We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A not so hidden gem!”
Review of Salt

Salt
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in Stanhope
Price range: US$0 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A not so hidden gem!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I finally decided to stop in to this cute restaurant/pub we've passed for years driving to and from our kids' camp in Stillwater, NJ. I'm so mad we didn't do that 10 years ago because this adorable - and tasty - bistro pub would have been regular stop. The beer list is extensive and excellent, the food wonderful - with lots of healthy alternatives, live music delightful and it appeared to be child friendly to boot. We will definately be back and have already recommended the place to the staff at the camp for their nights out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grifjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    25
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Stanhope”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

After looking at a house we decided to stop for dinner at Salt after reading some good reviews on Trip Advisor.
It was a quaint place with a lot of charm.
We started with a pulled pork egg roll as an appetizer with coleslaw. It was delicious.
Our entrees were the Ahi Tuna Special, Meatloaf, Fish and Chips and the Balbriggan Salmon.
All of the entrees were expertly prepared with sides that perfectly complimented the course.
We all truly enjoyed our dinners.
The staff was courteous and knowledgeable and the place was very clean.
I will certainly return again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkkalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional service; fun and interesting menu; terrific food”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Early-bird dinner last night after shopping. Great choice for a fine, casual meal. Had been there before, but usually went away feeling a bit crowded and tired of the menu. But, glad to see many new items, plus a really neat giant chalkboard affixed to the wall, showing all of the specials. Tasty hummus was brought to our table and our appetizer was a favorite of fried goat cheese in a balsamic reduction with pear slices. We had the DIY Fish Tacos and a summer salad with broiled scallops at our server's suggestion. Great idea...The soup was outstanding - chickpea with a flavorful curry or cumin broth.The wait staff was very friendly from start to finish. The beer choices, as always, were diverse and appealing. Learned that they'll have special culinary nights and will try to go again soon. Thumbs up!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dunndesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We ate there once after reading all the hype. Had fish and chips and a burger. The fish and chips were greasy and cold, the burger tasted like cardboard. Have you people who think this place is good ever eaten good food? You have to be kidding me. This is no gourmet restaurant period. Frankly, I found it to be horrible. Might as well microwave a sock. The only good outcome was we didn't have to pay for such an awful experience in celebration of our wedding anniversary.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun pub with gourmet food”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Crazy little hole in the wall, packed to the gills with people, beer, live music and great gourmet food. Fun.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank appleadayMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salt also viewed

 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing