We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Bell's Mansion

Bell's Mansion
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Stanhope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Bell's Mansion was very near The Whistling Swan Inn where we stayed during our visit. The food was delicious with very generous portions. Dinner, drinks, and tip for 2 was approximately $100. Will definitely eat here again the next time we are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hurricanekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellsmansion1, Manager at Bell's Mansion, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with Bell's Mansion and we look forward to having you on your next trip back in the area!!!

Anna Kaczynski
Bell's Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    73
    26
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not so happy happy hour...”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went to the bar for happy hour specials, but the bar tender was too busy stocking the bar to pay much attention to us. We ended up having one order of steamed mussel, one order of pierogis and two glasses of wine. When the steamed mussels arrived, she forgot to include the bread that we asked for. By the time we got the bread, the mussels were finished. When we asked for the check, we were charged for two orders of the mussels. We figured that was her tip and left the bar without feeling happy about the hour we spent there. Even though the manager does read these reviews and responds, she doesn't fix the issues. The food here on other occasions has been uneventful, old school and there not many healthy choices on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NJCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellsmansion1, Manager at Bell's Mansion, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
NJCarl,

Thank you for joining Bell's Mansion during happy hour in our Tap Room. I greatly appreciate your review however I do wish that you had mentioned your dissatisfaction to the on duty manager during your stay with us so that we could fix the error our bartender had made.

As per your view on our menu items being uneventful and not healthy - I am sorry that you feel this way. Our menu is an extensive selection of flavorful and healthy meals which are all 100% homemade using locally grown produce.

I would really appreciate it if you could email me at [bellsmansion@gmail.com] with the time and date of your experience so that I will know with which bartender to discuss such a situation.

Again, I apologize that you did not enjoy your time with us, but I do hope that you will join us back at Bell's Mansion.

Sincerely,
Anna Kaczynski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blairstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Food was okay, but the waiter kept disappearing for periods of time. Value was poor for the experience

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LarrySchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellsmansion1, Manager at Bell's Mansion, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
LarrySchu,

Thank you for your feedback and for dining at Bell's Mansion! I sincerely apologize for the lack of exceptional service during your dining experience with us. If you could please help me learn of the situation a bit more by emailing me at [bellsmansion@gmail.com] with details regarding your server, time and date of your stay, I would greatly appreciate it. I thank you in advance and wish that you will give Bell's Mansion another try!

Anna Kaczynski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saddle Brook, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Historic Setting”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

When entering the Mansion you are welcomed by the Owner. We decided to go to the patio for some drinks waiting for our friends to arrive. Every one in the place from the Bar, Dining Room, Patio is very friendly, polite and especially cheerful. Sitting on the patio you can walk down to the garden and see all the vegetables that are grown there. All the vegetables are cooked fresh. Food is delicious, very hard to decide what you want to eat. Place is clean. Plus the Patio is a Beautiful setting. We will be back there again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellsmansion1, Manager at Bell's Mansion, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Ruthann!

Thank you so much for dining at Bell's Mansion!! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful patio! We strive to make sure our customers always feel at home and welcome!! We hope to see you again soon!!

Anna Kaczynski
Manager, Bell's Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service And Food”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Out waitress, Alexi, neat, polite and cheerful. Went out of her way to accommodate me with a special request.
The seafood meal was delicious however 3 shrimp and 3 scallops was skimpy for the $21.00price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank W_H_Kichline_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellsmansion1, Manager at Bell's Mansion, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you so much for dining at Bell's Mansion! We are happy to hear that Alexa had accommodated your special request and that you had enjoyed your meals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bell's Mansion also viewed

Netcong, Morris County
 
Stanhope, NJ
Netcong, Morris County
 

Been to Bell's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing