We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over stuffed suite”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Over stuffed suite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a queen suite. The bedroom was very small. The living room was spacious and had a view of Spring Lake and the ocean. However, there were large pieces of furniture in front of every window, so we couldn't enjoy the view. The decor was dated, but clean and not at all worn. The restaurant was not very accommodating of our two children, even though we had inquired about that ahead of time. The staff were friendly and the locale is very good, near the lake and 3 short blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phoebesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm sorry that the suite you had was not quite what you had wanted. Please make sure to call before your next visit and we will be more than happy to help you choose the perfect room for you and your family. We definitely want you to enjoy all the hotel and town have to offer.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    170
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
333
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manorville, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Didn't expect the quiet surroundings, beautiful town, and the accomadations of this delightful hotel. The room was comfortable and tastefully done. We had every convenience and the staff was very helpful. The Whispers Restaurant adjacent to the hotel had wonderful food. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. We got a very good deal with Travel Zoo. Looking forward to the spring for our next trip.

Room Tip: Any room on the second or third floor. Better view and quiet. It's a small hotel with only 23 ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouannSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review of our hotel. I'm so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy yourself and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Although it was snowing/sleeting and freezing outside, the hotel was beautiful, warm, and spacious. Purchased the "romance" package and received a bottle of wine and cheese plate at check-in. Great suite with views of the lake, king size bed, and old school charm!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franci125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will visit with us again when the weather is as warm as our hospitality. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
236 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Great location, friendly staff, large, warm, friendly room. If it hadn't been in the winter we would have really enjoyed to balcony. This place would be a great place for a summer weekend. Didn't get to try the restaurant but we heard it was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
So glad you had the chance to experience us and come to love us. I will be looking for you to come again when the weather is a bit warmer so you can truly enjoy yourself in the town and at the beach.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

A group of us stayed to attend the Christmas inns tours. We had a lovely stay in a beautiful hotel , great location, comfortable , clean and spacious rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, plan to return here.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us for the Christmas Tour and I hope you enjoyed touring all the beautiful historic inns that were part of it. We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

For a special anniversary we chose your hotel and we did not make a mistake. From the moment we arrived and met Kathy she made sure our day was perfect. Our room was perfect and so comfortable and very clean. Kathy gave us walking suggestions and we spent time seeing the town, park and your beautiful church. Again on Kathy's recommendation we had our dinner at Whisper's and I can't begin to tell you how great the meal was, oh the crab cakes. From the moment we arrived to the time we left I have never experienced such wonderful people who tried to make your stay perfect and succeeded. Thanks you all for making our 49th Anniversary so very special.

Room Tip: Check on the internet to find the perfect bed size, I did needed a king and got it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
I'm so glad that you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us and have shared your experience with others. It is a wonderful thing to see such a nice couple celebrating an anniversary and to feel that after all this time they still cherish each other. Thank you for allowing us to share in that experience with you.
I look forward to seeing you both again for many years to come.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A classic boutique hotel in an excellent location, private yet not impersonal. The room I booked had a malfunction so I was upgraded to a suite. Great service and the front desk staff was warm and helpful. The continental breakfast is unexciting but adequate, although I was glad to see the option of plain Greek yogurt with dried fruit and nuts as possible toppings. No elevator, which didn't bother me but might bother some.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wisborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
I'm glad that you had a good time staying with us and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. I will make sure that the desk staff knows you were happy with their service. We are always looking for new ideas for breakfast and I'm pleased that you liked the option of the plain yogurt and toppings.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing