We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed!”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent 2 nights here and it was such a relaxing, pleasant experience. Exactly the kind of short vacation we were looking for. The location is gorgeous, right on the lake. The staff were all very friendly and you could hear a pin drop, that's how quiet our stay was.

The hotel is really beautiful. Old, classic charm but clean and comfortable at the same time. Our room was small and quaint, just as I imagined it would be. The continental breakfast was just enough to start our day. We didn't have a chance to try Whispers, but maybe next time. I imagine there will definitely be a next time.

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation then I highly recommend Spring Lake. The Hewitt Wellington is close to the beach, shops and restaurants and only about 15 minutes to Point Pleasant which also has plenty of shops.

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We are all very to happy hear that we assisted in your relaxing experience. The quite surroundings, old-world charm, and accessibility to local venues makes us a very popular spot to get away for a few short days.

Please, next time try Whispers. It is truly wonderful!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

Location was amazing here. I stayed in a Lakeview Suite with a Balcony and highly reccommend the balcony, where we spent much of our time while in the room. While on the balcony, you can see the ocean as well as the peaceful lake. I always like staying in places where the restaurant is located in the building. Whispers offered a good onsite meal - though if it were not BYOB I would call it overpriced.

Overall wonderful experience at Hewitt Wellington

Room Tip: Lakeview Rooms with BALCONY is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, its location, and of course the private balcony. Those are some of our most desired (and limited in abundance) rooms. The views are very nice.

Also, we're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant on-property as well. It is a very convenient, and popular attraction to the property.

Thank you for also sharing a room tip, as it will allow future, or retuning guests to enjoy another side of The Hewitt Wellington.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel has a wonderful location on Spring Lake. You can park your car and enjoy an easy walk to the small shopping district with lovely shops and dining or walk a few blocks to the beach. We were given room 24 which was pleasant enough and a decent size although had no view to speak of. The carpet was badly in need of replacement or at least a shampooing and the bed pillows were wornout and flat. Overall it was peaceful, relaxing stay. With a few simple updates I would have given it a better rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koree17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the location to be convenient, as well as the parking situation. Most hotels, and bed and breakfasts have issues with their parking situation. Not us! We have ample parking for all!

As I had stated in an earlier response, as the season winds down, we begin our deep-cleaning phase of the year, where carpets are our number one priority. Thank you for point that out to us.

Once again, thank you for your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This was a nice place that is found in a great location. There is a beautiful lake just a few steps away and the beach is about two blocks away. It's also just a few minutes away from a nice downtown area. However, the town seems to close down early. Our room was average. Small room but big bathroom. There were several carpet stains in our room (17) so i would suggest either wood floors or better carpet cleaning. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west are closer to the sound of the church bells going off in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thank your for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the location to be great, and that having the lake right outside your door is special. Many people enjoy the lake, as do we. It's a great place to take a stroll, possibly a jog, or just to sit in awe of its beauty.

Thank you for your room tip as well, as it assists guests in choosing the best experience for them. The church bells are a great way to start your morning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Great location but the hotel need a lot of work. The carpet was stained in my roon and needs cleaning, the porch need a good dusting and I think breakfast could be better something. I love Spring Lake and the Hewitt Wellington is a great location overlooking the lake and a short walk to the center and beach.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjobity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad that you enjoyed the location and overall experience here at the hotel!

As the season passes us, and we begin to gear up for the off-season, there are some maintenance and housekeeping projects that we schedule as the town, and property, becomes a little less packed. Those things are re-staining, painting, and upkeep of the porches. Also, carpet cleaning is being rolled out as I type this. It is an on-going project, and we definitely take our cleanliness very seriously.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Having spent the first 40 summers of my life in Spring Lake, I had driven or walked by the hotel countless times. Staying there with my wife last weekend was a real pleasure. The property is beautiful and well-maintained. Our suite was clean, well-appointed and had great views of the lake. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very quiet and restful. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was roomy, and had wonderful views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

Although it took you 40 years to finally stay with us, we're very happy to hear that it was well worth the wait.

Thank you for also providing a room tip, as it allows future guests to know which room to pick from, or allow a returning guest to possibly try something new.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel. Our room was sunny and bright with a wonderful attached porch. While you visit, I highly recommend eating at their restaurant ..Whispers. The Sea Bass and Pork chop were delicious!!



  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We truly appreciate the kind words, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and your bright and sunny room! Whispers is a very popular spot, and our guests really love every aspect of the restaurant.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,658 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: £93 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing