We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Malverne, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We had a marvelous stay at the Hewitt Welllington Hotel. Wonderful interiors, very good service. Great location. Beautiful view of lake. We enjoyed bike riding around the town and enjoyed the scenery tremendously. The hotel has a wrap around porch which we enjoyed sitting outside and taking in the scenery. A definite place to go if you need detoxing and a romantic getaway. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 which has a king size bed and it was a suite and enjoyed it very much. A beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

All of the things you had to say are greatly appreciated. We're very happy you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us. We're glad you found your room, the views, and the interiors pleasing.

Spring Lake is a great place to sit back, relax, and enjoy the scenery, and our hotel has a lot of great spots to do just that. The porches are great, and your suite, Room 8, is definitely a way to accomplish relaxation.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    182
    71
    23
    12
See reviews for
152
359
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We have been to the Hewitt Wellignton many times over the past several years and have always had a nice stay. This time was no exception, everyone was very helpful especially Kathy and Nicole.
The breakfast room is set up very nicely. Breakfast is between 8and 10 AM, however one morning there was hardly anything left and some in our party were down there by 9AM. The staff said they were waiting for a delivery-possibly a trip to the bakery by one of the staff would have helped make sure everyone would get breakfast.
I would recommend suites on the 2nd floor over the third as they are much nicer. We did have a problem one day with our room and it was attended to immediately.
The pool is wonderful and the front porch is a great place to relax while getting the beautiful ocean breeze. A ramp for the handi-cap/elderly would be helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy that both Nicole, and Kathy, were able to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Kathy did a very nice job in assisting in your issue, and helped in the process of resolving it as quickly as possible.

We are also very happy to hear that you made great use of all of our great common areas, where relaxing seems to be the norm.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I drove down without a reservation and stumbled upon the Hewitt by accident. We were lucky they had a vacancy. We stayed on the 3rd floor with a private balcony. The view of the lake was fabulous, and you could even see some of the ocean. The room was beautiful, clean, and perfect for a quick romantic get-away. The beach tags were included, and we were able to use the tags until 3:00 the day we checked out. This is a nice policy considering the cost of beach tags down at the shore. ($8-$9 per person per day) The hotel was wonderfully decorated and the grounds were impeccable. We brought our bikes with us so it was a pretty quick ride down to the beach, only about 2 blocks. We had a fantastic time and the staff was friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all so happy you were able to plan a quick escape to Spring Lake and visit us. We're glad that we could make your impromptu vacation easy, and memorable.

Thank you for recognizing the cleanliness of the property, as well. Our housekeeping and maintenance departments work very hard, and appreciate the kind words!

Once again, thank you for sharing. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stay in front room. Hotel has lots of space to hang out: pool, lounges, porch, etc which is nice especially if you have a fair room like I did. Breakfast is not much and not as advertised.

Room Tip: Do not stay in rm 23 in back of hotel. Lots of light but looking out onto a parking lot and back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karedg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

Thank you for the kind suggestions. This community is a great way to assist future guests in getting the most out of their experience with us. I am sure they appreciate the tips.

We would also like to thank you for voicing your honesty about the room, as we can only improve upon ourselves if we know how the guests feel. We are always striving for perfection, and sometimes we need to be reminded of the goal we are trying to achieve.

Once again, thank you for sharing. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a wonderful stay at the Hewitt Wellington. Everything everyone praised was true, the reviews are not exaggerating. My mom, sister and I arrived 5 hours before check in and they made us feel welcome even with the inconvenience. They showed us where to change so we could go lay out by the pool, gave us towels, held onto our bags, and the room was made ready 3 hours early! From there it continued to be just as great, every request was accommodated quickly and kindly, the room was stunning, well kept and comfy. We didn't have a car but we were a very short walk from the main street in town, the beach, and some fun restaurants in Sea Girt.

Heads up, a lot of restaurants in Spring Lake are BYOB, there is no beer on the boardwalk, and there is no bar in the hotel. BUT the staff at the HW gave us the number to Egan's who deliver to the hotel and our order was left in our room for us by the hotel staff, with wine glasses and a corkscrew to boot!

We stayed in room 18. It's on the first floor, right next to a door to the porch where there were tons of chairs to sit out any time, and 5 steps away from Whispers (which was delicious. We ate their twice!). The room sleeps 4 (a double bed in one room and a pull out couch in the other room), and even though the hotel is technically not handicap-accessible, it's was only 4 steps up so my mom who uses a cane was able to get to the room with very little trouble. Also, when suggesting where to go, the staff made sure to keep my mom's abilities in mind and didn't recommend anything that would be impossible for her to get to. I really appreciated that kind of attention, it was very kind.

We had a great stay and I can't wait to get back. Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justwannapost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're so happy to hear that your stay with us was great; that it was great from beginning to end makes us even more happy!

We understand that guests are eager to visit Spring Lake as much as possible, and sometimes they arrive a little earlier than expected. We can always guarantee a Check-In by 3p.m., and if you happen to arrive earlier, our pool, the beach, the breezeway, and the porches are a great spot to relax while we prepare everything for you perfectly.

We're glad the hotel's associates were able to assist you in every aspect of your visit to Spring Lake and the surrounding areas. We're always here to make sure you enjoy every second!

Once again, thank you for the kind words, and we hope to welcome you back in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed here for a night! Its a great place...And great staff!
Went to Spring lake for the first time and its a great town - worth visiting!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're very happy you had a chance to discover Spring Lake, and all that it has to offer. We're also very happy to know that The Hewitt Wellington facilitated the discovery. Thank you, so much, for the kind words! We hope to welcome you again in the future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixvill
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Had a very nice vacation here. Wanted to comment on the towels. The new ones could not be more luxurious as compared with ones in a previous review. Shows that the management listens and takes action.
Looking forward to our return visit sometime soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBTRAVELPhoenixvill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're glad to be a desirable destination so close to your home! Sometimes, you just need to get away, and enjoy a small vacation, and sometimes you can't go too far. That's why we're here!

Thank you for recognizing the improvements we have made. We always take our guest's comments, recommendations, and advice very seriously. We will always strive to make ourselves better. Perfection may not be attainable, but we always strive for it.

The guests that take the time to comment on this forum assists us in improving ourselves. The more we hear from our guests, the better the experience for all in the long run.

Once again, thank you for your kind words. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
267 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing