We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a very charming hotel that is located close to the beach and boardwalk in Spring Lake, NJ. Hotel staff were friendly and made our stay enjoyable. Room was spacious, but could use some minor touch ups, as with any older hotel. The morning continental breakfast was perfect and the coffee machine does make a good cup of coffee and hot chocolate. We didn't get a chance this time to visit "Whispers", the superb restaurant located in the hotel. If you have a chance and are celebrating a special occasion, don't miss having dinner at this restaurant.

Room Tip: We had chosen room 25, which is located on the third floor towards the back of the hotel. This is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

All of us here appreciate the nicely detailed review. Especially, the room tips. These tips allow future guests to understand, and pick the perfect room for their stay! It also assists returning guests in possibly trying something new.

All of our rooms are unique, and we think they all have their own special charm.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences while visiting with us. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    170
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
333
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is extremely nice victorian style property with an excellent restaurant and great food. Clean and cozy rooms and very conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 26 June 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We appreciate the kind words, and the recognition of our cleanliness. Our housekeeping department works extremely hard, and they appreciate the acknowledgement of that.

Whispers, the on-site restaurant, is a popular choice. We're happy that you also visited them during your stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Will probably stay at our favorite bed & breakfast next visit....Quality of room was not what was expected...especially for the price...?? disappointed. :( Decor was very dull & outdated? rug looked like something from the sixties? very mixed decor? made no sense? (room 3) did not like breakfast at all. We initially came down for Dinner at Whispers (Our Favorite Restaurant) for special occasion & thought we would try the hotel. Dinner was superb as always..but hotel was bit of a let down.. However, view & location are fantastic. Wish I could give a better review, maybe other rooms are nicer but we were not happy with Room 3.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. However, we would have greatly appreciated the mention of your expectations, and how we did not meet them, while you were staying with. We always strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible while they are still staying with us on-property...and not when they have already departed. Please allow me to just elaborate on your review, in order to paint a more clear picture of your experience.

Room 3 is a unique room. It has recently been renovated, and we have just put a brand new King Sized Bed in there. Also, the room's private pool porch is a very popular amenity with most of our guests.

We are not a bed a breakfast. However, I am a little surprised that you did not enjoy our breakfast on Sunday morning, with fresh berries, fruits, bagels, pastries, and of course our wildly popular Waffle Bar. As a hotel, we feel breakfast is pretty robust, especially considering that it is complimentary, and most hotels around here would normally charge you up to $4.00 for just a standard continental breakfast.

I am sure there could have been something we could have done to make your stay more comfortable while you were still with us. Never hesitate to voice your concerns, and/or, desires. We're in hospitality! We're here to welcome you, and provide a comfortable and inviting experience.

If you were to visit us again, please call us directly, and we can direct you to the room that would best suit your needs, and make you feel most comfortable.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Lovely old hotel with excellent location by Spring Lake. Our first floor suite was very spacious with private access to wrap-around porch. Staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. The coffee machine also dispenses hot chocolate at the touch of a button! Short walk to the boardwalk and beach.

Room Tip: First floor suite was very spacious, nicely decorated with private access to porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aka2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very glad that you enjoyed your ground-floor suite, which was Room 2, by the way. It is the only Suite with a private porch (however, there are standard rooms within the hotel with private balconies and/or porches). We're glad you enjoyed that aspect of the suite as well. It is a very popular amenity for our guests.

Our breakfast and coffee services have really come a long way over the past two years. We're hoping to only make it better, too!

Also, thank you for making mention of your room tips. It will greatly assist future guests in deciding where to stay, and what room best suits their needs.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The Hotel is really very charming and the up keep of the hotel is really quite impressive . I was "thrilled" to see you have STARBUCKS fresh ground coffee on offer, WOW, You have it all.As this was such a surprise to me most hotels offer old coffee , That has been brewed for hours on end.
Thank you as You have now set very high standards for me.
On my return to New Jersey I shall have nothing but high expectations thanks to The Hewitt Wellinghton I shall be back very soon. Thank you Excellent service 5+++++++

Room Tip: You will really enjoy, as we did the charm and very high class accents this hotel has to offer. Exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Darleen417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're so happy you enjoyed your stay. Our property is 128 years old, however, we have managed to really keep her charm intact. We're very glad you enjoyed that aspect of the building!

We have received a lot of good feedback on our new Starbucks Coffee services. We all seem to enjoy it on-property, as well! We thought it was time that a hotel offered a more premium amenity, and felt that our guests deserved the best...so we gave you the best!

I am also very glad to know that we have become your gold-standard. We have no problem being the property you compare all else with! It's an honor!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

The Hewitt Wellington was amazing. I was so excited when I walked into the room. It was so elegant. The hotel has so much history to it that it was an honor to be a guest. My favorite part was walking outside in the morning and seeing the sun rise over the lake, absolutely beautiful. I will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjn5073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We are so happy to hear that you appreciated the history of the building, and are so happy to know that you found the walks around the lake peaceful, serene, and wonderful.

It was an honor to have you as a guest. We're so excited to hear your enthusiasm!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. We cannot wait to welcome you back! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Staff was very helpful and accomodating (train schedule to airport, etc.). Room was quiet and comfortable and the hotel is a wonderful historic property within walking distance from the beach and quaint downtown. Enjoyed our walks around the lake that was across the street. Wonderful wrap around front porch with rockers for relaxing and visiting. Thanks to friends Mark and Jo who introduced us to Spring Lake. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're also glad your friends introduced us to you. The more people share, the more people can enjoy our town, our beaches, and our hotel.

There are so many ways to enjoy the town, the property, and find ways to have a great time! Thank you for recognizing those things. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences with us. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing