We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Breakers on the Ocean
Nearby Hotels
Hewitt Wellington(Spring Lake)(Great Value!)
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chateau Inn & Suites(Spring Lake)(Great Value!)
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doolan's(Spring Lake)
US$115
US$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Atlantic Inn & Suites(Wall Township)
US$80
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Economy Inn(Wall Township)
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Girt Lodge(Wall Township)
US$99
US$80
Travelocity
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walden on the Pond(Spring Lake)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (395)
Filter reviews
395 results
Traveller rating
179
93
46
29
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
179
93
46
29
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano barhotel restaurantoff seasonwhirlpool tubthe past yearsgreat roomnew jerseyfront porchthe entire staffmid weekbeach badgesboardwalkterrioceanweekenddonamaitre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 395 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

The value of a pool where you can sit in a lounge chair, hear and see ocean breezes is PRICELESS to anyone traveling with kids. If the waves are too rough, or the water too salty, or the kids are just plain hungry, come back to the hotel. The food is better than anticipated poolside. Generous portions, courteous staff, and a huge stack of clean dry towels whenever you want one. The rooms are well maintained, no easy feat, with the amount of sand brought in. My only complaint is that there is no coffee served till 7 am...buts it's free from 7- 9 in the veranda...just send one of the older kids (if you have one) to get it for you. We've been coming for over 20 years now...and look forward to coming back! We even look forward to paying our deposit so we can visit for a day!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra money to get at least a side Ocean view or better...waking up watching the waves crash against the breakers is one of the best joys of a Breakers vacation!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We spent two nights at The Breakers in Spring Lake with our 3 year old. We had two rooms in two days because we booked at the last minute and they had prior commitments. The first room had two queen beds on the 4th floor. This room was ok. It needed to be updated but it was clean and the beds were comfy. Our second room had one king bed so we all slept together! This room was on the 2nd floor and was much nicer. They upgraded this one recently. The hotel has a great location right across from the beach and we got beach passes for the two days. (there is a daily fee without a pass for adults). The beach is very nice but you can not bring any food on the beach, only bottles of water. On Sunday the police were actually walking blanket to blanket checking passes so I'm sure they were looking at what food if any you had. The hotel has a large pool and kiddie pool with plenty of lounge chairs and tables with unbrellas. Our daughter had a blast in the pool with other kids at the hotel. We ate breakfast at the restaurant which was good and not overpriced. I think the room price was high, but it seems all the hotels charge a lot during the summer. Overall we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geewmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Another fabulous week at the Breakers Spring Lake NJ. My sister and I have been staying at the Breakers for almost 20 years every summer. The entire experience is wonderful: wonderful service (family run property)/excellent food/gorgeous view as property overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. One feels that you step back into the days of genteel living and service!

We highly recommend this vacation site!

Nancy Calabrese Arnold, MD
Rose Ma

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

First, I will start with the positives. Everyone at the hotel was very warm and accommodating. They are willing to do whatever they can to make your stay nice. Everyone was smiling and truly wanted to help. However, the hotel is in need of serious updating. There were major problems with the air conditioner in multiple rooms for our party, including our own. Our shower had no hot water, the phone didn't work, and neither did the hair dryer. The one elevator broke during our stay which proved to be a problem for some of the older guests as well as us. This hotel may be better than others in the area but has some big problems to work on. If you are like me and used to higher end hotels, this place will be a problem for you. I was not even expecting high end this trip, but I was expecting a place with working air conditioner in the middle of a serious heat spell. It was brutal.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Maver17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

This old hotel is a gem in a shore town filled with huge gorgeous private residences. After reading other reviews I was skeptical, but our room was much better than anticipated--much better than most of the shore hotels I've stated in, and a better value than most...but even a weekend shore trip is ridiculously expensive! We had a Queen room, plenty big enough. They warned us it was above the reception hall, and there were events all 3 nights. It was loud but not unbearable, and, as promised, shut off promptly at 11 each night. No problem! We had an issue with our TV & later with our Internet & both times people came promptly & fixed them. No remaining Hurricane damage, boardwalk rebuilt. Would return for romantic wknd--not the best shore town for kids, not a lot of dining or recreation options.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vcwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews