We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
Ranked #8 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed at the Grand Victorian for three nights in July. We were told that we were getting a discount but in reviewing the hotel web site advertisements I know that this did not happen. The room and bathroom were small but clean. The breakfast consisted of strong, stale coffee and baskets of bagels and bread. We were told that the Grand Victorian is an inn not a B&B when we complained about the breakfast. The dead flowers did not add much to the decor.
The best feature is the location which is directly across from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    26
    16
    9
See reviews for
12
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bergen County, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

Mu husband and I enjoy going to Spring Lake once a year for our anniversary and have stayed a few b&b over the years. We try to go to a different one each year. This year we chose The Grand Victorian for a couple reasons: location and they were offering on their website a nice dinner and stay package for $220. Upon arrival on Sunday afternoon, we were told that they had not heard of that deal and would check with the innkeeper. The girl behind the desk was so nice and got the innkeeper, Alan, on the phone and was able to have us talk on the phone...WELL, he was SO rude, arrogant, and spoke to me like I was a child. He informed us that we already got a deal on our room..."What more do we want?" I was shocked by his tone and was very insulted. Needless to say the conversation ended early and no dinner was given. We went elsewhere for our anniversary dinner. The room was nice but the bathroom was disgusting. No working light, the shower either was ice cold, or scorching hot...they advertised that Crabtree and Evelyn toiletries wold be in the bathroom.....we got a half used bottle of lotion.....so gross. Now, you know that a bed and breakfast includes the breakfast....we receiveed a yellow ticket to use Monday morning for outr"continental" breakfast.....WELL, when we asked where to go for breakfast we were told the "spread" was on the porch...it was a plate of stale pastries...that is it.....again...disgusting. I could go on, but I feel that I have gotten my point across....bottom line...DO NOT GO HERE....VERY DISAPPOINTED AND VERY MEAN INNKEEPER. Hopefully next year we find a better spot to celebrate our anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank honesty18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Spring Lake hotels

NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

cold breakfast, both days. dirty bathrooms. unavailable staff,
no phones, no manned front desk, overall disapointment

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dont get me started
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lakakakaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2008

We arrived at this hotel without a booking and out of season so the cheaper price we got reflected this. Consequently we were very happy with the room, although basic it was clean with a very comfortable bed. The sitting area was pleasant as was the breakfast room overlooking the beach. Breakfast was included in the rate and it was located in an area where you could walk either direction with lovely views of beach and lake.

  • Liked — Location and quaintness of the Hotel
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

The location was great, the bed was comfortable, and the breakfast was decent. The visit was peppered with mild inconveniences, however, that added up to an overall very poor impression. The room was small and simple; it had one double bed and a dresser and a small closet. The floor was slanted, which is to be expected from an older building, but it caused the soap to fall off the sink constantly – and no soap dish was provided to at least reduce the slippery soap's chance from constantly falling. The toilet paper holder fell off the wall our first night and housekeeping just left it there when they cleaned. No bathmat was provided. There was one mirror in the room – in the bathroom; it was about 18” in diameter and mounted too low for me to see more than my chin and below in the mirror (I am 5’10”). The room had an iron but no board (we borrowed one from another room and I nearly burned myself on the iron when the rickety thing nearly fell over on the slanted floor). The final blow was finding a previous occupant's dirty underwear under the bed when we were packing to check out.
I'm glad we paid reduced rates secured for a special event, because if I'd paid the advertised rates I would have been furious. I did address some of these concerns with the staff when I checked out; they were actually quite nice and friendly, but couldn’t undo the overall poor impression the room gave.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bare minimum room fixtures
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tallyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2008

We stayed at the Grand Victorian for one Friday night in high season. The room #15 was quite simple and rather small. Two light bulbs were missing -- one in the bathroom and one in bedroom. Bathroom was clean and fairly spacious. Our room had a comfortable queen bed, but with no nightstands. One side of the bed was against the wall which made entry and exit a little challenging. Price was $289 + tax. It was fine for a night, but I wouldn't have been comfortable for a longer stay. On the positive side, the hotel is right across from the ocean with easy access to the beach. Towels were supplied, staff was friendly, the ocean front porch comfortable. Breakfast was very good and included in the price. Overall, for the money, I would choose a different inn because room comfort and size is important to me. There are other inns in the same price range which are very close to the beach. But if you want to be super close to the ocean, you can't beat the location.

  • Liked — proximity to the ocean
  • Disliked — room too small, queen bed up against the wall
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BGK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

Staff looks after your every need. Attentive and professional. The rooms are clean and confortable. The views are amazing. The innkeeper and the wait staff could not do enough for us. From the beach passes to the continental breakfast, every detail was look after and accomodated. I never heard anyone say no while at the Grand Victorian. This place defines customer service. You must stay here!!!!!!

  • Liked — Everything was clean and the beds were the most comfortable out of any hotels we've stayed in
  • Disliked — Going home. I had a hard time leaving
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sigmundNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Girt Lodge
Sea Girt Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sea Girt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake

Property: Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
Address: 1505 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
13 modern guest rooms with pillow top mattresses and some with an ocean view in a Victorian home built in 1883. Location: On the beach and boardwalk. Amenities: Restaurant, patio dining area, cocktail lounge and wrap-around porch with lounge chairs. Dining and dreams packages. Beach passes included. Year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing