We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a renovation, but cannot beat the location!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Needs a renovation, but cannot beat the location!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hands down the location of this hotel is amazing and that is why they charge the fees they do. The hotel itself could you a major renovations. Carpets felt a bit dirty, chapstick left behind a previous guest, dirty couch which I banned my children from sitting on. We were in room 600 (the tower room) - amazing view of the beach, but crappy room. The 4 post bed was a danger to my kids who love jumping around, the couch was tattered and the carpet had us wearing shoes everywhere. It would have been smart to close off those top 2 tower rooms to make a family suite since you have to walk up an extra steep staircase from the 4th floor. Each room has a fridge.

The hotel has a freezing rectangular cold pool - totally blah, average restaurant and friendly service. Parking is very easy and just cross the street to the beach!! One thing the hotel SHOULD offer are beach chairs and umbrellas. When I am paying that much a night, I was hoping not to rent them.

Our 2 boys ( ages 3 + 6) loved the beach - clean, just big enough and waves were a blast! Spring Lake is an extremely wealthy area so huge houses, nice cars and nice crowd at the beach which is heavily guarded by the neighborhood beach patrol. You can buy a beach base or the hotel gives you one when you stay.

We would come back to this place, but would request rooms on the 3rd floor and renovated.

Room Tip: Tower room is NOT worth it. Get one on the 2nd or 3rd floor, renovated so that you are not waiting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SGNYC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    92
    43
    27
    47
See reviews for
136
139
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My wife and I stayed along with another couple last week. The location is outstanding, BUT the rooms were overrated. The decor is outdated and the mattresses lumpy. The "junior king" is in reality a mini king. If we had opened up the luggage holder there would have no way to walk around it. Our friends "deluxe king" was anything but deluxe. It was similar to ours in all respects, except that you could have walked around the luggage rack. We were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We needed a quiet week away, just the two of us. We found out about Spring Lake on the internet, and read reviews of The Breakers. We were delighted to find that our expectations were exceeded. We enjoyed every minute of the clean beach and surf. We ate most of our meals in the hotel, and we're quite satisfied with the quality of the food and the attentive service. In fact, everyone in the hotel was friendly and gracious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Audrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Breakers in Springlake nj is on Ocean ave.,across the street from the beach.A beautiful view from the porch.A quaint upscale Hotel,with a restaurant.Popular for their breakfasts on the porch.The food is good,I would recommend this Hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: A room on the east side gives a better view of the Atlantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our 16th year spending a week in Spring Lake at the Breakers. Improved menus were an added plus this summer. The beach itself is clean, quiet, and family-friendly. We always stay in rooms with a side view of the ocean - beautiful sunrises! Ocean breezes are wonderful. The only real downside is that hotel is old, with a single painfully slow elevator and windows that don't always work properly. As mentioned elsewhere, WiFi is very spotty as well. The hotel occasionally closes the Veranda for private events - very disappointing for paying hotel guests. Overall, a delightful place in a practically perfect location!

Room Tip: 207, 307, and 407 have huge windows and a spectacular ocean breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamvaltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My fiance and I stayed here for one night in June. Its a gorgeous beach wedding venue, something to keep in mind. They have a really nice ballroom. Rooms are large and very clean. The hotel does not offer parking so you must find street parking. The pool area looked very nice. We went to the beach instead. Its best to bring your own beach and towels. The hotel does not offer any and the rental place is not within walking distance. The beds were super comfortable. Super fluffy pillows Soaking tub was very large. When we booked the room they warned us that there was a wedding in the ballroom until 11pm and that the music would be loud. Boy were they right!!!! I felt like the band was in the hallway outside our door. The base vibrated the room! But we were fairly warned so there was not much we could do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royourboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice hotel and courteous staff. Cozy king room wasn't too small. Shuffling of car was often necessary because of law that cars must face beach at night. Those spots are not quite as easy to find as suggested by front desk. Wifi in room was spotty. Breakfast and lunch at the hotel restaurant are a great value (pancakes for $5). The prices jump higher for dinner and there are better choices such as La Dolce Vita. Nice quiet beach right across the street. Spring Lake is beautiful but does not offer many activities. It's a good base to explore the neighboring shore towns such as Point Pleasant, Asbury and or Seaside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
49 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
5.0 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,518 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing