We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hewitt Wellington, Spring Lake, NJ”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Lambertville, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Hewitt Wellington, Spring Lake, NJ”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Beautiful building, perfect location, reasonable prices, clean, caring and friendly staff and it was wonderful to relax on our balcony. Additionally, Whispers Restaurant, within the building is absolutely four star. This was our second visit and we'll be back again.
D & B

Room Tip: There is no fitness center. However, there is an outside heated pool and it's pristine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFaese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
I'm so glad that you had another great stay with us. We look forward to many more visits with you. We have some great fall specials and our Historic Inns Christmas Tour is coming up soon. Hope to see you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    176
    65
    20
    11
See reviews for
146
343
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forked River
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Our daughter got married in Spring Lake on September 20 and we had many out of town guests. The Hewitt was our home base. The bride and her attendants got ready in suites 1 and 2. Hair and makeup professionals had plenty of room to pamper the bride, her 8 attendants, and moms. Hotel manager, Kathy, went well above and beyond to make our three day stay absolutely wonderful, accommodating us with the bridal breakfast and the after party. I can't say enough about her. She is a real gem and made our experience better than we could have imagined. She is an amazing ambassador for the Hewitt Wellington Hotel. Thank you Kathy!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RBond1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for writing about your stay. I have to admit, I had a blast with your family and friends. Everyone looked amazing and I love that your entire weekend was spent laughing and having a wonderful time with everyone you were around. As you know, the Hewitt Wellington awaits your return. Perhaps a family reunion??

I hope all is well. Say hi to the bride and groom for us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at the Hewitt Wellington this past weekend for a wedding and it was fantastic!!!
The rooms were well kept and the staff was most helpful. Kathy welcomed all the people from out of town with open arms. The porch is a fab place for coffee or drinks. Thank you for your great hospitality - from Buffalo, NY

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm so glad that you had a great stay with us and from what I hear, the wedding was outstanding. I hope that we will get to see you again soon for another relaxing visit. Our porch is always open for you.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed at the Hewitt Wellington last weekend for September weekend trip to the shore. Our room was very nice and comfortable albeit I thought the mattress was too hard. Our suite was on the third floor, which is fine, but there are no elevators in the building so the trek up and down the steps was difficult for my wife (sore hip) and for me during the move-in/move-out carrying the bags.
The breakfast each morning left a little to be desired, I thought. Coffee, tea, juices, milk, dry cereals, breads, muffins, Danish, scones, microwavable oatmeal, hard-boiled eggs, and some dreadful looking fruit salad. None of the items were remarkable and even seemed a little old or dry.
The location is just 'OK". The main drag in this town is Third Ave and it was on the other side of the lake from the hotel. The beach was a two block walk.
Hotel was clean, the one staff member we ever saw was a young lady behind the counter and she was certainly friendly and helpful.
Did you know that in Spring Lake none of the restaurants serve alcohol (all BYOB) and there are no bars. We didn't know this and it was certainly a surprise to us. I know this isn't a reflection on the hotel but I think it's notable.

Room Tip: Get a low floor room to avoid the steps. Suites are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navy_Civ_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry that your visit to the town of Spring Lake was not perhaps what you had expected. Though the town itself does have some wonderful BYO restaurants, both Spring Lake Heights ( you can walk to that) and Sea Girt do offer restaurants that provide adult beverages.
As the lack of elevator was a concern, please make sure to call or email me directly for your next visit so I can provide you with the best room possible for your needs. We certainly want to make sure that all of our guests have a great stay with us.
Looking forward to seeing you again!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My family stayed in a suite and a room. They were clean and well kept up. The suite was beautiful. My biggest complaint was the European breakfast. It was not appetizing at all. Everything was store bought at a supermarket. Nothing fresh.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokyomcqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm glad that you seemed to enjoy the hotel overall. I know that the breakfast was not the top notch you were hoping for. Without a kitchen, it certainly limits what we are able to offer our guests. We do welcome any and all suggestions on items that you may like for your next visit and do our best to incorporate them if possible. Please feel free to call or email me directly if there is something specific you would like to see.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Nj
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice and enjoyed ourselves both times. Our room ( #3
Victorian w/Pool Porches) was clean and well appointed with a mini fridge, flat screen TV and a
huge king bed. The porch access to the pool made taking a dip a breeze. The pool was very
clean and not overly chlorinated ( something I can't stand ) but there was no life guard so you
swim at your own risk. Some changes I'd like to see are the the low flow showerhead ( the
present Moen is a poor design that doesn't produce a good spray ) and the free wi-fi isn't
password protected, which means you could be eavesdropped on. The continental breakfast was
delicious and had a nice selection ( bagels, English muffins, cereal, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, milk, juices ) and is served from 8 to 10 am.

The location is the best thing about the Hewett, 0.3 mi to the beach and 0.5 mi walking into town. There's a bike rack near the pool so we brought our bikes and saw more of the town than
we did on our first trip. Nothing nicer than walking, biking around town, taking a swim or reading
on the front porch overlooking the lake. A great place to just relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JETNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. It seems that you had a great time here and I'm glad you had the chance to do so many things. The pictures look great as well so thank you for posting them.
We hope to get the chance to see you again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hewitt Wellington is an absolute gem. From our spacious room and magical hotel location to the extremely friendly and helpful staff, our stay in Spring Lake was one of the most magical getaways we've ever had. Thanks to Kathy and the rest of the staff for making our stay simply wonderful. We WILL be back again, that's for sure!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay. We had a great time with you as well. We love it when we have the opportunity to spend time talking with our guests as we did with you. I hope you are enjoying the book you downloaded as well. I'm still working on getting the one you recommended for me. Hope to see you soon!

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#7 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
150 reviews
5.7 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#4 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing