We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional - Perfect Compliment to a Beautiful Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
BR, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional - Perfect Compliment to a Beautiful Town”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

Exceptional - The Chateau Inn captures the essence of the Spring Lake experience.

We had an excellent experience at the Chateau Inn. We have been coming to Spring Lake for more than 30 years and this was the first time staying at any hotel in the town. We needed to book a 4 day visit for 4 people. We booked 2 rooms: a luxury suite and a king room with a porch.

It is clear the owners take tremendous pride in the Inn and the guest experience. This is apparent from the external appearance, the greeting received on check in, the availability of coffee, tea, lemonade at all times in the parlor and unique features and spotless appearance of the rooms. Everything is well maintained; the staff was friendly and extremely responsive.

In our view, the availability of bicycles to get around town is essential. First time visitors to Spring Lake may not truly appreciate this feature. Bikes were perfect for riding around Spring Lake with baskets for the women and rear racks for the men. Locks were provided.

Another great feature is that beach chairs, beach towels and a beach bag are provided each day at no extra charge. It was easy to load your bag, get on the bike and take a quick ride to the beach each day.

The parlor is also an excellent feature. Those who want a light breakfast with cereal, bagels, crumb buns can sit in a beautiful setting before heading off to the beach. We particularly enjoyed the unique choices of juice on this particular day. In addition to orange and cranberry juice there was a blueberry and pomegranate juice.

We would highly recommend the Chateau. Call in advance and ask questions. Spring Lake is not your typical shore town and the personnel at the Chateau can help you assess if the town and the Chateau is exactly what you are looking for.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    100
    34
    20
    21
See reviews for
80
229
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Lovely hotel, beautiful decor, wonderful staff. A great place to stay, especially with kids. Not only is the beach minutes away there is a great park located right across the street and a great deli and wine shop a half block away. I had stayed at the Spring Lake Inn, previously, they claim to accomodate young children, however, they do not. The Spring Lake Inn isn't as nice, it has a funeral home like feel to it and the Innkeepers are very rude. We really enjoyed our stay at the Chateau!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMS1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This was our first romantic weekend together... we found the Chateau Inn on line and it sounded perfect. The rate was $300 a night. The room entry was located off of a small porch that overlooked the parking lot. It was stormy when we arrived, so the fact that leaves were strewn all over the floor was somewhat understandable and I cleaned them up myself. The room smelled extremely musty, and although on-line the description said "Newly decorated with fine fabrics and custom furnishings including a comfortable work area", what we got was a room with nice furniture, worn carpeting, outdated bedding and curtains, bugs in the shower, a worn tub and a tiny closet that contained a broken iron. The next morning I asked that the iron be replaced when housekeeping cleaned. Housekeeping came, they made the bed sloppily, did not change the sheets, did not bring another iron, did not vacuum up the leaves off the floor and left the ironing board out! I truly expect more from The Chateau Inn. Nonetheless, we did enjoy our weekend, in spite of the horrible accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luvmyweekends7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

The interior and exterior of the Inn were very nice, but the room was very dated. I stayed in the detached building and the room was no better than ahigway motel. Parking is VERY TIGHT.

Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank ROBERTLOUISSTEVENSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2009

I was pleased by the service and the quality of the rooms at Chateau. Rooms were clean, bathroom especially was nice and luxurious, and food and coffee was excellent. Widescreen TV's with cable too!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We just returned from a two night stay at The Chateau. The room was beautiful with its marble bath, tin ceiling, wet bar with stools, fireplace and lovely leather couch. Everyone at the Inn went out of their way to help us. We took care of our own bags but I did hear the manager on several occasions call for someone to help with the bags of some of the older guests. The afternoon "tea" was a nice touch after a day at the beach. I am a great lover of Cape May, NJ but feel that Spring Lake is much nicer.because it is not as commercial. The homes are mostly owner occupied and have definite pride of ownership showing. I would definitely recommend this Inn to anyone who is traveling.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank aubrysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

I spent two nights at the Chateau Inn and suites with my mother. I booked the room on a special rate of $169 for a double room mid-week in spring. The confirmation email had confusing language, and I had to reconfirm that they were not charging me for 2 rooms for 2 nights, which is the way they put it in the email.

In retrospect, I would never have prepaid the room, and regretted that I had. They charged my mastercard a completely arbitrary amount, and when I checked in I had to help the front desk girl with her calculator because that is the way they figured out the bill. Make sure you TRIPLE check that they are not overcharging you.

Our initial impression of the room was positive. We had very unfortunate weather the two days/nights we were there, so were unable to really enjoy the beach setting. The room was very darkly furnished and heavy-curtained, with glass sliding doors on the ground level, so we basically were living in complete darkness for the time we spent in the room. The bathroom and amenities were nice, and there was a fully equipped kitchen.

Probably my biggest complaint is that the train station is half a block away and LOUD. I was awoken both nights multiple times by the train.

Sticker shock still struck when we checked out and with the yogurt (Dannon Light, 69 cents at your local Safeway) and tea we had added up into our bill and the 15% NJ tax brought our "bargain rate" to more than $400 for two nights.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caligirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
10.8 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Inn & Suites

Property: Chateau Inn & Suites
Address: 500 Warren Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Inn & Suites, situated on the Jersey Shore in the seaside village of Spring Lake, welcomes you to a truly unique hotel experience. The Chateau is nestled between Devine, Potter Park and "The Lake". Just a short stroll away on tree-lined streets flanked by ancient sycamores, you can explore Spring Lake's pristine beaches, ocean pavilions and two mile boardwalk. Specialty shops, boutiques, antique stores, art galleries and award winning restaurants are moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chateau Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Inn And Suites
Chateau Hotel Spring Lake
Chateau Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing