We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B, great attention to detail”
Review of Ashling Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashling Cottages
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B, great attention to detail”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Ashling Cottage. Here’s a run-down of what made it great for us: clean, well-appointed room in a charming old house just 1.5 blocks from the beach, delicious, plentiful hot breakfast every morning in their comfortable porch, complimentary port wine and cakes at tea time everyday in the pleasantly air-conditioned dining room to greet us when we came back from a sweaty bike ride or hot day out in the sun, free beach passes, free use of bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas, white fluffy towels replenished daily and even beach towels. A fridge w/ free drinks and for us to store our own beverages for later (since many restaurants are BYOB). Even when we checked out, they were super kind to offer us the beach passes for the day if we had wanted (too bad we had to get a head start on driving back). We really enjoyed these very thoughtful touches and it’s such a change from places that nickel and dime you for every small thing.

The only room for improvement that we would point out for future visitors, would be that our room (Sea Breeze) is quite small, and the mattress is pretty soft (seems like other reviewers have mentioned this too), so if you have a bad back, this might not be a good fit for you. Also, if you expect to be able to sleep in, our room tends to be a bit noisy (remember it’s an old house), so you can hear footsteps, furniture moving, voices, pretty much starting 7:30/ 8 am, so that’s another thing to keep in mind. If you’re a morning person, then it won’t be a problem! They are thoughtful to provide a sound machine, but we still had a hard time blocking out the sounds. We’d love to go back, but would likely request a room with a firmer mattress.

A side note not related to the B&B, is that the beaches at spring lake are really quiet, esp. compared to belmar, asbury park, etc. but the rules seem to be stricter, like no food or beverages allowed on the beach. It was fine for us, but something worth noting since we hadn't expected it either.

Room Tip: The larger rooms, while more expensive, might be quieter. Sea breeze was 'cozy' but mattress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at Ashling Cottage B&B. It was a PERFECT get away - not too far a drive, and not too close for company. Our room #1 called Romance was very large, quiet, shady and lovely with 3 windows on 2 exposures. Bathroom with just a small shower was clean with nice amenities & shelf space. The mattress was too soft but we managed sleep anyhow. The owners provided complimentary bikes, beach chairs, towels & umbrellas for the beautiful beach which was just 1 block away. Breakfast was very lovely and served on a pretty porch.
The owner Linda & staff could not be more accomodating and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask if there are new mattresses in any rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmasuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband and I just spent two nights and two days at the Ashling Cottage Bed and Breakfast. We LOVE this place! Quiet, fantastic breakfasts, and romantic, we highly recommend Ashling Cottage as THE place to stay in Spring Lake!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Just returned from a weekend at Ashling Cottage in Spring Lake. One of the nicest locations in Spring Lake -- steps from the lake, the quaint downtown, restaurants and of course, the ocean. The rooms in this historic property are clean and comfortable and beautifully appointed (ours had a "sound machine" to lull us to sleep). The innkeepers provide such nice touches (port wine and snacks in the afternoon, refrigerator with sodas, etc.) and serve an elegant hot breakfast each day that starts with fresh fruit, in a sunny atrium in the front. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner, etc. We enjoyed the use of free bikes to explore the beautiful town and see the gorgeous homes and gardens of Spring Lake. The inn was quiet and peaceful -- a perfect getaway and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just got back from a quick getaway to Spring Lake. Couldn't have asked for a better visit. Ashling Cottage is prime location; nestled between the ocean and the lake. Thank you to Peter and Linda for your wonderful dinner advice. Loved that we could park the car under the shady trees, grab a few bikes and tour the neighborhood. Restaurants are an easy walk, or a short drive - depending on what you're looking for and most are BYOB. The inn has a refrigerator to store your own drinks, but is also stocked with free soft drinks - a nice touch. Early each morning coffee and tea was set out and then we were served a delicious breakfast on the screened in porch. And despite that the B&B was full, it was extremely quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend that you visit soon. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsox788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoboken
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I are just finishing a two week stay in one of the cottages. We have had a wonderful time. The place is perfect, the ammeneties are great, breakfast is more than plentiful, and Linda, Peter, and of course their dog Toby have made our stay even better. The best part is that it is a CLEAN pet friendly place that we can go with our dog...and only one block from the beach! We will absolutely be coming back!

Room Tip: Cottage 1 is perfect for a small family. We comfortly slept four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I were a bit skeptical of our first B&B experience, but after going to the Ashling Cottage, we can't wait to return. Peter and Linda, the innkeepers, really go the extra mile to be sure you feel at home. The home was spotless, the service was great and the location, well, location location location! This is a perfect place to unplug and relax, we were 1 block from the beach and didn't need to bring any beach gear as Peter and Linda had plenty of beach gear to go around. It was fun to use their bikes and check out the beautiful homes in spring lake too. If you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy a beautiful beach - this is it. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kturturro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
252 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Park House
Villa Park House
#3 of 8 in Spring Lake
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Cottages

Property: Ashling Cottages
Address: 106 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beach house cottages complete with kitchens and barbecues. Two TVs, air conditioning, bikes, beach badges, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes, toiletries, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Wi-Fi, eat in kitchens, private sitting area, outdoor shower, and house keeping upon departure are included with your reservations. Pet and children friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing