We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wanted to pretend it's summer”
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 7 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2011

A bunch of girlfriends just wanted to get away and pretend it was summer. I wish I had the time to travel far, but as any of you moms know getting away is almost impossible. We all decided to stay on the Jersey Shore because I wanted to go eat at Clementines in Avon (favorite restaurant in Jersey). So we did a little research and found Ocean House. I called some of the other hotels but got recordings, or too expensive, said they were in Spring Lake but really up on a highway etc. So about 6 of us went down, had a blast, went out in Asbury to a great new bar Watermark then skeeball at Johnny Macs, then came back to the Ocean House where it was basically like staying at one of our friends really massive homes! The entire hotel is very clean, quaint, staff is very friendly (even upgraded us to a bigger bed cause I'm so tall!) the breakfast was amazing! I asked why they weren't open for food all the time because it was so good, but he said they only serve guests as of now. (The girl cooking should open her own place). I have to say the whole weekend was great, even had an amazing cab driver "Johnny Babes", what a character that guy is! Only wish it was warm enough for the beach, guess we'll go back. Have to say though the Jersey Shore is nothing like that stupid show if you go down there. I said that to a local but she told me to please keep that to myself because they like it just the way it is now.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatAreias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2010

The Ocean House is a beautiful B&B located one short block from the beach in Spring Lake NJ and approximately 4 blocks from the town itself. The location is fantastic and the inn itself is lovely with a large wrap around porch: a wonderful venue for breakfast; afternoon naps or evening cocktails....the rooms are large and bright and very nicely appointed. The breakfast every morning is superb, fresh and generous in its portions. The Inn is owned and run by a family. Dennis and Nancy and their son and daughter go out of their way to create not just a pleasant stay for guests but an experience that stays with you long after you leave.
As a hotelier, I appreciate all the extra niceties that they extend to their guests and also, how well run the enire Inn is ...it is truly a gem in the in the slice of Heaven that is Spring Lake.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJQ08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We have had 2 private parties here and both were amazing! We did not stay at the hotel. Nicole, Wall Township.

Stayed: October 2010
Thank Zebdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

The staff at The Ocean House makes you feel like a member of their family as soon as you walk in the door.
Our room was very comfortable and bright.
The breakfast room was full of sunshine.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan58026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

50 years out of high school and we selected the Ocean House in Spring Lake , New Jersey for all our reunion. We spent friday night gathering with a light dinner, Saturday with breakfast and a wonderful dinner prepared and served by the Ocean House staff.The rooms were spectacular, or we would have been slammed by all our friends . We came from Seattle, California, Texas to the Jersey Ocean House and we were overwhelmed with their warm and caring staff. We had 65 for a very special dinner and some real rock and roll for dancing . Wow, what a blast,,,thanks to the Ocean House.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wee-organics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2010

One of the best B&B we've ever stayed at. The rooms are comfortable and clean. The food is fresh and served beautifully. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were taken care of. From the time we arrived til the time we left "it felt like home."

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bncfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Great hotel. The owners and staff are outstanding. The rooms are great and each room is uniquely decorated. Great experience.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank tantine80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
421 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 7 in Spring Lake
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range: £132 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing