We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Need a special place to stay and eat? This is the place. The food is delicious. Make a reservation on outside porch. The views of the ocean is beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The inn has a beachy, home feeling. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieLongBranch_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

This old style Victorian era Bed and Breakfast delivered what was promised. Great location, hearty breakfast, and old world charm. We actually were rather pleased simply getting beachfront accomodations down the shore considering it was a last minute trip on a holiday weekend. The beds were fluffy and comfy albeit twin beds placed together. The room was old fashioned but adequate, the food was really good since they have a nice restaurant located on site. The downside: We were on the third floor and therefore had to share bathrooms thus the European style for those of you who have not experienced this since your freshmen year of college. It definetely is not ideal but for two nights it is not a big deal considering how nice the beach is and the awesome location. Spring Lake is a hidden gem with one luxurious Victorian mansion after the next and a lovely quiet beach that has the top sand stored for the winter. If you are looking for a cozy place, full of charm, across the street from the beach then look no further otherwise pay way more to stay in this chic beach, I mean shore town.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teeplepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked 2 nites at this Hotel, across the water in a beautiful area of Spring Lake for our 30th anniversary. The rates were high but for summer its expected. Included in the price is breakfast. When we arrived about 7 pm , on a Saturday, the deck was filled with people dining and you had to cut through this area with your bags to get to the front desk. After being charged over $500.00, we went to our very tiny room, with a "FULL BATH. The tiny shower with mini sink was barely enough space to fit in and out of the room. The toilet was in another corner of the room!. It gets better....
When it came time to go to sleep, we heard clanking noises , alot of them, dish washers and it sounded like a garbage truck was in my room. I went down stairs and spoke to someone in the restaurant and was reassured that the NOISE would stop and it did not. At midnight we decided to contact the hotel manager, who was responsive and apologetic and we advised that we wanted our money back for the 2 nites, and she agreed to refund us. We packed up and drove home at 12:30 AM and got in about 2AM. Stay away from ROOM 11, ITS OVER THE KITCHEN.
By the way, I did get a full refund and I advised them that they need to inform their guests about this room problem being over the kitchen. Also you should know that hotel guests do not get preferred seating at breakfast. Although its included in the price, the restaurant is open to the community , so seating is first come first served. I suggested they change that policy. I only knew this because I asked about it when I checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ABrooklynTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Grand Victorian in a room with a King Size bed and ocean view. From the moment we arrived, the manager, Anita, made us feel like we were at home! She welcomed us to the hotel and accommodated all of our needs! She has one goal in mind--Make the Customer Happy and Comfortable!!! Although the rooms are a bit small and sparse, the location cannot be beat!!! Also, breakfast is amazing and served on the wrap-around porch. If you are looking for the best "customer" experience, a great location, and a wonderful breakfast with a straight shot view of the ocean, this is the place to be. Also, for dinner, The Black Trumpet Restaurant is AMAZING! And, the service is impeccable. All you need is in one place at the Grand Victorian Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room 14 or 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibpatnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

A wonderful bed&breakfast. The grand old lady is in need of a face lift, but don't let that keep you away, the bed was so comfortable, the rooms are super clean, and the staff will bend over backwards to see to your every need. A standing ovation for the manager Anita Pomante!
Thank you for the wonderful memories of our stay at the Grand Victorian, Spring Lake.
Di

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, not an ocean view, but in the back away from the house traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bearcub_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Under sale at the moment. Rooms could use some refreshing, unbeatable location!

For rate paid one would expect better quality rooms, the carpet in the room assigned was dirty and old, worn. The furniture could be better taken care of. The bathroom was also in need of repair.

The location though is excellent, unbeatable.

Room Tip: There are rooms with bathrooms and shared bathrooms; worth paying extra to have own bathroom. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelNJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stay in Room 1 if you can. The view from the room, when we were not at the beach was so soothing and beautiful. We saw the sunrise overthe water right from bed the next morning!
The service at breakfast the first morning was quite slow. Perhaps more waitstaff should be hired? The 2nd morning was better. Food was good, but the easy walk to the beach and view from the room is the reason to stay there!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgs864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
670 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#3 of 7 in Spring Lake
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Park House
Villa Park House
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian at Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian at Spring Lake

Address: 1505 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: £94 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Victorian at Spring Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Grand Victorian Hotel, a beachfront property on one of New Jersey’s most pristine beaches. Open year round, the Grand Victorian is always a welcoming oasis where guests can rest, relax, and enjoy the best of the Jersey Shore! Our 22 room hotel boasts spectacular views in our clean, quaint rooms. We are in the middle of Spring Lake’s two mile boardwalk and a mere three block walk away to 3rd Ave, our downtown shopping district. Travel is a breeze, as we're only a 90 minute drive from Philadelphia or New York City, and Spring Lake hosts an NJ Transit train station for those who commute without cars. Whether you are looking for a quick, spontaneous getaway or you're searching for the perfect spot to host your next big event, the Grand Victorian Hotel is the location for you. Included with your stay with us are beach passes, access to beach chairs, and complimentary tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Victorian at Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing