We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Ashling Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashling Cottages
Chester, New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We spent a wonderful weekend at Ashling Cottage. It was the perfect "R&R" we needed. Linda and Peter are warm and friendly inn keepers. If you like a quiet, warm, cozy, and friendly atmosphere, this is the B&B for you. They make you feel right at home. The room was very clean and comfortable. I especially enjoyed being able to see and pick out our room from their website. Their staff were considerate and friendly. The freshly cooked and served breakfasts were delicious. The proximity to the Lake and Beach are great! Everything you need is provided. We know you will enjoy your stay with them.

Room Tip: Check their website. Great pictures to choose the exact room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earb812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Another trip to the Ashling Cottage. Stayed at room 10 on the second floor which was nice and quiet. Complimentary beach badges, very attentive staff, nice breakfast room, and coffee/tea available all day. WiFi was upgraded and better reception throughout the property. I noticed that bikes, beach chairs, and beach umbrellas were much nicer than an ordinary B&B. And there is a garden area to sit and read - what more can you want for a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful, relaxing weekend at Ashling Cottage. Linda and her team were so helpful, welcoming and accommodating. Our room was lovely and clean - the Inn is charming, spacious and just adorable. We loved the bikes and the proximity to the beach, lake and town couldn't be any better.

We loved Spring Lake and look forward to coming back next year, and once again staying at Ashling Cottage. It was perfect.

Room Tip: Explain the type of trip you're planning, and Linda will help you select the perfect room. We lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyL998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We decided to leave NYC for an impromptu visit to Spring Lake last week in mid-August and Ashling Cottage was a terrific choice. Clean and comfortable room w/plush towels and bathrobes, terrific full breakfast and "tea time" snacks made it seem less like a B&B and more like home-away-from home. An accommodating staff and owner who picked us up and dropped us off at the train station and made suggestions to enhance our visit were a real plus. We particularly appreciated the location a block and a half from a fabulous beach and the bikes, beach chairs, beach umbrella and beach towels which were all in excellent condition, particularly for being the end of the season. We're looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank granturista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This B&B has the best of everything you could ask for : comfort, coziness and cleanliness. The Innkeepers and the staff do a great job to make you feel at home, from the time of reservation to the whole stay. Friendly staff, great breakfast and good 'ole hospitality. Highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank O C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamaroneck, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

My husband and I had such a wonderful time that we had convinced my parents to join us for a few days since there were some last minute cancellations. Our "English Rose" room was very comfortable and I loved the ceiling fan in the evening. The B&B was conveniently located just 2 short blocks from the beach. We loved our boardwalk bicycle ride before breakfast. The breakfast had a delicious variety,and held us over until late in the day. Thanks again for sharing the Finnish pancake recipe and for keeping a pitcher of ice coffee for me in the frig. The beach passes, chairs, towels and umbrellas added value to your package. We appreciated your dinner suggestions and really enjoyed the wine/port tasting each evening. We have already recommended your home to our friends and family and look foward to returning in the future. Thanks again to Linda, Peter, your family and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We went to Spring Lake in July looking for a relaxed and calm weekend. We could not have chosen a better place. Spring Lake is so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. The beach and its boardwalk is perfect for long promenades. We stayed at the Ashley Cottage for two nights and found the place perfect. Cozy, clean, peaceful, it was like being at a friends’ home. We loved the porch where we had coffee in the morning and drinks before dinner. A nice way to start your day & evening.
We will definitely go back. Katherine , her husband and their team were very attentive and friendly. They really look after every single detail and ensure you have a very nice, relaxing and unforgettable stay.
Please be aware that some restaurants in Spring Lake do not hold an alcohol license so you might need to bring your own wine (which you might buy at a local liquor store). It is worth to check with Katherine before making a reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terecatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Park House
Villa Park House
#3 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Cottages

Property: Ashling Cottages
Address: 106 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beach house cottages complete with kitchens and barbecues. Two TVs, air conditioning, bikes, beach badges, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes, toiletries, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Wi-Fi, eat in kitchens, private sitting area, outdoor shower, and house keeping upon departure are included with your reservations. Pet and children friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing