We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming b & b with special touches”
Review of Villa Park House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Park House
Ranked #3 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Welcoming b & b with special touches”
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Villa Park is a charming b & b a few scenic blocks from the beautiful Spring Lake beach. From the minute you see the colorfully painted front porch with its comfy wicker chairs you will feel at home. The inn's period decor is appealing without being overly fussy. The owners, Matthew and Dara Schmid, are generous with rides (for those who, like us, arrive by train), beach chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, bikes, etc. But what sets this inn apart for frequent b & b travelers like us are the breakfasts. Matthew, a graduate of the prestigious CIA, offers a selection of dishes that are big treats but quite different from the carb- and sugar-fest one does tend to encounter at most b & b's. We will long remember his creative breakfast wraps as well as the delicious fruit and juices. His top-level experience at the Waldorf Astoria and the Rainbow Room shine through in the simple yet elegant breakfast service, either in the dining room or on the porch. It's all about attention to detail. You can't go wrong at Villa Park!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    11
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
35
29
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We've never been to Spring Lake and we have to say we were wonderfully surprised. Spring Lake was not overly crowded, not commercial, not overly touristy, not full of big hotels, or motels; gorgeous beach, great boardwalk with nothing commercial on it; beautiful homes, wide streets, and quaint shopping. Everything felt fresh, safe and clean; a great residential neighborhood.

The Villa Park House was wonderful from the time we arrived, until the time we left. Matthew, the house owner, was outside when we pulled up late Friday night, and helped us with where to park, a quick tour and a nice conversation of what to do in the area. We stayed in the suite 8 & 9. Perfect for having a kid or two with you. The kid slept in a separate room that had a twin bed with trundle; his own tv/vcr, ceiling fan, dresser, full window, big closet and comfy big sitting chair. Our room (9) had a large brass bed, dresser, ceiling fan, two full size windows, closet and a full bathroom for the suite. We also really loved the color of our room, soothing and comfortable.

Breakfast was made to order (of any egg selection) along with a few choices of an omelet or wrap, fresh fruit, and yogurt parfait. Eg: The ham and cheese omelet had five different types of Colby cheese; the wrap had salmon, greens, capers, creme cheese, light and fluffy eggs. There was always a choice of meat and Matthew's version of homefries--- delicious. There is nothing worse then going to a B & B and not liking the breakfast or not having enough to eat.... you will not have to worry about this at the Villa Park House, because Matthew is a graduate of the prestigious Culinary Institute of America and you can guarantee your breakfast will be awesome! Of course coffee and tea, and from the mouth of the Kid, "This is the best grapefruit juice I've ever had!"

There are some bikes to borrow, beach passes, beach towels, umbrellas, & chairs! A great wrap around porch for relaxing with a cup of tea, reading or dining for breakfast. Matthew is very friendly and knowledgeable on where everything is in town.

This was the perfect place for our last minute weekend getaway. Thank you Matthew for a fantastic stay! We definitely plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingquad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountainside, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

What a beautiful residence,every detail is attended to. Mat and Darra are wonderful hosts and the staff is attentive to your needs. Whether it be bikes to ride, chairs and towels for the beach, directions, dinner suggestions they accommodated you. In my mind a Bed and Breakfast is about quiet charm and relaxation, and that is what we received, we returned home feeling rested and renewed. We hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjlister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
easton pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

My family and i just got back from a couple of days there for a little beach time before school starts. Villa park is what i like about bed and breakfasts. It was clean, comfortable and felt like home. great front porch. matthew couldn't have been more pleasant or helpful and takes pride in putting on a top notch breakfast that will take you all the way to dinner, which is particularly great when you're planning on spending the whole day at the beach. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralphbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

My family and I stayed at the Villa Park House for Memorial Day Weekend, which was also my husband's 40th birthday. The idea of the weekend as to allow my husband to relax and regroup.
Our stay at Villa Park House was great! The accommodations were spectacular and the hosts were fabulous. We stayed on the third floor and used the two adjoining room being that we had our two children with us. The rooms were well decorated, the linens were nice, and the beds were comfortable. We all enjoyed pulling the comforters over our heads at night, because they felt very soft and inviting.
Breadfast in the mornings were superb, and on many occasions my children asked for something else. This is unusual for my children because they can be picky eaters.
Matthew was very hospitable from the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out. He was very informative, and always concerned about your well being.
Although the B&B is not very close to the beach, it is a nice walk that my family and I enjoyed. We also took an opportunity to borrow the B&Bs bikes and biked around the town.
The weekend was a very memorable experience.

  • Liked — Rooms, food, service
  • Disliked — That I didn't stay longer
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browntonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2008

My wife and I were planningon getting married in Spring Lake, and we were searching for a B&B in Spring Lake that would house us and all our bridesmaids and groomsmen. As soon as we met Matthew, the proprietor, we both knew Villa Park would be the perfect place.

The hosts were so helpful with everything, even kindly inviting in for breakfast some friends and family who were not staying there. The food was amazing! A perfect way to start the wedding day (we were particularly amazed by the quiche). The rooms were well kept and clean. Anything we needed -- a toothbrush, water, some extra towels, or a badge -- Matthew was quick to provide.

This is a stellar establishment and I would recommend it to anyone, whether you are looking for a romantic weekend with your spouse or are looking to rent the whole house with your friends. I can't say enough good things about the Villa Park. It was a magical weekend, and Villa Park House was a perfect setting.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank prepteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

A large group of friends (6 families in total) rented out the entire B&B checking in on a Saturday for just one night. The hotel is clean and comfortable and food was wonderful. The only negative is distance to beach - you'd really have to walk or ride a bike there.

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — location to beach
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenaflymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
620 reviews
0.0 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
131 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#2 of 8 in Spring Lake
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Park House

Property: Villa Park House
Address: 417 Ocean Rd, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1027
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Park House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Park House is one of the few Spring Lake bed and breakfasts that welcomes families with children and pets, making it a wonderful family friendly alternative to hotel lodging.The Villa Park House is a grand, Victorian era home that has been a welcomed retreat for visitors since 1886. Villa Park Farm was one of four farms that has made up what is now known as Spring Lake. Our historic bed and breakfast was originally built as a guest house to accommodate the friends of Villa Park Farm's owner. Villa Park House has been the choice for many wanting to relax and rejuvenate near the Atlantic Ocean. Linda and Peter Foy, former owners of Ashling Cottage Bed and Breakfast, rated #1 in Spring Lake, are pleased to announce the purchase of Villa Park House. The renovations that are being made will help to reach our goal of providing Villa Park House guests an impeccably clean and comfortable room, a hot and hearty breakfast, and enjoyable common grounds. Please watch for the exciting changes to appear on our web site in the near future, and then pay us a visit to experience a step back in time in an amazing Victorian town called Spring Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Park House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing