We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd times a charm!”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Another concert in Bucks County led us back to a night at the Woolverton. As soon as we pulled in the driveway the stress melted away. The property is stunning, even with old man winter holding back the blooms. There were signs of spring everywhere. The homemade cookies, biscotti and marshmallows were laid out and delicious. We chose Letitia's suite again and were not disappointed. Our room was serene, well appointed and the steam shower and jetted tub we devine. My only complaint is we had to leave. Worth evey penny. Great romantic getaway. No TV, great selection of CD's and books, close to shopping, dining, biking, hiking...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Thank you so much for returning to the Woolverton Inn. Stress levels do have a tendency to go to the wayside with a short getaway. Also the good news is Spring is finally here and everything is in bloom! Thanks gain for returning to the inn and for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
There are newer reviews for Woolverton Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014

We enjoy coming to the area every now and then from the city and decided to stay at this inn based on excellent reviews and beautiful pictures on the website. Although our stay was ok and enjoyable and overall the place is quite nice with no major issues, we were disappointed. All the photos portray the place as being quite renovated and rooms as simply gorgeous: in reality the place is very dated, everything ranging from doors to beds is squeaky... It just looks and feels like an old grandma's house, not a renovated B&B place for a romantic getaway. There is nothing wrong with that per se, but it felt like advertisements was not representative.

And most importantly with the way the place it, we felt it was grossly overpriced. A very simple room we stayed at was about $260 a night. (over $600 for 2 nights with taxes.) Just not worth it. Under $150 a night would have been perfectly reasonable. Breakfast is ok, but nothing to write home about. If you like lots of sweet stuff and weak coffee, then you might enjoy it.

Another thing that irked us is that the room we booked initially was just way below our expectations (the bed was tiny, no way it could sleep two comfortably - and we are small!), so we asked if any of the other rooms were available and it turned out that another room had a cancellation and they couldn't fill it - so we moved. Although I did not "expect" it, it would have been a nice gesture to not charge us the difference in rate as a courtesy.

I rarely write reviews, but just had to mention my opinion, as all the other reviews were so overwhelmingly positive and I felt that some of the things do need to be mentioned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Woolverton Inn.
We are glad you found your stay enjoyable but you felt that the inn was dated. The inn was built in 1792 so it is very challenging to make the place feel modern. We do have antiques throughout the inn but also have amenities that are very up to date. The squeaky bed that you mentioned is actually a new Westin Heavenly mattress and box spring. We also provide Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy towels and Aveda and Gilchrest and Some toiletries. Replacing doors from the 1800’s would be a sin.
The weekend you stayed with us we did have a last minute cancellation due to an illness. We were sold out so that became the only room available for an upgrade. The possibility existed to book the room for full price. Complimentary upgrades are given based on availability which is normally during the week when the inn is generally not as busy.
Again we thank you for your review and staying at the Woolverton Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We just got back from a night at the Wolverton Inn. We're still full from the delicious 3-course breakfast with a deep dish western omelette and homemade potato pancakes, ghiardelli hot chocolate with homemade marshmallows and baked goods--including some of the best chocolate chip cookies we've ever had. So the "breakfast" part rocked. As did the snacks. And the "bed" part was top-notch, as well.

We stayed in the Balustrade room, as it's been just a brutal winter and we wanted to enjoy the warmth of a fireplace and double jet whirlpool tub. It was warm this weekend, and though I didn't know it when I booked it, it also has a deck with table and chairs and lovely view that we luckily got to enjoy.

The room itself was a bit smaller than I expected for the price, but it was comfortable, furnished beautifully, and had all we needed for a romantic stay. Not to mention the king bed with featherbed--it offered us one if the best nights sleep we had in awhile.

The inn is beautiful, off the beaten path, and they have sheep so we definitely enjoyed the country feel of Woolverton, which is exactly what we wanted in a night outside the city. The staff were nice but not intrusive as you get at some B&Bs.

The only downside is that the rooms abut each other and walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors. But we weren't there that much so it was minimally intrusive.

Wish we could have stayed longer.... So we'll go back another time instead.

Room Tip: Balustrade Room has everything you need for a romantic getaway. Plus great porch and view from said...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you so much for your review of the Woolverton Inn. I think your description of the property, atmosphere and the area are right on target. Thanks again for staying with us and hopefully we’ll see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Woolverton Inn very recently and were very, very pleased. From the second we stepped out of the car, heard the sheep and saw the quaint manor house we knew we had made the perfect choice. This was both of our first stays at a Bed and Breakfast and we couldn't of asked for a better experience. The staff is extremely pleasant, helpful and so accommodating, especially the owner Carol. The breakfast was delicious, the afternoon tea and homemade cookies made my day and my boyfriend said that the coffee was the best coffee he has ever had.

We stayed in the Ameila's Suite which was the perfect choice. The room was super cozy, the beds are incredibility comfortable (I'm asking for a king size feather bed for Christmas) and the bathroom accommodations were wonderful.

Our only regret is that we didn't book it for another day and also that the weather did not allow us to walk the beautiful grounds and visit the sheep more.

We will definitely be returning time and time again. You will not go wrong if you reserve a room here at the Woolverton! Thank you for such a wonderful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: Book the Ameila's Suite and don't forget to take advantage of the cookies and tea in the aft...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrb525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts about the Woolverton Inn. We are happy you had an unusually warm weekend when you stayed and were able to enjoy the balcony. We strive to provide fresh home cooked food and I’m so glad you enjoyed your breakfast and baked goods. Hopefully you can stay longer the next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My boyfriend and I celebrated our 2 year anniversary at the woolverton this past November. We came for two nights and stayed at the Stockton hideaway. We were greeted by Bob who showed us around and to our room. He really pays so much attention to detail and is very friendly. We absolutely loved our room!! The Bed - super comfy, tons of pillows, Fireplace- amazing with press of a button ( we had it on every time we were in the room) Hot Tub-excellent, they give you candles to light up and bath salts. The room was very spacious for us with pretty views. We loved the breakfast both days it was amazing!!! The poached eggs and the scones were to die for. The afternoon cookies and tea options were so great. we will definitely be back here. Other than the price of the stay (which was very high) we loved it we hope to come back during the week sometime.

When in town do explore Lambertville and New hope both beautiful cities. Take a drive up the Delaware on the PA side and take the Stockton bridge over.

Room Tip: enjoy afternoon cookies and tea included. Most restaurants in area are BYOB
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmello28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Woolverton Inn to celebrate your 2 year anniversary.

We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will consider us for your next celebration. Our rates are lower Monday thru Thursday and we often offer mid-week savings Sunday thru Thursday.

We thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The Woolverton Inn: Must Go! Hands down the best bed and breakfast I've been! The property is absolutely gorgeous from the moment you pull up to the drive way you get a sense of warm welcoming homely vibe. The inn keepers Bob and Carolyn such wonderful friendly people greet you and treat you like VIP! The house itself is decorated so beautifully. All the rooms very spot clean and nicely decorated. My boyfriend and I spent our New Years there and we can't stop talking about the wonderful memories and our next trip back which will be soon!!! The room was beautiful and the view outside was breathtaking like a landscape painting with sheeps grazing so serene and romantic especially coming from a hectic lifestyle in NYC. Down in the lounge sitting by the fireplace we were offered non stop homemade delicious cookies, biscottis, and tea. The breakfast was phenomenal! Very fresh indeed! Bob was absolutely the best inn keeper with utmost respect, courtesy and accommodating every need! Thank you! We can't wait to go back! For those in doubt just go and experience it- a truly magnificent B&B you will not regret.
-Blossom, Gabe

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blossom1gabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Happy New Year! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us. We love to hear that you were able to relax and leave your hectic lifestyle behind if only for a few days. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

p.s. I agree, Bob is the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We decided to go to the Woolverton Inn to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. A gentle snow had just started falling as we pulled in to the inn. Two gentlemen wrestled a lovely, big Christmas tree. As soon as we got out of the car we were enthusiastically greeted by Thomas..the most precious little spaniel. Carolyn, one of the owners, was also there to welcome us. As we checked in, I peeked in to the living room and saw that a roaring fire was lit and soon enough we were comfortably ensconced by it drinking mugs of tea and eating cookies. A basket of current magazines completed my wish list for a perfect inn stay.
We were upgraded to a larger room with jacuzzi and fireplace! That was certainly a lovely surprise!
Its truly a pleasure to stay at an inn where the details are thought of and one gets the impression that the innkeepers are enjoying what they do and are happy that you are there. We would love to go back in the spring so we can enjoy the beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank violetlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Happy Anniversary and New Year! Thank you for your glowing review. The Christmas tree was perfect this year; sorry you didn’t get to see it decorated. Thomas loves the spring, we hope you can getaway and visit us! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
5.0 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
246 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
421 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range: £158 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing