We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
cragsmoor
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I highly recommend this old but tastefully renovated hotel with its perfect location,friendly,helpful staff,e cellent restaurant and spotlessly clean(and affordable!) rooms. We will most definitely return to enjoy the miles of golden sands,brand new, immaculate boardwalk and the lovely wraparound porch/veranda where one could while away the hours, book,or drink in hand if you are too tired,lazy or old to access the beach! Overall a great find

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which was great as it had a lovely view and the elevator made it easy for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceilidhCragsmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    91
    38
    26
    47
See reviews for
132
136
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I loved this hotel. Right on the Atlantic, everyone was so kind and helpful. Our room was immaculate. The porch makes the hotel very sweet. We sat out there and just looked at the beautiful ocean. The wedding was wonderful and the food was the best.

Room Tip: If you are not attending the wedding get a room that isn't over the reception because of the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatontown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed in a fabulous room which was 100 percent immaculate and renovated. The over sized jacuzzi tub was a glorious way to end the day at the beach.
The hotel Lounge had an incredible jazz pianist on weds. evening named Charlie Clarke. We only stayed a few night but it was a most relaxing and romantic get away!
Oh and the food was delicious both dinner and breakfast rocked!!
I highly recommend The Breakers on the Ocean in spring Lake NJ.

Room Tip: higher floors are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherripie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just spent a great weekend at the Breakers. We had a tower suite that was great with a large brand new bathroom. Location couldn't be better and it was nice to spend the day at the beach and then go lay by the pool for a cocktail or two.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lala724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

So the location is perfect - right across from the ocean. The front porch is lovely - a wonderful place to enjoy an evening cocktail, or a lazy morning. But... For the price that you pay at this place, it's astounding that the decor hasn't been updated in 30+ years. Our room was 80s fabulous, as was the restaurant. The hallway rugs need to be replaced, as does the elevator (which was broken while we were there). Everything is old, but not in an antique/charming way, if you know what I mean.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BreakersOnTheOcean, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear L G:

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel including your time relaxing on our oceanfront terrace. We agree that it is wonderful. We are sorry to hear that there was a problem with the elevator during your stay. We hope that the issue was resolved quickly and that the staff was helpful. Since you stayed with us almost 1 year ago, we do not have specifics on the occurrence. We take great pride in the appearance and maintenance of our property and constantly reinvest to make it better. Our dining rooms, lower lobby and guest room hallways have all been redecorated within the past few years. All of our guest rooms have been redone within recent years as well. We are a historic property and we choose to maintain a traditional decor throughout the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you have an enjoyable Summer 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Two Old Ladies on the road again. This was our fourth visit to The Breakers. We love it's ambiance and character. The location on the ocean is a joy even if we are not there "in season". But we find that the management of the hotel seems to always drop the ball. This time we went at end of March and was told that there would not be food service, but coffee in morning. There was just that, no tea, juice etc even though room cost is same as with food service. Also there was no hot water and we had a jacuzzi tub. We were told to let water run 15 min-- it got lukewarm. Nothing above that temp in our 3 nights there. We will return, but never at this time of the year. The food is average.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms in the south wing, but have never had a bad view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARDressler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Went to The Breakers for a wedding a couple weeks ago. Spent most of the time in the ballroom, so this review is more of the wedding venue than the hotel since we didn't stay over. The facilities were well kept, and up to date considering the hotel dates back to the late 1800s. The food was very good, starting with the cocktail hour out on the wrap around porch, as well as our dinner choices. As with most of the town, it's street parking, and could be an issue in the summer months when the tourist season comes around. Overall a very nice place, classy town, and spectacular views of the beach and Victorian homes.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wetwater23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing