We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay at the Chateau”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay at the Chateau”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My husband and I just got back from a long weekend in Spring Lake. We stayed at the Chateau and enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Robert at the front desk who I believe may also be the manager. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The location is a little bit away from the beach but we drove anyway to explore the neighboring beaches and towns.
The Black Trumpet Restaurant in the Grand Victorian Hotel as very good with excellent music last night(monday). We enjoyed that. the town is very quiet so you have to venture to the neigboring towns for a little excitement.
The only negative thing about the Chateau is the breakfast. Coffee was great but for someone on a diet, there wasn't much of a selection. Just dry cereals, bagels, muffins and coffee cake. They should add some fresh fruit and yogurt daily. We did not utilize the breakfast that came with our room.
I would definitey stay here again and looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meme121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    102
    35
    20
    21
See reviews for
80
236
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Just got back from a long weekend at the Chateau. We stayed in room 11, which was just lovely. Comfy king size bed, with 4 pillows. Nicely decorated room, vintage details with contemporary funiture. Clean bathroom with nice tile work and fixtures. Aveda products in the shower.

The Chateau reminds me more of a boutique hotel than a bed and breakfast. Our room had outdoor access (and yes did have a covered glass door. Not my personal fav, but it is a quiet, small town). There was always someone plesant at the front desk to answer questions, but noone intruding on our vacation. Put the do not disturb sign on your door or housekeeping will stopby early to clean. (They did a great job cleaning up our room and providing fresh towels daily).

Is located near the train, but not so close we could hear or feel the train. We took the train from the city and easily walked to the hotel. It is a bit of a walk to the beach (maybe 15 minutes). The neighborhood is absolutly charming so the walk goes quick. We didn't look into it, but I believe there are bike rentals.

The food was the only downside of this trip, options are limited and unimpressive. Breakfast of fresh pasteries and cereal is provided daily (early 8ish-10ish), not complimentary. You will either need a car or cab to get food after 6. The town shuts down early, but neighboring towns and food options are nearby. (Avoid local diner Who's On Third, waitress messed up our order and then also overcharged our bill).

After checking out of the hotel, the Chateau offered to watch our luggage while we spent one last day at the beach. They kindly provided beach passes and towels, as well as access to a lovely shower post beach.

Look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChicInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2010

In every aspect of our stay at the Chateau was wonderful. You folks made this a fantastic experience for our entire group.I have told anyone who wants a great place to stay they must go to the Chateau. Thank you all again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow123018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We booked rooms for a group of 17 (over 10K) and people flew in from all parts of the country. The first room was smoky and had no windows (340/night) We were moved but not allowed to keep the second room for the length of the stay and were not offered a credit to leave early (which we did anyway) Continental breakfast is 6 dollars. There is no service as far as help with bags, etc.
The town is cute and beach nice and beach peddler bike rental is excellent. Just forget the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familytravel027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergenfield, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

at first my reaction was "looked nicer on the site". that goes for the the town and the inn> due to water shortage all the public lawns, which provide the views from the Inns balconies' were not watered and looked like hay. howere once we took a walk one block away toward the main street and the ocean the town and lake were really picturesque> the lake with its tennis court and playground, and its surrounding homes are beautiful and quiet. The Hotel rents bicyicles fro 15 dollars for the day and guves beach chairs and towels for free. while Nicloe at the front desk said it was about an 8 minute walk to the water, we say take your car. its more like 25 and with beach stuff your better off driving. the beach where parking is easy and free. the hotel also gives you ffree beach passes> our room was a parlor and was decorated beautifully, if not a bit overfurnished. we asked for a microwave and they had one put in the room gratis. the room was clean and the wrap wound balconies were the perfect spot to sit witha book and the complimentary coffee they leave open all day in the bar area. as far as value , it was the same if not cheaper than other bed and breakfasts in the are that looked dated on their sites. the continental breakfast was a little sparse, baked goods and cold cereal. better off bringing yout own supplies as the coffee is free anyway an d they provide small 'dorm' fridges in all the rooms. would definatly come back > not much nightlife here but most entertainment is within 20 minutes>

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joy456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My husband and I were delaying going on a honeymoon until Summer. However, we wanted to spend the night after our wedding in a really nice hotel. We chose the Chateau Inn & Suites because we got married and NJ and we wanted to stay in a NJ beach town.

This was not the place to stay for a special night. The staff was incredibly unfriendly. Even though my husband told the staff ahead of time that we were going to stay there the day after our wedding, they did not even say "congratulations" when we checked in. Instead we were told, "since you just got married we will comp the continental breakfast. Here is your key." It was a Monday in the middle of May. The hotel was empty, but they gave us a terrible room that overlooked the road. My husband and I decided to order in because it was pouring rain and it was our first night as a married couple. The staff was not helpful at all in finding a place to get food and looked annoyed to even give us information.

The next morning we were shocked with the bad quality of the breakfast. It was like they stopped at the supermarket and picked up some donuts, muffins, and dry cereal. And there was not even a "good morning" from the staff.

We were shocked with the poor customer service!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slowinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wantage, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

This was our second stay at The Chateau. The location by the lake and near the Main Street is very nice. Our room was clean and comfortable but a little strange (room was a bit strange at our first stay, too) Lighting poor, plentiful, but for example - bathroom lighting over sink at about 8 1/2 feet high, I"m tall but I still couldn't see well enough to apply makeup. Found myself wandering around to two or three other mirrors in room trying to find better lighting - didn't. Fireplace two feet from bed, literaly. Refrigerator clean and spacious but set too low with control knob removed. Hot water took FOREVER. Phone system in hotel did not work - Mgmt said it was struck by lightening - I don't believe we've had any thundertorms lately (I live in NJ). Air conditioner blew right in your face as you lay in bed with no option to redirect it. No instructions in hotel book for media (DVD, TV, etc) in room

I must list the positives to be fair - bed was comfortable with ample bedding. Very quiet location despite being between a firehouse and a train station. Price was Ok but I didn't like being told "I can give you a special rate for your second night." when it was actually the regular rate that was posted on their website.

I think its time to try one of the other options in Spring Lake which is a beautiful, quiet town.

PS If you're in the area and looking for a restaurant, don't miss Daniel's Bistro in Point Pleasant Beach - wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
260 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
257 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Inn & Suites

Property: Chateau Inn & Suites
Address: 500 Warren Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1233
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Inn & Suites, situated on the Jersey Shore in the seaside village of Spring Lake, welcomes you to a truly unique hotel experience. The Chateau is nestled between Devine, Potter Park and "The Lake". Just a short stroll away on tree-lined streets flanked by ancient sycamores, you can explore Spring Lake's pristine beaches, ocean pavilions and two mile boardwalk. Specialty shops, boutiques, antique stores, art galleries and award winning restaurants are moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Inn And Suites
Chateau Hotel Spring Lake
Chateau Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing