We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing stay at the Hewitt Wellington”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have always enjoyed our stays at the Hewitt , love the quiet setting, Spring lake is not your typical shore town. If you are looking for busy boardwalks and lots of action, this town is not for you . If you are looking for a quiet town with some of the most beautiful homes in all of Jersey with great beach you will be quite happy.
The hotel is very comfortable with lovely porch to relax on with view of the lake.
We like having the pool to take a dip in after time on the beach.
Includes in price of room are beach tags and a simple breakfast including cereals, breads, fruit and yogurt.
Just a short walk and you are in the charming town with shops to browse and eateries.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darla164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and the town. We appreciate your business and can't wait to see you again!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hewitt Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

459 - 465 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked late and were in room 17 on the third floor, so one of the smaller rooms without a view. Small and plain but clean and comfortable, with a big bathroom. Cool a/c, quiet room and quiet hotel, comfy bed, nice TV. Not fancy but very nice and we would stay there again. We love the HW's location. We skipped breakfast, which is not an important part of the experience for us anyway.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank RyePort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

I'm glad we were able to be a last minute retreat for you. Hopefully you were able to relax and enjoy the beach and the town. It really is a great place to be.
I hope we will see you again soon for a visit.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Hewitt Wellington and as always we found the staff and management to be great. There was a recent change in management and the new team was excellent, even ordering pizza one Sat afternoon for the guests. Specifically, Kathy did a great job of greeting us and making us feel "at home". I read one review below noting that the pool was not serviced and there were babies in the pool without "swimmies". I stayed during that same week and at no time did I see children/babies in the pool without proper swimming attire/swimmies and the pool was also serviced during our stay- not sure if the reviewer posted a review on the wrong hotel. One area of improvement, I must say is the breakfast which is overall poor. I would recommend more locally produced fresh baked goods and pastry as opposed to generic entenmann's goods. I would suggest either improving the breakfast options or doing away with it all together.... The bottom-line, if you are looking for the best family friendly hotel option in Spring Lake and a super clean, charming place to stay, the Hewitt Wellington is your choice but if you are looking for an ultra luxurious modern hotel then you should really look to avoid most of the Jersey shore towns...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1NYNY2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I'm glad you had such a nice time with us. I also want to thank you for your suggestions on improving the breakfast. It is certainly something I can research and see what they have to offer.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the moment we arrived until we walked out the door, we enjoyed every minute of this gorgeous inn. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate our every need and then some! The breakfast and snacks were delicious, the room so comfortable, not a sound at night, loved the parlor and front porch. The Hewitt Wellington really knows about service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluto11776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We love being here and making sure our guests are happy with their stay. We hope to see you back again soon. There's still plenty of time in the season for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had another wonderful week at the Wellington---Our rooms were immaculate-the pool fabulous and the staff wonderful-Peter-Nicole-Kelly and the cleaning staff all are so friendly--efficient and made our stay special and relaxing---

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

We were happy to have you and your family back again. See you next year if not sooner!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We used the hotel as a" home away from home" for our son's wedding. Kathy and her staff made our stay ever so pleasant and accommodated our every need. We were able to use the common areas to work on wedding projects and visit with family. The highlight was the use of the porches, grounds, and stairway for the photos of the groomsmen. Centrally located, we could walk to the church as well as the rehearsal party, the beach, and shopping areas. Our balcony room had splendid views and a wonderful breeze and was a favorite gathering spot. All of the four rooms booked for the wedding weekend were excellent and I would indeed recommend the Hewitt Wellington to all.

Room Tip: Room 06 with the second floor large porch and view of Spring Lake
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan34009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I can assure you that we had as much fun with your family as you had with ours. Everyone looked amazing on the day of the wedding and it was certainly our pleasure to host you. We can't wait to see everyone back here for the anniversaries!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Spent July21, 2013, at the Hewitt Wellington. The hotel is lovely, historic and in a really fantastic location, adjacent to the lake, 3 short blocks to beach or town. Room furnishing was adequate, could be spruced up more, continental breakfast was poor, coffee undrinkable. For a beautiful hotel like this they should provide a better quality breakfast, doesn't have to be fancy, but good quality.The restaurant Whispers, although not technically affiliated with the hotel, was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for letting us know how your stay was. I appreciate your kind words about your stay overall. I'm sorry that our breakfast did not seem up to par for you and we are always looking for new ideas to make the breakfast better for our guests. We have recently added the fruit and baked goods to enhance our products. We will keep looking for new and better items and if you have any suggestions, please feel free to call or email me. You may just be the one with the winning idea.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,603 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: £89 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing