We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lilac Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming and Cozy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Went with a friend to the beach for a quick, last minute getaway and stayed at the White Lilac Inn. Marie was a wonderful host and made us feel right at home. We lucked out and got the room at the top with a fireplace and large deck. It was a very comfortable room, large and spacious. The deck was a great added bonus. We didn't make it to breakfast but had an apricot muffin and it was awesome. The Inn is nicely located right by the Lake on a quiet street. We really enjoyed our stay here and would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: the Room at the Top is worth the extra money as it is large and has a deck. The Bonnie Brae is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EG509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    28
    4
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
130
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brielle, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This is the second time we have used the White Lilac Inn to accommodate an overflow of family visitors and everyone loves their stay here. One is transported back to the grand summer days of Victorian Spring Lake with the Inn's decor and breezy porches. Rooms are clean and cosy. Close to beach and town with beach badges and towels provided. Parking provided on premises which is plus in the crowded summer months in Spring Lake.
Breakfasts were delicious and the "sun room" where breakfast is served is darling. Mari is a gracious hostess providing helpful information on goings-on around the area. Highly recommend a visit.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed at the White Lilac Inn over 4th July for 3 nights with a friend. Mari was a wonderful host, had lots of suggestions for us and was very friendly. The room was nice, very clean and the air-conditioning was amazing after being out in the hot weather. Breakfast was delicious and they were more than happy to accommodate changes to our meal. We had a nice afternoon drinking wine, eating cheese and reading on the balcony of the inn. Beach passes, towels and chairs to the beautiful beach were provided and there is a great food truck by the beach entrance to grab lunch or a snack between swims. The thing that made the weekend was the bikes that were available to us since we didn't have a car (caught the train from Manhattan) - the ride to the beach was 3 mins and the ride into town less than 10. Spring Lake is a gorgeous town so we had fun exploring and looking at all the houses on our bike rides. Overall we had a great weekend and I wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Enjoyed all amenities. All were very helpful and pleasant. Close to beach and easy to
get to and quick. Clean rooms.Very good breakfasts. Good restaurants nearby. Easy parking. Very homey.

Do not want to write 200 words.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed in the Vermont Cabin Room, and it was very cute and artistically decorated. The Inn is a historic establishment with old world charm. It is not far from the beach, and beach badges, towels and other amenities are provided to guests. Great breakfast and the owner is lovely. Highly recommend if you are looking for a serene stay in the beautiful Spring Lake.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

My stay at the White Lilac Inn brought back such wonderful memories because my mother, Berneice Burke and I owned the property years ago when it was named The Bonnie Brae. Mari has transformed this historic Inn into a beautiful, romantic getaway for all to enjoy. She makes you feel at home with her warmth and hospitality and loves to share the history of all the previous owners. Each room has a theem and the breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: the white lilac suite is the best of all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonnie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

I have stayed at many Inns in Spring Lake, but whenever I come back I will return to the White Lilac Inn. The Inn is beautiful and Mari fills it with many "touches" to make her guests comfortable (including pre made ice packs for our coolers). I stayed in the "Room at the Top" and enjoyed the private porch with a large awing that enabled us to sit outside and sip wine during a rain storm. There are beach tags and beach towels and bikes. The Spring Lake boardwalk (and surrounding boardwalks of Belmar and Sea Girt) has been repaired and the beaches are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lilac Inn

Property: White Lilac Inn
Address: 414 Central Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1020
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lilac Inn, circa 1880, is located in a peaceful corner of Spring Lake NJ, just a stones throw from Wreck Pond, and only a few blocks to the Atlantic Ocean.This Jersey shore bed and breakfast inn has eight charming air-conditioned guest rooms perfect for a relaxing getaway. Fireplaces in every room and wonderful modern amenities such as, private porches, double jacuzzi tubs and that step back in time to an unhurried atmosphere...yes, you can totally unwind! Experience the romance of the Victorian Treasure suite, where proposals are made and Honeymoons and Anniversaries celebrated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lilac Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing