We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice room in a great location, with a terrible breakfast”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The only disappointment here was the breakfast - it was a cold buffet of the lowest quality: cheap supermarket baked goods, super-sweet cereals aimed at kids. But the place is spotlessly clean, the service is excellent, the pool a great plus, the location perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

I am sorry you didn't enjoy our complimentary breakfast. I can assure you nothing is store bought, and is of the most premium of qualities. We made it a point to not have any sugary cereals, which is why we only have Rice Krispies, Granola with Raisins, Special K, and Frosted Mini-Wheats. All of these are lauded as the more nutritious than most branded cereals, and all have very little sugar in them. We do not aim any services, or amenities, on-property towards any particular demographic, children included. We try to accommodate all of the needs and desires of each individual guest.

Thank you for noticing the cleanliness.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 583 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

My family and I had a lovely stay at the Hewitt Wellington. The staff was friendly and accommodating and our room was clean and had all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed going to the beach one day with the Wellington's provided beach chairs and passes and sitting by the Wellington's pool the next. I also recommend their adjoining restaurant, "Whispers" we got sushi for our room and it was excellent! I would definitely stay at the Hewitt Wellington again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauratuvilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy to hear that your family had a great time, and that you would like to come visit us again in the future!

The beach is a great place to have some family fun, and we're very glad that we are able to assist in that fun by providing complimentary beach passes, chairs, and towels. Then, once you're done with the sand, you always have another destination located on property...our heated pool!

Yes, the restaurant does have take-out sushi in the afternoon and evenings, and every guest that has tried it has had nothing but positive comments. Thank you.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Enjoyed the stay thoroughly, especially the kindness and attitude of the afternoon/evening reception girl. Improvements could be made by having a fresh muffins, scones or similar as well as fresh fruit with the breakfast. The bed was a little squishy and could use a firmer mattress. Dinner at Whispers restaurant was fantastic, both in food and service, but the air conditioning was so cold we had to leave without dessert, even after the waiter said it was turned down to 72 degrees. The location was perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the staircase are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Av123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We're also very glad that you enjoyed dinner in the restaurant...next time, we will see about trying to keep you a little more warm as you enjoy your meal(s).

As we have stated in other review responses, our complimentary breakfast used to boast muffins and scones, however, they were not popular choices amongst our guests. So, rather than continue to waste the muffins and other items, we substituted those with our weekend waffle bar, which is very popular.

Also, thank your for your room tips. It will greatly assist future travelers while looking for a great place to stay.

Once again, thank your for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have enjoyed many summers at the Hewitt Wellington. The staff and management are extremely accommodating and friendly. Love the continental "plus" breakfast and new Starbucks coffee machine. I often grab a cup and sit on the beautiful front porch to watch the sun come up over the lake. The beach is a short stroll if you like, or you can keep cool in the nice pool area. Much to do in the town with charming boutiques and fun cafes etc. Whispers Restaurant , at the hotel, is a must for a perfect upscale dinner. We like the suites, out favorite being the ones facing the lake. Suite One needs a better sofa pull out - I believe this unit is privately owned. I have never had a parking problem, just be sure you read the parking map on your check-in papers if you are a newcomer. We come down every month in the summer and now will add some fall dates as I hear it especially nice then.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We are glad that you have returned so many times, on different occasions, to enjoy your Summers here. The Hewitt Wellington is always best in the Summer, however, like you have pointed out, the Autumn months are extremely beautiful down here, and the weather remains quite nice all the way through the end of October and early November.

We will look into trying to replace the pull-out sofa in the near future, so that you can really enjoy every aspect of the Lakeview Suites that you have come to love so much.

We're also happy you are able to enjoy our complimentary Continental-"plus" breakfast each morning.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

All the rooms are condos that are owned by someone and the owners allow them to be rented. We were in Room 6 (2nd floor). Very nice room with a balcony (4 chairs). The balcony overlooking the lake made the room GREAT. Room is fine - bed was very comfortable. Furniture is sufficient. Room was very fresh & clean. The free Continental breakfast was OK - a little too simple (fresh muffins and scones would have set it apart)

Room Tip: Room 6 (queen bed) and balcony was very nice. Bathroom was OK, weak water pressure in the shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_B_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

Room 6 is a very popular room, and we actually updated the room a few weeks ago by adding a brand new King Sized Sleigh Bed. Very comfortable, and very popular as well. The private balcony is also very popular.

Our breakfast is a big part of our popularity, as it is complimentary. Something most hotels and inns around town cannot boast. We had muffins and scones in the past, however, they weren't very popular choices amongst our guests, at which point we gave that up, and instituted a new waffle bar on the weekends, which has been extremely well received.

The water pressure in each room can be controlled via the actual knobs of the shower. There is a low-flow option, and a high-flow option, which allows each guest to adjust the shower flow to their liking. I am sure we could have pointed that out to you if it had been brought up. However, it is sometimes overlooked by the guest, which is understandable as it is not a common practice in most hotels anymore.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences, your room tips will definitely help future travelers, and we appreciate your comments. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hewitt Wellington has remained one of our favorite places over the years....many updates have been done..the entire place is spotless and the rooms are charming and comfortable with TV, fridges, and some also have porches facing the outdoor pool...we enjoyed the continental breakfast, which was well stocked and on weekends they have a waffle maker! Starbucks coffee one of the new amenities! The staff...front desk and management...are very personable and warm..there is ample parking for guests, and the location is the best...very close to the charming Spring Lake town and shops...and only a block or two from the beach....you have many places to relax here...on the front porch, on the veranda of the hotel...on your own back porch...by the outdoor pool which has tables and umbrellas for enjoying lunch...we will return in the future for sure!

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank piano2V7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very glad that you were able to enjoy all of the aspects of the property during your stay. We are in a great location, and it is very close to everything. Having a pool on property seems to be one of the more popular attractions here, and it should be!

We have had a great response to our updates; i.e. Starbucks Coffee, Waffle Bar, furniture, etc. We're very glad that you appreciate these additions, and hope to have you come back and see the future additions as well!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences! Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay. We appreciated the child-friendly staff, clean rooms and quiet setting. Breakfast could have been a bit better for the price, but overall we had a great stay and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alindenbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very happy that you, and your family, enjoyed the property, and the friendliness of the staff. Please visit us again soon!

Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
433 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: £61 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing