We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whistling Swan Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington(Mount Arlington)
US$148
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Motel(Andover)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
191
24
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
24
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh pointvalley suitebed breakfastsgift certificatejacuzzi tubnew jerseybreakfast was deliciousthird floorwrap around porchr rother gueststhought of everythingcomforts of homeanniversary weekendgreat cookthoroughly enjoyed our staya wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This B&B is the place to stay when visiting northern NJ. The 100 + year old B&B has been restored and furnished to reflect the grandeur of the past. A large porch includes rockers and hammock to relax. In addition a nicely landscaped lawn area has a relaxing sitting area. One can also relax in the large parlor sipping sherry or eating the fresh baked cookies. Complimentary snacks and drinks are also available.
Guest innkeepers, Rosie & John, were very hospital. Breakfast is served buffet style. Rosie's croissant french toast was delicious.
For those who like to walk, the nearby Bell's Mansion is a beautifully restored restaurant and bar with excellent food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VikingAsheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Our stay at the Whistling Swan exceeded our expectations. We were looking for a romantic, quiet getaway without the kids and we got it. The hammock on the porch was one of our favorite spots. The Inn keepers John and Rosie were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlotk73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at this bed and breakfast. The innkeepers were away, but the people they selected to fill in for them were especially courteous and went out of their way to help us with our food preferences and in every other way. We met some fascinating people who were staying at the B&B at the same time. I enjoyed being able to have a homemade dessert before going to sleep, with some sherry and other drinks also available. My only minor complaint is that the wonderful old piano is terribly out of tune.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Very comfortable, beautifully appointed, breakfast was great. The other guests were very friendly and Liz is one of a kind. My partner and I really enjoyed our (too brief) stay.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank pauldionne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Whistling Swan Inn was terrific. We were celebrating our 45th wedding anniversary. Our breakfasts were extraordinary. One morning we had blueberry cumb french toast- very different, not made with slices of bread, the second morning we had a cheese quiche- delicious, and, our last morning was my favorite- pancakes to order- I had blueberry (my favorite fruit), and my husband had plain, with real maple syrup. In the afternoon the snacks changed daily - homemade chocolate chip cookies, blueberry crumb bars - the best. Our room was called the Walnut Valley Suite. We had a view of the gardens, and, quiet main street. Our inn keeper, Liz Armstrong was extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants and parks to hike in, and, the highlight - Lakota Wolf Preserve, where there are different types of wolves. We had massages right in our room - really relaxing, I fell asleep after, something I normally do not do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurselindag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews