We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oldie but goodie” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doolan's

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doolan's
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oldie but goodie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Most of the guest are up in age so if you want a nice quiet place to stay its ideal. The food at the restaurant is excellent. For the price it was good.Some of the rooms are updated, but not all. our room wasn't. The pool is small and you have to becareful walking around pool area because part of the ground is uneven. I would go there again for the relaxation and the food. I heard it can be real noisey on the week-ends because they cater weddings there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fullofit71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    36
    23
    10
    25
See reviews for
42
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Doolan's is a reasonably-priced hotel with all the amenities any family could need. We return every year and it's especially nice now with the new room upgrades - the beds are incredibly comfortable and the bathrooms are clean. The pool area is v. pretty and the kiddie pool works well for the little ones. We loved being able to order a pizza or grabbing lunch from the deli and eating pool-side. The in-door bar is v. welcoming and the food at the restaurant is probably the best deal at the Shore - we were never disappointed and being able to just 'walk' back to the room was so nice! It's a great choice for vacationing with an extended family as well. The town and beach at Sp Lk is also pristine. The 'family-run business' takes you back in time and I love that my children get to experience a "jersey shore" vacation like we did when we were kids!

Room Tip: If you have young children, choose a room one level up, it's only a few steps but it makes it e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delran, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you are speaking of Doolan's Shore Club in Spring Lake, NJ, The answer is most definitely YES!
Last year was the first time that my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Doolan's and I was so impressed that I was inspired to write my first ever Trip Advisor Review entitled "ONE BIG HAPPY FAMILY." Now, having just returned from our second stay and apparently now part of the "family" of regulars, I must report that Doolan's is better than ever. You could not improve upon the service or attention to detail and outstanding meals by probably the best chef at the Jersey shore, nor the great drinks prepared by Ron the bartender.
What has improved are the recent renovations, however. To date, 30 rooms have been complelely renovated with plans to complete the balance shortly. We were fortunate to have been upgraded to one of the new two room suites which were decorated superbly and gave you the feeing that it was your very beach house.
I could go on and on but as the old saying goes, you just have to see it for youself!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We just got back from our 4 Night Annual Reunion at Doolans. Everyone had a fabulous time. Rooms are updated and beautifully decorated. We ate every night in Doolans Shore Club Restaurant and the food was SUPERB! Excellent Service throughout our stay. Can't wait to return with our group next July! Thanks to Sue & Joan for their wonderful hospitality and service.
We love staying at Doolans! Dianne & John O'Sullivan from City Island, NY.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warner91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

This is my second stay at Doolans. I can't say enough about the service, food and rooms. I come from North Carolina to meet friends and will never stay anywhere else. Rooms are updated, clean and so well maintained. The restaurant was unbelievable with the highest quality and so reasonable. Can't wait to come back next July. Already booked!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Just had 4 great nights at Doolans. Rooms were newly renovated, complimentary breakfast excellent and satisfying. Filet Mignon dinner w/chocolate lava cake was the best. I thought I was in a 5 star restaurant. Can't wait to return next year.

Room Tip: 1st floor room have been renovated into suites. you get 2 bathrooms, living room with large tv and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontherunNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Doolan's is a bargain in every respect. The attractive, clean rooms are $75 off season and only $95 between July and August. The price includes a continental breakfast! The on premise restaurant is elegant and affordable. The pan seared steak was cooked to perfection as was the sea bass ordered by my travel companion. I and another patron agreed it was one of the best steaks we had ever eaten. We were impressed by the quality of front desk service where we met Joanie, Bob,Tom and Nicole, and by the charming and everywhere at once owner, Susan. The beautiful hostess, Vanessa, made everyone feel welcome. We've told all of our friends about Doolan's. The exterior is still being renovated, but don't let that stop you from discovering a real gem only short drive from the beach.

Room Tip: We stayed on the parking lot side which was fine, but for next time we booked a pool side room. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
4.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's

Property: Doolan's
Address: 700 State Route 71, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-2048
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Doolan's 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Doolan's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doolan`s Hotel Spring Lake
Doolans Spring Lake
Doolans Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing