at all the tasteful, magnificent homes along the way. We had our anniversary dinner at Whispers, and it was everything a fine restaurant should be.

Just steps to the ocean, we enjoyed a day on the sand and a dip in the water. Beautiful! And we enjoyed a very reduced mid-week price which includes their very complete and large breakfast. If you want to de-stress and if you appreciate Victorian charm and elegance, this is definitely your place.

Room Tip: Rooms beginning with "2" i.e. "201" are TWO flights up. No elevators. The main f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gitoutngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Normandy Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words about your stay at The Normandy Inn. We truly do love what we do and always hope to have our guests coming back again and again. I will share your review with my staff as I know it will be greatly appreciated by all. Best wishes to you for a healthy and happy rest of the summer!!!
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

We choice this inn based on the representation they had bicycles, all were broken; they claimed breakfast was included however they expected you to tip the staff for serving you the food; When we were packing up to leave I looked around to make sure I didn't forget anything and found old, dirty candy under the chair in our room (my husband and I didn't have candy!) They claim to have beach towels but by 2pm in the afternoon none were left. The inn offers 17 rooms but only 9 parking spaces. And upon our arrival there were two young boys skateboarding all over the porch and property. My husband and I go away for 2 nights once a year and leave our children home. I definitely do no want to put up with other kids children. We chose an inn to be away from children! Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Normandy Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2012
Dear Guest:

We are sorry to hear about your unpleasant stay mostly because you did not inform us and allow us opportunity to address any of your concerns. Having said that, The Normandy Inn provides complimentary bikes, chairs, towels, etc. I myself was here and retrieved beach towels for anyone who needed them and know that we did not "run out" so I am sorry if this was your perception. Our breakfast is something that we pride ourselves on as the only inn in town that offers such an extensive menu at a private table and made to order. We also pride ourselves on the best service for the best price...just read our other reviews. In terms of your room, if housekeeping missed something then this is not ordinary or acceptable and had we known this would have been addressed immediately. If we cannot resolve an issue we are in the practice of offering a free stay to return or giving money back. I would challenge you to find another property that would do that. As for the children and the parking... It is stated in multiple places that we have limited on site parking and it is just four houses down to additional parking. This is something we cannot help. It is also written on our website that we are a family friendly inn and the children who were here this week, in my opinion, were extremely respectable. Our being a family friendly inn is not going to change and if that is important to you then there are plenty of other adults only properties that we would have been happy to recommend. We are sorry that you are unhappy but even more so that you did not allow us the opportunity to come to a mutually acceptable conclusion as this is what we are in the habit of making our guests come first!

Best of luck to you and our wishes that you do find what you are looking for in your next property!

Christine Valori
The Normandy Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haledon, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My husband and I were looking for a B&B to celebrate our 12th yr wedding anniversary. He was a bit skeptical about B&B b/c he thought a young couple such as us needed to be closer to the "City life". But this was truly a choice that neither of us regrets. The staff was wonderful because they were friendly, accommodating and truly made us feel "at home". And the room we stayed in was absolutely what we needed! Getting in late at night and being able to relax in the jacuzzi was exactly what I needed on my first night. The porch was so spacious and relaxing that we were able to spend some quality time while enjoying a cup of tea/coffee in the nighttime breeze. Being just a short walking distance to the beach was a plus. It's also great that I can feel comfortable to come back and bring my children on my future trips b/c the staff provided the type of environment that all ages can enjoy. Our experience exceeded what we had imagined it would be.

Room Tip: Rm1 is a definite room for a couple to enjoy a romantic and relaxing getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rozzy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Normandy Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Wow! Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write such a great review. We really do enjoy our guests and hope to see you return again and again. Best wishes from the entire Normandy Inn Staff!
Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.9 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Normandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Normandy Inn

Property: Normandy Inn
Address: 21 Tuttle Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1533
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Normandy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Normandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing