We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moldy bathrooms?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
Ranked #8 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Moldy bathrooms?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

There are no outstanding places to stay in this lovely beach town, but for this money, dirty old carpet, broken down furniture and black mold in the bathroom is just disgusting and disappointing. Got an ugly face too when we needed a slightly late checkout. The food at their restaurant is about as good as your'll get at the shore.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessLuxeTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    26
    16
    9
See reviews for
12
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex Fells, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This beautiful victorian could be a real gem but it fails to complete the package. The staff was nice and room was clean. The shower was our main issue here. It was this little dank shower stall that you might see in a flop house and the water temperature would not stay consistent in our deluxe king bed room with a private bath. It would be fine one second then the next it would be cold then blistering hot. I had to leap out of the shower half lathered until it was safe. Thank god it was private bath!! The room was close to the ocean you could smell the salt water… well you could if the windows were useable. One of the windows did not have screen and in late-summer mosquito season with my wife a mosquito magnet we could not open that one. The other widow without a view of the ocean had a screen but did not fit the window so there was a towel in what I could surmise would be a way to keep out bugs, but it still had gaping holes. I had to wonder if Stevie Wonder was the handyman here. We wanted to have some wine before dinner but there is no common area to do so with the exception of the lawn on an old picnic table without any shade. Yes it was $199 for being on the ocean in deluxe king bed room with a private bath but you get what you pay for!!! Keep your expectations low.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PatnJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Spring Lake hotels

Long Branch, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Need a special place to stay and eat? This is the place. The food is delicious. Make a reservation on outside porch. The views of the ocean is beautiful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The inn has a beachy, home feeling. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieLongBranch_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

This old style Victorian era Bed and Breakfast delivered what was promised. Great location, hearty breakfast, and old world charm. We actually were rather pleased simply getting beachfront accomodations down the shore considering it was a last minute trip on a holiday weekend. The beds were fluffy and comfy albeit twin beds placed together. The room was old fashioned but adequate, the food was really good since they have a nice restaurant located on site. The downside: We were on the third floor and therefore had to share bathrooms thus the European style for those of you who have not experienced this since your freshmen year of college. It definetely is not ideal but for two nights it is not a big deal considering how nice the beach is and the awesome location. Spring Lake is a hidden gem with one luxurious Victorian mansion after the next and a lovely quiet beach that has the top sand stored for the winter. If you are looking for a cozy place, full of charm, across the street from the beach then look no further otherwise pay way more to stay in this chic beach, I mean shore town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teeplepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

I booked 2 nites at this Hotel, across the water in a beautiful area of Spring Lake for our 30th anniversary. The rates were high but for summer its expected. Included in the price is breakfast. When we arrived about 7 pm , on a Saturday, the deck was filled with people dining and you had to cut through this area with your bags to get to the front desk. After being charged over $500.00, we went to our very tiny room, with a "FULL BATH. The tiny shower with mini sink was barely enough space to fit in and out of the room. The toilet was in another corner of the room!. It gets better....
When it came time to go to sleep, we heard clanking noises , alot of them, dish washers and it sounded like a garbage truck was in my room. I went down stairs and spoke to someone in the restaurant and was reassured that the NOISE would stop and it did not. At midnight we decided to contact the hotel manager, who was responsive and apologetic and we advised that we wanted our money back for the 2 nites, and she agreed to refund us. We packed up and drove home at 12:30 AM and got in about 2AM. Stay away from ROOM 11, ITS OVER THE KITCHEN.
By the way, I did get a full refund and I advised them that they need to inform their guests about this room problem being over the kitchen. Also you should know that hotel guests do not get preferred seating at breakfast. Although its included in the price, the restaurant is open to the community , so seating is first come first served. I suggested they change that policy. I only knew this because I asked about it when I checked in.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ABrooklynTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warren,nj
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We recently stayed at the Grand Victorian in a room with a King Size bed and ocean view. From the moment we arrived, the manager, Anita, made us feel like we were at home! She welcomed us to the hotel and accommodated all of our needs! She has one goal in mind--Make the Customer Happy and Comfortable!!! Although the rooms are a bit small and sparse, the location cannot be beat!!! Also, breakfast is amazing and served on the wrap-around porch. If you are looking for the best "customer" experience, a great location, and a wonderful breakfast with a straight shot view of the ocean, this is the place to be. Also, for dinner, The Black Trumpet Restaurant is AMAZING! And, the service is impeccable. All you need is in one place at the Grand Victorian Hotel.

Room Tip: Choose room 14 or 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibpatnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

A wonderful bed&breakfast. The grand old lady is in need of a face lift, but don't let that keep you away, the bed was so comfortable, the rooms are super clean, and the staff will bend over backwards to see to your every need. A standing ovation for the manager Anita Pomante!
Thank you for the wonderful memories of our stay at the Grand Victorian, Spring Lake.
Di

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16, not an ocean view, but in the back away from the house traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearcub_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake

Property: Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
Address: 1505 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 modern guest rooms with pillow top mattresses and some with an ocean view in a Victorian home built in 1883. Location: On the beach and boardwalk. Amenities: Restaurant, patio dining area, cocktail lounge and wrap-around porch with lounge chairs. Dining and dreams packages. Beach passes included. Year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing