We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Love this B & B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Spring Lake Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Love this B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Another great stay! Just love this B & B. When we arrived, we found out that they were picked by HGTV and that the room we selected - The Seraphim Room - was one of newly designed rooms by the TV show Design Star. I was excited, but a little nervous. But, WOW -the room was so beautiful & so romantic.
Had a peaceful night sleep & we headed down for breakfast . Had the french toast creme brulee / coffee - the best! Headed to the beach for the day. I highly recommend the Spring Lake Inn - it's one block to the ocean and the staff are so nice & helpful. Always a great time!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDnJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    43
    17
    5
    4
See reviews for
42
128
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

What a lovely INN and it was so welcoming! Thank you Barbara and Andy!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirengue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

This was a great place to stay with my family. The room service was excellent and the restaurant was great. I would not recommend any other place to stay with you family. I defiantly plan on coming next year with my family. The room were superb. I had a great night sleep every night and the activities were very enjoyable. The beach is beautiful and is in walking distance from your room. If You plan on going vacation soon, look no further because this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juanita014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

My best friend and I always talked about going away together. We have been friends for 39 years and finally had our weekend getaway at the Spring Lake Inn. We had an awesome time, we are already planning our next trip back.

The place is super clean and the food great! The staff was helpful and very friendly. The Inn had everything we needed, comfortable beds, beautiful sceneries, etc. We agreed to make this our getaway place to relax from our busy, crazy lives.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Spring Lake Inn was lovely. I had a nice rapport with Cheri. She was helpful, friendly and assisted me with moving my walker down the steps of the inn. It was brought inside in the evening. I did experience difficulty with a staff member who had a hip fracture who was not supposed to lift objects. A guest assisted me at that time it was my last evening.
On arrival I extended my stay an additional night. Thursday, I asked if I cancelled Friday night would i lose my money. I would. So this was OK I left the reservation. The weather had become stormy.

Later Thursday evening the owner confronted me and said I could leave Friday AM. I told him 'but its OK I'm staying' !. He then went on to say I had complained to a guest about the breakfast that morning and about the water not being hot for tea.. I informed him there was not a choice that morning for breakfastI. It was french toast in an orange sauce. Not my cup of tea!. I tried it and did not like it. There were cereals, cake etc.
He then mentioned people over 50yrs develop medical conditions. He himself had a knee replacement. He said you just have to get on with it. I told him my medical condition was a little more complicated. ( I wondered why he addressed medical concerns.)
Anyway I guess it was established I was staying the extra night. I told him he made me feel like an ingrate.

Later, after consideration I decided to leave that night on the last train to NYC. I was upset. I was a paying guest. I was free to make a complaint or remarks regarding the service.
Maryanne who was on duty was apologetic and returned my money for the extra night.
Her daughter helped me to the Taxi.
I would not stay at this Inn again. The owner was curt, rude and unfriendly.
When i booked my reservation I informed the staff I had a walker. I did not need it inside the inn.
The major probem was the unpleasant incidence with the owner which upset me so much I felt the need to leave the inn that night.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Offended026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springlakeinn, Owner at Spring Lake Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2011
We have many different types of people of all ages who stay with us. We are not a handicap accessible facility and do inform callers of this. We offer assistance to everyone whenever we are asked. We provided towels and a beach chair daily to this guest, waiting on our front porch. We carried the walker up the steps each time she left and arrived. We provided exceptional service to an individual in need.
Many of our guests enjoy a glass of wine on our expansive porch. Sometimes this changes the personality of a guest.
Our cancellation policy as listed on our website and explained in detail to our callers does not permit a guest to give us a room back because of the weather. This is not fair to any operator of a business. We are not responsible for the weather. When someone does not get their way as in a refund for booking an additional night, they may unfairly voice their displeasure to anyone willing to listen. A regular guest informed us of the annoying negative conversations on our porch while trying to relax and enjoy.
Our specialty items such as peach french toast is offered each day. Guests who do not want this order eggs and omelettes. This guest had an egg white omelette with fresh tomatoes the prior morning served by the owner. Why not ask again?
If you have difficulty with a staff member and the owner, maybe the difficulty is not with those people. In the end someone got their money back and left us with an empty room that we could have booked in our peak season, and we got a false review. " The Inn was a lovely house. Very picturesque well maintained". How does this justify a 1 star rating?
Our entire staff works very hard to please all our guests and takes comments to heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Hill, Va.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Convenient to the beach. Short drive to restaurants/shopping. Nice rooms, breakfast was average. Staff was pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is a perfect place for a mini-getaway- our second time here in as many months. My wife and I brought our 21 year old son, a U.S. Marine, here because we wanted him to savor the simple pleasures of the "good life" in the U.S.A . before he re-deploys to Afghanistan. He (and we) was not disappointed!. We all enjoyed the warm hospitality of Andy, the owner, and his wonderful staff. The hearty breakfasts were delicious, and the afternoon homemade cookies and fresh fruit available throughout the day are nice touches. The rooms are immaculate, it has a wonderful wrap-around porch, and the location is ideal- only a block and a half from the beach. We are definitely planning to return again soon!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teufelhunden428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.6 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#2 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Lake Inn

Property: Spring Lake Inn
Address: 104 Salem Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spring Lake Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Spring Lake Inn, where European-style hospitality, history and contemporary amenities blend together for an unforgettable vacation experience. We’ve been told that our inn is unpretentious, yet elegant, inviting, yet private for those guests who need time and space to unwind. Built in 1888 as the Grand Central Stables of Spring Lake NJ, the inn is only a block from the ocean and the 2-mile boardwalk. We serve sumptuous breakfasts in the grand dining room as well as afternoon tea. Our 80 ft. Victorian porch is irresistible. Each of the 16 spacious guestrooms and suites offers all or a combination of the following luxury features: fireplace, ocean view, Jacuzzi, 4-poster bed, sleigh bed, refrigerator and digital cable TV. Fine dining, boutique shopping and spa pampering are only blocks away. Spring Lake New Jersey is one of America’s most genteel seashore towns where time can stand still at our “European Mansion by the Sea.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Spring Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spring Lake Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing