We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Mex Food!”

Jose's Mexican food
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Spring Lake
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yummy Mex Food!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This no frills BYOB Mexican place has great food at reasonable prices. It's a no frills place with a few tables. We got take out as were staying at a nearby inn. If you like Mexican - this is a great choice. Salsa/Pico was solid good; chips were ok.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mvanessa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    38
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
westwood, nj
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mexican Food at Its Best”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having been to the Spring Lake area several times over the past 4 years, my wife and I have never been disappointed by the meals prepared for us at Jose's. Portions are very generous, especially for the price. Don't be fooled by the outside appearance of the restaurant as the food can't be beat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank glsjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Lake, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal!!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have gone to Jose's as long as they have been here. It is a small place and if you get there during the busy times, you may have a wait but...WAIT! It is fresh, delicious and you get plenty of food. Everything is made to order and they accommodate any changes you may have. We have had several different meals, from their fajitas to the chile relleno to the taco salad - all amazing and this is true mexican food. Not fancy, but who cares, it's great. They give you homemade Salsa and chips that are delicious. BYOB but they are all very accommodating when you do, never a problem. If you haven't tried Jose's - please do!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love me some good mexican food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Joses is always our "go to" place for dinner. It is reasonable and always good. Its a byob, which makes it even more affordable.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staysee91_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Jose's is True Mexican Food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a tiny, maybe 9 table restaurant that has served the Shore area for years. The food is authentic Mexican, and I know because I have been to Mexico. It is not greasy, they serve very large portions, the prices are low, and the food is fresh. The salsa is bursting with cilantro that comes with the tortilla chips when you first sit down. Try the fried plantains-they are great as an appetizer or as a dessert. Some reviewers here complained about the walls being dirty, the servers not smiling, very basic tables and chairs, the bathroom in the dining room. Geez, quit crying and enjoy the food. None of those comments are true. Is it decorated out of Home & Garden? Heck no. Is it quaint? Heck yes.Get there early for dinner in the summer because there's a wait due to small amount of tables. BYOB, but if you don't drink alcohol, try their flavored fruit sodas and Coca Cola in a bottle. Viva Jose's!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whodunit29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jose's Mexican food also viewed

 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Jose's Mexican food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing