We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”
Review of White Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lilac Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The total experience along with the serenity of the suronudings makes the White Lilac Inn a perfect place to call home for your next vacation. The inn keepers and help were extreemly friendly and accomodating to every need. The ambiance of the Inn made it one of the most relaxing vacations we have experienced in years. What can be better, great Inn, Great Beach, New Jersey/New York food, the Yankees and of course the boardwalks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkjets35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2010

I chose the White Lilac Inn after checking on line for B & B's in Spring Lake. The Inn looked inviting and comfortable. We weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We went for our Valentine's Day, which had to take place a week later due to work schedules. The innkeeper is a lovely, helpful person. The rooms are tastefully decorated as is the whole inn. Our bed was very comfortable, even for me, someone with back pain. We had a fireplace, which was very romantic. I can only imagine how lovely the place must be in summer ! I would recommend this inn to anyone looking for an affordable getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laine209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My wife and I are never disappointed when we spend a relaxing weekend at the Shore when lodging at the White Lilac. Great quiet location, with excellent service and a very graciuos host. It's always a memorable trip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armandgallucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

There is no excuse for canned peaches when there are delicious, fresh, Jersey fruit widely available. Breakfast seems to have devolved from the inspiring and creative meals described by previous guests. The muffins were nice, however.

We were very disappointed in the Inn. When I called to make the reservation, Mari did not return the phone call. When we considered staying another night, she did not attempt to get back to us. In any number of ways, we did not experience any of the hospitality raved about by other reviewers. Her advise on restaurants was not accurate, and our room was cramped and dark.

Be aware that when the room is advertised as having access to a semi private porch, this means that you have to go out to the hallway to a very specific part of the porch (even if no one is using any of the other porches) and sit on a porch that overlooks the parking lot. It is also true that it overlooks the train, which goes past all day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorrytosay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 8 August 2010

We are so sorry you felt you had a bad experience. ..Your suggestion of fresh peaches instead of canned is certainly logical, this particular recipe has been tested both ways and we found that it seems to work best with the canned fruit for sweetness and consistancy.
Not sure what happened with returning your phone call? I apologize for missing your phone call and any delay in getting back to you, We spend a great deal of time on the phone for our business and do try to keep up with the calls, your call is important to us... Our first floor porch wraps around the Inn and anyone may use this. Our second and third floor porches are either private or semi- private and the hall landing provides access from the hall on both the East & West side porches..
We would like to extend an opportunity to make another stay more enjoyable for you and would ask that you contact me directly..., 732-449-0211
Sincerely,
Mari (Innkeeper)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

My wife and I decided to take a last minute trip for the weekend to escape the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. We chose Spring Lake because it is beautiful and tranquil town on the Jersey Shore. We chose the White Lilac Inn because we were intrigued by its description as romantic Victorian inn with porches, fireplaces, and jacuzzi's. We booked two nights in the White Lilac Suite with the Romance Package that was offered on their website.
We arrived on a late Friday afternoon to be greeted by Mari, the innkeeper. She had just made some fresh lemonade and cookies which really hit the spot for us. She very carefully gave us a tour of the inn and answered all of our questions about the Spring Lake area. Mari showed us upstairs to the suite which was just gorgeous. My wife's face lit up as she saw the 4 poster bed decorated in a white room with a fireplace and large jacuzzi for two. The staff had a chilled bottle of champagne and beautiful roses waiting by our bed as part of the Romance package. Mari asked us about our dinner plans, gave us several suggestions and then booked a table for us at the Avon Pavilion in Avon (where she said that she could get us a great table, more later). She then left us after she was sure we had all questions answered.

We decided to open up the bottle of champagne and sit on our own private porch with a view of the pond. The breeze was blowing and the cold champagne made us quickly forget the haste of the city we had just left.

We had an unbelievable dinner at the Avon Pavilion that night where Mari had gotten us a table with a beautiful view of the ocean and where they were expecting us. Be sure to order from their specials menu and don't forget the dessert tray. We then went on a beautiful walk on the beach with the ocean air blowing and the cool water at our feet.

We went back to the inn and retired to our room. It was a cool night so we decided to turn the fireplace on low and take a jacuzzi bath. Very relaxing and very romantic. It reminded us of our honeymoon suite from our marriage night.

We made sure to get up in the morning in time for breakfast by 9:30 AM. The White Lilac has a very cute breakfast area with tables for 2 and 4. The staff quickly offered us juice and coffee as soon as we arrived and had warm raisin-carrot muffins waiting for us. We had french toast and sausage for the main entree with some fresh fruit garnish. We shared some words of wisdom with the other local guests about where each of us went to dinner the night before.

Mari strolled in after preparing breakfast and asked each of us about our plans for the day. She gave us some wonderful tips about some things to do that we did not know about. We decided to take a bike ride to the beach with her bicycles and she even had free beach badges for each of us to get on the beach. We spent a lovely afternoon on the Spring Lake beach that day followed by a trip to the Spring Lake business district for some unique shopping.

We went to a play that night at the playhouse where Mari got us a reservation and then we had dinner at the Old Mill. Another great restaurant.

We were set to leave on Sunday but decided that we were having such a great time that we would see if we could stay another night. Mari said the suite was booked but she could move us to the Great Gatsby room the next night. We wanted to stay to see the Authors & Inns tour with Mary Higgins Clark the next day and took Mari up on her offer. The Gatsby Room was a totally different look decorated out of the 20's.

We also went to the NJ Seafood Festival on Sunday morning and then to the book signing by Mary Higgins Clark and her daughter. Both were a great surprise.

We had two more great breakfasts and nights at White Lilac before reluctantly leaving on Monday morning. If you have not been to Spring Lake, I can say that I cannot think of a prettier, more relaxing town on the Jersey Shore. Mari and her staff at the White Lilac Inn helped create a wonderful weekend for us and we very much enjoyed our stay at the Inn. We will be sure to return in the future. It really did feel like we were on our honeymoon again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

My two, long-time friends and I decided to schedule a Girls' Weekend. One of us stumbled upon the White Lilac Inn in Spring Lake, NJ through an Internet search. We had a fabulous time due largely to the wonderful service and advice that Mari, the Inn’s owner, provided. Even before we arrived, Mari took the time to chat with us by phone to ensure that all of our questions were answered. During our stay at the Inn, the service continued to be enthusiastic and attentive.

We had a lovely third-floor room (Great Gatsby Room) that was decorated in that theme. The room, which reflected a wonderful attention to detail, was very roomy, meticulously clean, and well-laid out. It had a queen bed; a day-bed; two, very comfy swivel chairs adorned with pillows and throws; a small desk; TV; dresser; and armoire. The bathroom was a good size, with a nice Jacuzzi tub, and a mini-frig.

Breakfast also reflected the great attention to detail, with lovely flowered place mats and napkins. The omelets and pancakes/sausages we had for our two breakfasts were delicious. Relaxing on the porch in the evening was another highlight of our stay.

On Mari's advice we took a tour on Sunday afternoon of ten other B&Bs. All three of us agreed that the White Lilac Inn was the best, and that we really lucked out in our choice. We highly recommend the White Lilac Inn. If you are fortunate enough to stay there, make sure you take the opportunity to pet Buddy - the Inn's sweet mascot – and to say “Hi” to Mari for us.

Chris, Pat, and Nancy

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrChristineLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lilac Inn

Address: 414 Central Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1020
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range: £170 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lilac Inn, circa 1880, is located in a peaceful corner of Spring Lake NJ, just a stones throw from Wreck Pond, and only a few blocks to the Atlantic Ocean.This Jersey shore bed and breakfast inn has eight charming air-conditioned guest rooms perfect for a relaxing getaway. Fireplaces in every room and wonderful modern amenities such as, private porches, double jacuzzi tubs and that step back in time to an unhurried atmosphere...yes, you can totally unwind! Experience the romance of the Victorian Treasure suite, where proposals are made and Honeymoons and Anniversaries celebrated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lilac Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing