We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and and nice rooms”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great location and and nice rooms”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Gorgeous location and beautiful rooms. Friendly service. Close to beach. Beach chairs provided. Wonderful coffee machine at breakfast. A great getaway for a short trip for either couples or families. A great town for biking

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy to hear that you found the service friendly, and the property convenient to a lot of great features, such as the beach.

The coffee machine is great, and a very popular amenity. Yes, Spring Lake is a great town for biking, especially up and down the coast.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    172
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
145
336
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We enjoyed our HW stay very much. The service was extremely cordial and cooperative with any request we presented. The Hotel is nicely furnished and kept immaculately. The plantings around the property were beautiful. The ocean is a three blocks walk and has a beautiful beach that is non-commercialized. Our only negative comment was a garbage smell around the Hotel pool, coming probably from the restaurant garbage pickup site. However, we recommend the HW for a pampered and very pleasant get away visit to a sweet, small NJ beach town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgbosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad that you found the service very cordial, and the amenities, and aesthetics, of the property pleasing.

I am not quite sure where the odor was emanating from, but I haven't been able to pinpoint it at this time. I will keep a close eye (or nose for that matter) on the situation, and try to nip it in the bud.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2012 via mobile

We stay here evey year several times a year. Room 24 is so nice. Very well decorated very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning is very nice. The pool is nice aswell. Its a nice walk to the beach. Very relaxing place to stay. Mid afternoon drinks and snacks are nice that they offer. 5 star restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RES204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad that you enjoy Room 24, and we're very happy that you enjoyed the breakfast as well. Also, we're happy that you found the location, and the walk to beach, perfect. We hope to welcome you again.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Everything I need in a summer shore hotel they have. Beautiful beach great pool great view of lake and near many great places to eat including Whispers. My third year in a row has only gotten better and I expect there to be a fourth year.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpguy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay.

We're very glad that you have chosen us three years in a row, and we look forward to a fourth. Next time, we hope you'll rate us on a scale of perfect!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a beautiful property, with a great location in a wonderful town. The staff is very helpful and friendly, it is immaculately clean. Breakfast was basic but good, and the tea time snacks were very nice.

However, a couple of suggestions. Our suite's decor was very dated looking. Perhaps the management thinks it looks classic, but we all get used to how things look and may not realize when things begin to look very dated. It really screamed 80's (1980's, not 1880's). They should really rethink the tired plastic plants and old silk flowers, which did nothing to help. Also there was a toothbrush holder in the bathroom that should be tossed, it was very black and germy-looking inside. The bathroom light seemed like the wiring in the switch was loose. The light kept going off. The wonderful front desk person checked on it for us, but was not really able to do anything about it. Maybe an electrician is warranted. Also, being an old building, there was a lack of electrical outlets. The coffeemaker was nowhere near one, and we had to search for one. The mini fridge was making noise and when I turned it down a bit it started defrosting and leaking water, probably needs to be updated as well.

If not for those things I would have given it 5 stars, because it really was a most relaxing a comfortable place to stay in a fabulous location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad that you found the property relaxing, the location great, and very clean.

Unfortunately, due to the type of hotel we are, we do not control the actual decor of the each room. We do control the common areas, and outside areas, but each room is individually owned, and each owner decorates their unit to their liking. However, we are glad that you had a nice time. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The only disappointment here was the breakfast - it was a cold buffet of the lowest quality: cheap supermarket baked goods, super-sweet cereals aimed at kids. But the place is spotlessly clean, the service is excellent, the pool a great plus, the location perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

I am sorry you didn't enjoy our complimentary breakfast. I can assure you nothing is store bought, and is of the most premium of qualities. We made it a point to not have any sugary cereals, which is why we only have Rice Krispies, Granola with Raisins, Special K, and Frosted Mini-Wheats. All of these are lauded as the more nutritious than most branded cereals, and all have very little sugar in them. We do not aim any services, or amenities, on-property towards any particular demographic, children included. We try to accommodate all of the needs and desires of each individual guest.

Thank you for noticing the cleanliness.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
otts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My family and I had a lovely stay at the Hewitt Wellington. The staff was friendly and accommodating and our room was clean and had all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed going to the beach one day with the Wellington's provided beach chairs and passes and sitting by the Wellington's pool the next. I also recommend their adjoining restaurant, "Whispers" we got sushi for our room and it was excellent! I would definitely stay at the Hewitt Wellington again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauratuvilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy to hear that your family had a great time, and that you would like to come visit us again in the future!

The beach is a great place to have some family fun, and we're very glad that we are able to assist in that fun by providing complimentary beach passes, chairs, and towels. Then, once you're done with the sand, you always have another destination located on property...our heated pool!

Yes, the restaurant does have take-out sushi in the afternoon and evenings, and every guest that has tried it has had nothing but positive comments. Thank you.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing