We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable visit”
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our second visit to the Ocean House was in July 2014.
As before we enjoyed our visit: the staff is accommodating and friendly, the rooms are tastefully decorated and comfortable and the breakfast delicious.
(I enjoyed the eggs or French toast, breads and especially, the yogurt and fruit).
The rooms also have Wi-Fi, which worked with my Kindle. (Cablevision is the supplier).
The location is just one block to the boardwalk and beach but a longer walk to the town.
The large porch is a wonderful place to have coffee and relax.

Room Tip: Speak with the staff as to what floor and room size meets your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    37
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
168
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pitman, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at The Ocean House for the first time over this past weekend and we can't wait to go back! Everything was perfect! The location is wonderful; one short block from the beach and within walking or bike riding distance to the charming little town. The Innkeepers, Jared & Colleen, are warm and welcoming and always happy to help with the Inn's and town's history, dinner recommendations and reservations, or just some friendly conversation. Their adorable lab, Penny, is always happy to greet you with a tail wag. Breakfast is amazing--an incredible amount of food, hot and cold, and always delicious. One of the best features of the Inn is the massive front porch with period rattan seating and tables and chairs. It's lovely to sit outside for breakfast, or just to enjoy the ocean breezes and peaceful atmosphere. This place truly is a gem!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phylis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We just returned home from a 3 day stay at the Ocean House. The B&B was immaculate and in a perfect location, very close to the beach, restaurants, a great swimsuit shop and an ice cream store. Our room was comfortable and the staff was very accommodating and helpful. We loved the porch with its abundant and comfy seating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montvale, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is my third or fourth time here. The people are friendly and welcoming. The porch is amazing, beautiful ocean breezes, just one block from the ocean. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is always different, delicious, and not just continental. There is always relaxing music playing in the dining room. In the afternoon they have iced tea, ice water and baked goods for their guests, also delicious. You can borrow bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas. They have cold beverages to purchase (honor system) in the dining room. It's nice to get a few days at the beach where you feel like you're at home. I will be coming back in August for a concert and plan on returning each summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CarolJoyAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed our first time, New Year's Eve...but I didn't do a review because of other distractions in my life. We stayed this past weekend and again..this B&B is top notch...from the friendly service at the front desk to the cleanliness and comfort of our room..to , last but not least....the perfect breakfast..ready for us with excellent staff. My husband is a vegan and the fruit, granola and spread for him was delicious as were the eggs and cakes and bacon for me. We will be back. A great night sleep, comfortable, quiet. The cool lemonade left out at night is amazing. This is what all B&Bs should be like.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beffyEssexFells_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We just finished a grand wedding weekend with Jarred, Colleen, and staff from June 18-22, 2014! We booked the entire B&B so the staff was always on the go with requests for this or that as you would expect from a wedding! The breakfasts were different each day and fantastic. The close proximity to the beach and downtown (3rd street) made it easy to walk or take the complimentary bicycles. The front desk is always staffed with a courteous face, willing to give you a recommendation on restaurants, attractions, or any needed sundries. Whether you are a large entourage or just a couple looking for a restful weekend, this is the place for personalized pampering! Don't miss hanging out on the wrap around veranda, where a cool breeze always makes a summer day memorable!

Room Tip: The best small rooms are on the south east corner of the property. Views of both streets and can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at The Ocean House on the last weekend of May. Jared and his staff made us feel right at home along with the other guests who were staying at the inn to attend a wedding nearby. The room was clean and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious, and the porch a wonderful place to enjoy a cup of coffee (or a glass of wine). The Ocean House is located only a block from the beach, and two blocks from the center of town, so is in a perfect location. My niece, the bride, also has rave reviews. We highly recommend a stay at The Ocean House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building attached to the main part of the Inn. Our room was on the third floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina00799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing