We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the Street from the Beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This old hotel is a gem in a shore town filled with huge gorgeous private residences. After reading other reviews I was skeptical, but our room was much better than anticipated--much better than most of the shore hotels I've stated in, and a better value than most...but even a weekend shore trip is ridiculously expensive! We had a Queen room, plenty big enough. They warned us it was above the reception hall, and there were events all 3 nights. It was loud but not unbearable, and, as promised, shut off promptly at 11 each night. No problem! We had an issue with our TV & later with our Internet & both times people came promptly & fixed them. No remaining Hurricane damage, boardwalk rebuilt. Would return for romantic wknd--not the best shore town for kids, not a lot of dining or recreation options.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vcwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

end of june we have had a conference business meeting. In summary: Cannot get any better. Thanks so much for all. Especially to the Gentleman from Spain and his colleagues who served us during the conference which was at one of the meeting rooms facing the ocean. Also thanks to the hotel manager who helped immediately for all our requests (projector, conference telephone, ..)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early June & had a nice time! We were there for 3 nights in total and we spent the first 2 nights in a cozy king and the remaining night in a deluxe room. The higher end room was over $100 more a night and I would say it wasn't worth the money! The walls were thin and as a result I had to listen to the person next door snoring all night!! The breakfast in the hotel was very nice & all the young staff (at breakfast & on reception) were super friendly and helpful. We ate dinner there one night and it was nice, however our waiter (older than breakfast staff) wasn't that nice. He had absolutely no interest in serving us and when we asked him about options he would rhyme them off so fast and with no interest that we couldn't really understand him. As a result of this we ate out the other two nights we were there.
Springlake is a nice town, however as a young couple we found there s not really much to do there. It is fine if you want to just relax and chill out!
Overall, this is a nice hotel but it is overpriced, and our rates were low season. I would not pay high season rates here, it just wouldn't be worth it!

Room Tip: Stay in the smaller rooms, they are much better value than higher end rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just left this hotel and had to come right back and write this review. Was there for a three day stay and from check-in to check-out everything was perfect!! The staff at the Breakers could not have done more for us. The location is right across from the ocean which is absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BridgewatermjP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Hoped to find a great beach front hotel with pool.......very disappointing.........dated........very poor customer service........front desk rude.........don't waste your money.......over priced........stayed in the highest end room and was very disappointed. Loud music coming from a wedding........hot unairconditioned hallways......my main problem was the unaccommodating staff....they made no attempt to get us into our room after a 6 house drive prior to a 3 pm check in.......never again

Room Tip: rooms were dated..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank charles p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location for beach wedding however the weather was not on our side that day but the breakers made the most of it for my sis and her new hubby rooms are ok some of us got smaller rooms then others and the prices were too high IMO Room service for breakfast the morning of was prompt The restaurant gave us free desserts for the wedding party the night before. Nice touch but we had time span in between pictures and ceremony so we stayed in hospitality suite only to find we had to buy snacks and bottled water. Not cool. It started drizzling so they brought us golf umbrella due to ceremony being in gazebo then it let loose with the rain. Thank goodness wedding planner that works there was thoughtful enough to set up ceremony on porch next to the coctail hour which was awesome. Dinner and servers were excellent. Room was spacious. Over all. I give breakers. 3-5 stars

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandysmom1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night stay from July 2 to July 5, 2013. The room was spotless and nicely furnished. Loved the wraparound porch with plenty of seating. The pool was large and clean. It did get crowded but it was July 4! The staff was friendly and polite. I inquired at the front desk about the history of the hotel. They were happy to print information for me. The restaurant was adequate, we only had one dinner there. Ate in town at other restaurants for other meals, which was a short walk. The town is lovely...large well-kept homes with impeccable landscaping. The area around the lake is beautiful, which is also within walking distance. The hotel had a lot of character and "seashore elegance" to it. Only one criticism about the room...I would have liked a coffeemaker in the room. The housekeepers were very good.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe king which was roomy and provided an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seashell55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
427 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: £72 - £314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing