We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and Tranquil”
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 7 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What we love about the Ocean House:
Eating breakfast on the glorious wrap around porch with views of the ocean and lake! Delightful!
Soothing music you hear throughout the Inn as you enjoy your afternoon tea!Calming!
Steps to the beach,town,lake and fabulous restaurants! Stress free!
Retreating to your beautifully decorated and spotless room! Relaxing!
Owners Nancy,Dennis,Jared,Colleen and friendly staff! Pampering!
Returning to the Ocean House next year! Definitely! MaryAnn And Bob

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmcgi14485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed at the Ocean House this past week and had an amazing time! The accommodations are beautiful and my room was very well appointed (haven't slept that well in months; so quiet and the bed was perfect!). The wrap around porch is great to relax on and having the ocean less then a block away is perfect; such a great breeze from the water and you can come and go to the beach as needed. Also had the opportunity to take the bikes out and explore around Spring Lake which is so nice! Breakfast was delicious (the breakfast burritos were great; a must try if served while you are there!) and the staff is so friendly and goes above and beyond to make sure you are taken care of and all needs are addressed.

I can't wait till my next trip down to Spring Lake and I know for sure that I will be staying at the Ocean House!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

when you have to throw bath mats on the stairs, its time to change the carpet....

this inn is in a fine location, Spring Lake is lovely, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. But the facility itself is very marginal and not quite clean enough for the rate. (which doesn't actually include beach access.)
yes, they have bikes, but they are very rusted with brakes that barely work.
same with the beach chairs. and the mattresses.
they do try very hard to accommodate guests needs. that is its saving grace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a wedding and loved it. The young couple who run this inn were great and made us feel so welcome . The location is great as it's right off the lake and only a few minute walk to charming downtown Spring Lake plus it's also steps from the beach ! I've been coming to Spring Lake for years but never knew about this place- we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean House for a three day vacation in mid-August. I can't imagine a better place to stay in Spring Lake. It was exceptionally quiet, homey and only a block from the boardwalk and beach. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfasts were wonderful. The staff was very responsive to whatever our needs were. They provide beach chairs, umbrellas, bikes. The shops are 2-3 blocks away. Lovely wrap-around porch for leisurely coffee, tea, reading, etc. Afternoon and evening cookies. Very accommodating all the way around!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

First of all, you would never know that Storm Sandy came through Spring Lake. The new boardwalk is lovely and the beach here is as fabulous as always. It's hard to see the devastation in towns of Normandy and Mantoloking only 10 minutes south. The Ocean House is perfect! We stayed for two nights and enjoyed every second. The breakfast included was plenty to get your day going, and sitting on the comfortable porch with coffee in the morning and a glass of wine at night was so peaceful and pleasant. The beach is just one block down, and towels, chairs, and umbrellas are all supplied for guests. There are also two refrigerators for guest use and respectful guests just write their names and room number on their wine, beer, snacks, or doggy-bags and this seems to work well. There is an outdoor shower that guests can use even after they have checked out, which is soooo handy when getting a a little more beach time before heading home.
I would highly recommend The Ocean House.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pto6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The Ocean House is a warm friendly place with a great relaxing porch, beautifully decorated rooms and a delicious breakfast. There is always a cup of coffee or tea to help yourself to and either cookies or cakes put out in the afternoon. It is very close to the beach or also the lake and the shops on Third Ave.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, I stayed in the classic queen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 7 in Spring Lake
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range: £133 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing