We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Villa Park House” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Park House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Park House
Ranked #3 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Villa Park House”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Villa Park House is a wonderful place to spend a shore vacation in Spring Lake. We took our 8 year old granddaughter, & we were all treated so nicely. An added feature was the breakfasts that couldn't be beat. Beautiful location, great biking area, & only a few blocks from the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    9
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
31
28
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

had an amazing weekend at the Villa park house! Matthew the owner is fantastic! Friendly and goes beyond to make your stay the best it can be.
The Inn is located close to the beach and provides beach passes, chairs, umbrellas, bikes. Breakfast is included and is delicious.
I would go back here anytime!
If you stay a must go to is the restaurant Remingtons. Amazing food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIck620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My family of 4 has stayed at the Villa Park House twice now, the past 2 summers. My husband and I both grew up on the Jersey Shore, but now live in Utah. We did not make the trip to NJ this summer, and the part we missed most about not going "home" is our yearly stay at the Villa Park House! Matthew is the most professional, hospitable and down-to-earth host. We thoroughly enjoy talking with him while staying in his beautiful, classic, Jersey-shore home. He does all he can to make our stay so comfortable, and his home and the wonderful breakfasts on the porch are always the highlight of our trip! Our children love staying there and we love that the Villa Park House is a kid and family-friendly establishment. Most B & B's in the high-class Spring Lake area are, well, to put it bluntly, very stuffy and full of old people! Matthew's B & B makes it possible to have a truly memorable Jersey Shore beach vacation, and we can't wait until the next time we can get back there! Keep up the great work Matthew, we hope to see you soon! I would definitely recommend the Villa Park House to anyone that is looking for a beautiful, comfortable place to stay while enjoying the good ol' Jersey Shore!

Room Tip: Both times we have stayed in the same 2 rooms, at the top of the stairs on 2nd floor - it's a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieHertgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our first time there and our stay couldn't have been MORE relaxing. The Villa Park House is beautiful inside and out. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious (thanks to Matt, who cooked an amazing omlette!) Everyone there was so friendly and helpful. We are looking forward to returning with friends and family!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

My sisters and I, along with our daughters and their children, have made it a yearly tradition to spend time together in Spring Lake. Over the years, The Villa Park House has been a wonderful B&B for all of us to enjoy all the comforts of home. Matt's gracious personality and excellent breakfast chef skills, along with the clean and comfortable room accommodations, always make our stay special. I highly recommend it for families, small groups of friends, single and married couples. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat0946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

I don't usually write harsh reviews but it seems some places have suspicious number inflation and I feel the need to let other travelers know what the are in for.

The good:
Pretty house, upscale residential neighborhood. But yes far from town and a longer walk to the beach than owners describe. But if you are healthy and don't have young children and tons of gear to schlep, it's doable though I'd imagine in hotter months it would be a huge drag.

Problems:
Unsupervised, rude children running amok and doing dangerous stuff like skateboarding up and down a driveway that is hidden by hedges.

Very tiny room with even teensier bathroom with uncomfortably small fiberglass shower stall. As a 130lb woman I was cramped in there. The shower nozzle was covered in mold, shower floor was stained. When the sink is turned on or toilet is flushed shower water turns instantly scalding. I understand it's old plumbing but a warning might be nice. I've stayed a lot of places, even in developing nations and it's been 20 yrs since I encountered this particular plumbing issue.

Very old windows and since it's right next to the train, even with windows closed and bath fan on for white noise, it sounded like we were outdoors.

House was kept frigidly cold and even with extra blanket I was freezing. I didn't dare disturb owners as they were so tightly wound. I overheard the children being snapped at harshly the proprietors were clearly overwhelmed and stressed out making interaction uncomfortable despite their forced attempts to seem cheerful. .

Breakfasts at bnbs are usually a highlight but not here. The eggs tasted microwaved, toast was wonderbread grade, breakfast meats and potatoes were diner quality.

I felt ripped when we left paying almost 300. I think $125 would have felt about right.

Would not re-book even in a pinch.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jewel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachbound2day, Owner at Villa Park House, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
For nine years, we have done our best to make everyone’s visit to the Villa Park House a happy, memorable and special event. We are a family friendly retreat- and understand that sometimes guests arrive tired, frustrated by traffic or stressed out from work, but we always strive to change that mood and make your stay enjoyable. We are always happy to open our doors and welcome you in. Thanks to your recent review, we know that is not always possible. Some just expect too much, demand too much and do not understand that visiting a Bed & Breakfast is actually visiting someone’s home.
We pride ourselves on delivering a relaxing and fun experience at the seashore in our old, Victorian home. People often call our original windows charming, the cool, central air system, a life saver, our larger than standard sized shower stalls, refreshing, our spacious side yard and unique parking lot area, fun-filled and safe for the children, and the passing train, quaint. The fresh, hot and professionally made award-winning breakfast, delicious and outstanding, yet another reason our guests return, and our son and daughter, who are happy to greet guests and play happily with other visiting children, well-behaved and friendly. A walk to the beach is a stretch of the legs for four-and-a-half blocks….down tree-lined streets and passed the aromatic gardens of million dollar homes. If heading to town, we offer bikes so you can ride across the picturesque wooden bridge and fountain adorned lake at your leisure.
But for those who are not able to see the vibrant and lovely colors of life that surround our establishment, inside and out, and kick back to enjoy a relaxing atmosphere, what more can we do? We tried to alter the unhappy countenance you carried over our threshold when you checked in, even after allowing you a one-night stay on Memorial Day weekend, when we carry a three-night minimum. Unfortunately, you left just as you came, and missed all the nuance, charm and hospitality that makes the Villa Park House such a highly-rated, family friendly, award-winning and most of all, relaxing, experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have stayed at The Villa Park House for the past 8 years as a family of four since our youngest was a baby. It is our home away from home, but oh so much more relaxing. The rooms and beds are so comfortable. It's a very convenient location to the beach and town. The food is delicious - our kids love the chocolate chip pancakes with ice cream. The hosts, Matthew and Dara are so friendly and talented. She does the gardening; he's a professionally trained chef. They understand kids and how to make a B&B work with them. We come most years three times. A MUST STAY: The Villa Park House

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
5.5 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#2 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
4.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Park House

Property: Villa Park House
Address: 417 Ocean Rd, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1027
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Park House is one of the few Spring Lake bed and breakfasts that welcomes families with children and pets, making it a wonderful family friendly alternative to hotel lodging.The Villa Park House is a grand, Victorian era home that has been a welcomed retreat for visitors since 1886. Villa Park Farm was one of four farms that has made up what is now known as Spring Lake. Our historic bed and breakfast was originally built as a guest house to accommodate the friends of Villa Park Farm's owner. Villa Park House has been the choice for many wanting to relax and rejuvenate near the Atlantic Ocean. Linda and Peter Foy, former owners of Ashling Cottage Bed and Breakfast, rated #1 in Spring Lake, are pleased to announce the purchase of Villa Park House. The renovations that are being made will help to reach our goal of providing Villa Park House guests an impeccably clean and comfortable room, a hot and hearty breakfast, and enjoyable common grounds. Please watch for the exciting changes to appear on our web site in the near future, and then pay us a visit to experience a step back in time in an amazing Victorian town called Spring Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing