We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 20th Anniversary”
Review of White Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Lilac Inn
Ranked #4 of 7 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2010

My wife,Sandra and I stayed here on Oct.8th for the second time. Our only misgiving was that Mari and Buddy were not there when we were. We missed them. The Inn is an excellent play to stay. The location is great as is the Inn itself. Very charming and quaint. Spring Lake is a great place to be. We will surely be back again. Thanks Mari, Greg Henderson and Sandra Pruzansky

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elfmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for White Lilac Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

We planned a peaceful getaway to the 'white lilac room' and had hoped to enjoy sitting out on the balcony, opening the french doors at night to feel the breeze, and to enjoy the jacuzzi for two. Unfortunately, that experience did not materialize. Small rooms are common in B&B's from the 1880's, but this room had a bathroom the size of a closet and was almost impossible to navigate in. But putting the bathroom size aside, what really bothered us the most was the lack of attention to details.

We checked in on a day where the temperature was 90, hot, and humid. No one had turned on the air conditioner for us so we entered a room that was sweltering. Being that we were the only guests in the inn at the time, I couldn't imagine why this detail was overlooked. I expected to walk in and see a beautiful room with a big jacuzzi and a beautiful poster bed. That is what the photos looked like and it said 'jacuzzi for two'. Instead, we walked into a hot room where the jacuzzi was right in the middle of the room (and only big enough for one adult) and the poster bed was bare and drab. No one had even bothered to put up any drapery on the poster bed, so it looked lackluster and unromantic. On top of that, one of the window curtains was also hung wrong side out so it appeared that whoever put the room together did not care about its appearance.

All night long, the outside lights were kept on and so you had to keep the curtains closed to keep the lights from shining into the room. As though that wasn't enough of a problem, the NJ Transit train runs only 1/2 block from the B&B so almost all night long we were awakened by the train whistles. I went to sit out on the balcony area to enjoy the fresh air, and noticed that no one had bothered to put the cushions on the chairs for us nor did anyone sweep off the debris or cobwebs from the balcony. All of these things were very depressing and did not make me feel like any attention was given to appearance or comfort.

Because we slept so poorly and were awakened by the train whistles all night long, we decided to leave the next day and to go home early. We spoke to a staff member and asked if we could speak to Mari about the situation but were informed that she was not up yet. So we ate our breakfast, signed the bill, and packed to go home. We were there until 10 AM, but Mari never bothered to see us or inquire as to what was wrong. So we left the 'white lilac inn' with the distinct impression that our comfort was not important to the innkeeper. Overall, it was a very disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SLevittNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 October 2010

I am sorry that you seemed to disapprove of everything and were disappointed that there were no other guests staying that particular day. It was right after a Holiday weekend and the room you choose has the same bed in the picture, a 40gallon Jacuzzi tub, however, the curtains are different then the photo. They are room darkening to help keep out he sun and the A/C was there for you to use as you wished, but you kept the doors open to the porch... It is important to us that our guests enjoy their stay and I am usually available for my guests.
The day you spoke to my staff member I had been up as usual and had the early bird coffee out for my guests by 7:30am.
When Lara, my staff member came in she took over, which is her usual routine? Preparing breakfast and assisting guests. I did go back upstairs and was not available for you due to a Migraine headache, so I am sorry I did not get to speak with you, however, Lara had asked one of the couple "If everything was alright?" And she was told "It had nothing to do with the Inn, but one of them did not sleep well and was not feeling well and that on occasion they suffered from chronic facial pain and just wanted to go home." Your comfort is important to us.
We did not charge you for the second night we were concerned that a guest was not well. Once again I am sorry for your disappointment!
Sincerely,
Mari.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

You will feel very welcome at White Lilac. The proprietors are concerned about where you will dine that night and making sure that you know where the bikes are parked as well as assuring that you enjoyed the breakfast. (The waffles one day, and omelet the next: they were delicious.) Mari and Franke genuinely concerned themselves with every aspect of our stay, but there was no hovering as you get soimetimes at a B&B. My wife and our children, 21 & 17, enjoyed the quiet street that is still a brief bike ride from the beach. We will visit again -- unless this enthusiastic review and the others below have the effect of shutting us out!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borninthebronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

The total experience along with the serenity of the suronudings makes the White Lilac Inn a perfect place to call home for your next vacation. The inn keepers and help were extreemly friendly and accomodating to every need. The ambiance of the Inn made it one of the most relaxing vacations we have experienced in years. What can be better, great Inn, Great Beach, New Jersey/New York food, the Yankees and of course the boardwalks.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkjets35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I chose the White Lilac Inn after checking on line for B & B's in Spring Lake. The Inn looked inviting and comfortable. We weren't disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

We went for our Valentine's Day, which had to take place a week later due to work schedules. The innkeeper is a lovely, helpful person. The rooms are tastefully decorated as is the whole inn. Our bed was very comfortable, even for me, someone with back pain. We had a fireplace, which was very romantic. I can only imagine how lovely the place must be in summer ! I would recommend this inn to anyone looking for an affordable getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laine209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

My wife and I are never disappointed when we spend a relaxing weekend at the Shore when lodging at the White Lilac. Great quiet location, with excellent service and a very graciuos host. It's always a memorable trip!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armandgallucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
51 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
416 reviews
6.0 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lilac Inn

Address: 414 Central Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1020
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range: £193 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lilac Inn, circa 1880, is located in a peaceful corner of Spring Lake NJ, just a stones throw from Wreck Pond, and only a few blocks to the Atlantic Ocean.This Jersey shore bed and breakfast inn has eight charming air-conditioned guest rooms perfect for a relaxing getaway. Fireplaces in every room and wonderful modern amenities such as, private porches, double jacuzzi tubs and that step back in time to an unhurried atmosphere...yes, you can totally unwind! Experience the romance of the Victorian Treasure suite, where proposals are made and Honeymoons and Anniversaries celebrated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lilac Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing