We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Visit and Will Be Sure To Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stockton Inn

Stockton Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
Stockton Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Stockton
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Contemporary, American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge St
Description: Established in 1710, this is the inn that was immortalized by Richard Rodgers in the song "There's a small hotel with a wishing well" sung in the Broadway play On Your Toes. The inn was first built as a private residence and is believed to have been converted in 1832. Come and explore the over 300 year old Stockton Inn, nestled in the quaint borough of Stockton, New Jersey. Romantic dining is served in the exquisite mural rooms with fireside seating during the colder months. In the warmest months of the year, savor your meal and your surroundings while dining on the patio alongside two waterfalls and beautifully integrated gardens.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“First Time Visit and Will Be Sure To Return”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Somehow I never came across this restaurant until recently. We were lucky enough to sit outside by the waterfall. Just that beautiful sound alone was enough for me. The food was amazingly delicious. The salad was crisp and the dressing divine. Our dinners were perfectly cooked and presented nicely. We saved room for dessert and we were not disappointed. The service was average, nothing special. If they train their waitresses and waiters some more this restaurant would move up the list. Looking forward to a return trip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ViennaSunflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    68
    44
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attitude Really Counts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Nancy and I selected the Stockton Inn for our 50th Anniversary because we celebrated our 25th there. When reservations were being made for a party of 16, our friend was told they had a limit of up to 8 guests. The reservationist needed to check with the owner and would call back. Given our special circumstances they made an exception. Everyone raved about their meals. Ambiance ... it is THE Stockton Inn. Our server, Michael, was over the top. His most negative expression, which was uttered only once, was "please let me check on that". Our 25th was special. Our 50th even more so. Thank you owner, chef and staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnVK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quiet Gem on the Delaware”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This old inn on the Delaware River in Stockton N.J. is a delightful place to dine with a couple or group. There were 9 of us for our recent visit and the cocktails were excellent, I had a charming summer beer, and the food was liked throughout the group. I started with a quite good version of clams casino and then had the pan seared diver scallops over a herb risotto cake with green and white asparagus. This was an excellent dish. Others had sea bass, salmon, the pasta special as well as there tavern fare chicken pot pie. All were well receive, save the pot pie which while good did not quite match a more famous version in south Jersey. Most of us enjoyed one of the homemade ice creams and sorbets that the new pastry chef concocted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumneytown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A refreshing experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Six friends met here for lunch on a sunny, warm Memorial day. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and promptly seated at our table on the covered patio. The outdoor setting was beautiful with an abundance of greenery and a delightful waterfall. Our waiter was most attentive, professional, and efficient. Yet he was friendly enough so that we enjoyed some light hearted banter during the course of our visit. We shared several appetizers that we all thoroughly enjoyed remarking how tasty, innovative and freshly prepared they were though the clams casino were a little on the chewy side. The entrees were also warmly received. Our servers knew where to place our plates without having to ask. There was none of "who gets the pickled pigs feet" here! The staff here are proud of their restaurant and strive to ensure that their guests have a pleasurable visit. Oh, don't pass up the splendid pasteries for dessert!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bretseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Change of Heart.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We decided to go again to the Stockton Inn for dinner. Friday evening, 5 people, with no reservation. We were hoping the restaurant wouldn't be too crowded, and it wasn't.

We arrived at 6:30pm on May 30th. We were happy to see that there were more empty tables than tables that were occupied. We entered and asked for a table. "Do you have a reservation?" "No" we responded. This has been the process every time we come here, and then, we are seated. "We don't have anything available until 7:45" was the response. What? We all stood and looked around at the almost completely empty dining room....we had walked through the almost-empty patio to get there....we were all shocked and just looked at each other in confusion. I said to the woman behind the counter "but you have all these empty tables" and she just continued to look at me. I asked her if they were short of staff....another woman who had walked up said that they would not seat us because they want all of their guests to have the same kitchen experience and they wouldn't be seating us until 7:45.

Really! That's what she said! We were like....wow....okay.....and we left and went elsewhere. Coincidentally, we went to another establishment, well-known to us, and were greeted by the owner. We told her of our experience, and she said she was down one chef that night, so she shortened her menu. Brilliant! Why would you turn away customers, especially since only 40% of your tables are occupied, and I believe that to be a generous estimate.

I know that this establishment has changed owners several times in recent years. My niece held her wedding there 3 years ago, and since that time they have stopped hosting weddings. Perhaps they are having management/staffing issues, making it difficult for them to function well. I'm not certain what the situation is, but the haughty demeanor of the staff who turned us away is enough reason for me to not go back. Good food is not a good enough reason to patronize an establishment that doesn't value it's clientele. We won't go back...there are plenty of other restaurants in this area who have food as good or better, who welcome and value our business.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SonriseBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stockton Inn also viewed

 

Been to Stockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing