We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would not recommend Room 17.”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

After paying close to $300 per night, I was very disappointed to find the room in such poor condition. The beige carpet was stained throughout, particularly at the entrance, and probably should have been replaced several years ago. The white "occasional" chair located in the room was also covered in stains.

Alos, the shower had so little water pressure that we had to stand directly below the shower head in order to take a shower.

My understanding is that each room within the Hewitt Wellington is individually owned, so I hope all rooms are not in this condition. This room though, only due to its location close to the beach and 3rd Ave, should go for $100 - $150, tops.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before you check in. Do not choose room 17.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank state95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm sorry that things were not what you had expected. We certainly try to deliver a great experience to our guests. We do try to keep up with things in the rooms as we go along the peak season but clearly we did not. The concerns you raised are being addressed.
I do hope that you will come to visit us again. Please feel free to call us prior to booking and we will make sure to get you into a room that completely suits your needs and will make you want to continue staying with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
There are newer reviews for Hewitt Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel was beautiful and quiet, a perfect little getaway for our anniversary. We loved having a room with a balcony to sit out and enjoy the view and the cool ocean breeze late into the evening. The only disappointing thing about the Hewitt Wellington was the "continental breakfast". Dropping this from the amenities would put this hotel in much more favorable light. As the last impression we had of the hotel in the morning, it left us with a less than perfect impression of the place. For a hotel with a restaurant of its own, we expected at least basic breakfast food. Don't skip this stay because of the lousy breakfast, just plan to go out to eat!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. I'm glad that overall you had a great time with us. Unfortunately, the amazing restaurant we have attached to us is not ours and therefore we are unable to offer a full breakfast to our guests. Without a kitchen, we try to do the best we can to offer a variety of light continental breakfast items to our guests. We are lucky that should guests want more of a bacon and eggs breakfast that we have great places for that just a short walk from us.
I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I love Spring Lake, I have been coming here since I was in High School, but this was the first time I stayed at the Hewitt-Wellington. I have to say I was very happy with the suite, the breakfast was very good, and the pool relaxing. This is the place to go to for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. My husband and I also enjoyed the restaurant; Whispers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you felt relaxed and refreshed after your stay. I hope we get to see you again soon for another getaway weekend.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I recently attended a family wedding in Spring Lake. We were looking for a hotel on the lake and also close to where the church service was to be held.
We settled on the Hewitt Wellington Hotel along with many of the wedding guests. We were not disappointed, Kathy the hotel manager warmly welcomed us; she was so helpful during our stay including taking our luggage to our room. The hotel is situated right on the lake, within walking distance of the town and the beach. The rooms are bright, clean and well maintained. There is a wonderful front poach where the guest can chat and enjoy a glass of wine while keeping in mind the needs and wishes of the other hotel guests. There is an upscale restaurant in the hotel and best of all it’s a BYOB. To keep things short, I would highly recommend this hotel. Can’t wait to return to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. We LOVED having you here with us for the wedding and you made us feel as much a part of your family as we hope you felt about us. Can't wait to see you again!!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have now stayed at the Hewitt Wellington, once again, to find to our delight that KATHY is still there to do everything possible to make our stay great. Her professionalism and always sunny personality make all the difference.
This is a place to come for peace and quiet and short walk to the beach. Don't expect any "action", because thankfully, there isn't any nearby.
From Francie and Joe

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Francie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm so glad that you had a great time and look forward to your return.
We do love it when our guests have the chance to get away, relax and enjoy all that Spring Lake has to offer.
Hopefully we will see you soon!!

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We came without prebooking and knowing the place, but found that the place looked good and luckily for us there was a free room. We were certainly not dissapointed. Relaxed atmosphere, close to the Beach, and actually an extremely good restaurant at the place that we can recommend. Spring Lake is nice, good Beach and beautiful homes and gardens.
Klaus and Trine Thomsen

Room Tip: We had one of the Suites - surely enjoyed it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm so glad that you happened upon us and had the chance to enjoy some time in the area. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us. Hope to see you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Love this place and staff - Kathy the Manager is fabulous, rooms clean and short walk to the beach, short walk to 3rd ave with great food and shops! This was our 5th year there and already planned next year!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

We had a great time with all of you as well. Can't wait to see you and your family again next year!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
51 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,610 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: £91 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing