We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, without being stuffy.”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classy, without being stuffy.”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The Hewitt-Wellington is a fine hotel in Spring Lake, the jewel of the Jersey Shore. Vacationing in Spring Lake is a trip down Memory Lane , when people were "civilized." The Hewitt-Wellington is a reminder of how things were. The staff ensures that each guest experiences a memorable stay at a first-class hotel. Most of the rooms are nice, however it behooves owners to up-date out-dated and tired decor to re-decorate what could be fabulous accommodations. I had a beautiful room on the 2nd floor, with a porch, lake view, and ocean view, marred by horrible drapes, and stained wall paper in the bath room. Owners: spend a few bucks and spruce-up your investment. I wll return, it is a class-act.

Room Tip: Suites on the first floor are great, Lake-front rooms with porches are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

It's refreshing to hear that you have such great comments about the hotel, and Spring Lake overall. The town truly is a trip down memory lane for some, as the town has done a great job in preserving itself. Our hotel was even awarded a Preservation Award for 2012, given by the town.

Also, we are continually updating rooms. The room you had enjoyed this year was recently updated with a brand new HD Flat Planel TV and a brand new King Sleigh Bed. No worries, though, we will continue to better ourselves, piece by piece.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    172
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
145
336
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We loved everything about our stay here and we'll definitely return. We stayed in a spacious suite that was tastefully decorated and very clean. I liked the convenience of having a top quality restaurant on the premises. Staff are very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclark07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a quick weekend getaway, and that your experience was perfect! Our suites are perfect for stretching out, and relaxing, without having to worry about restrictiveness.

Yes, Whispers is a great amenity to have on property as well.

Once again thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Such an amazing property in a quaint, perfect, back to the fifties town. A great escape from Manhattan. We loved it and we will be back. Probably next year. The restaurant Whispers was also excellent, just as food as New York.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1worldtraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the town, and it's ability to stay trapped in time. A time that you seem to have very fond memories of. We're also glad that you enjoyed the restaurant, as well.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Everything was great.The rooms, location and the staff went out of their way to assist.Would definitely go back.Rooms in front have balconies and great view of lake.Lake is about a mile and a quarter nice for a morning walk after breakfast.

Room Tip: pick room in front nice view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad that you were able to enjoy the hotel, especially on your first visit. We're glad we made a good first impression on you.

Also, thank you for your room tip, as it assists future guests in their expectations, and experiences.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

The hotel is beyond beautiful, old world charm with many modern updates. The management and staff go above and beyond to make your stay here the best experience you can imagine! I would recommend everyone stay here at least once, because then you"ll be hooked. Even on bad weather days the hotel staff will keep your days filled with fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of the Hewwitt Wellington face the lake, and some have porches right out side the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticross1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very grateful for the room tip(s) as well. These tips lend future guests assistance in choosing a particular room, or area of the property as it will maximize the enjoyment of their stay.

We're glad that you're hooked on the hotel. The staff greatly enjoys to hear that guest's stays are premium experiences, filled with joy and happiness.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompton Lakes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay and look forward to another dinner at Whispers. The room was not as nice from our stay earlier stay in the season. The carpet could have used a good cleaning and breakfast supplies were not replenished in a timely manner.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajmmd55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I loved this hotel even before I arrived. It was pouring rain for days I had made my reservation, and they kindly allowed me to move my reservation up a day to get better weather. Even though I was paying with a coupon! How to make friends.

Two beautiful old Victorian mansions linked by a breezeway breakfast room make up this charming hotel. I loved the wrap-around porch overlooking the lake.

My room was pretty and clean and had a small refrigerator. The front desk people were cheerful and helpful, providing beach chairs, towels, restaurant ideas and directions. The continental breakfast included yogurt and hard-boiled eggs, and coffee and tea was there 24 hours. A well-heeled, well-mannered clientele in a quiet town, unusual for a beach area and a welcome respite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artemesiapaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

If we are able to accommodate any changes in your reservation, we are always more than happy to assist you. We are glad that we were able to oblige to your request, and are happy that we were able to welcome you.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing