We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hideaway”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
266 reviews
261 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Great Hideaway”
Reviewed 11 November 2008

We learned of this property via Andrew Harper's Collection. Very nice setting; enjoyed the sheep outside our Audobon Cottage windows. Previous guests wrote reviews of the property in journals that are kept in the rooms and everything we read in the book was positive about the property and we ran into repeat guests who seem to like the place. The reviews on this site are on target -- great breakfast and snacks with innovative recipes, helpful staff, good location within 90 minutes of NYC and a few minutes drive from the towns of Lambertville and New Hope with some good dining choices (ie: Hamilton's Grill and Martine's were the ones we tried), shops and outlet malls. An excellent place to relax -- very happy NOT to have a TV in the room and a Bose CD player was the perfect preferred amenity. Our cottage was cheerful, well decorated and at the edge of the line of cottages, meaning very private. I'm sure it is a setting that captures the four seasons with their own charms and we're sorry that we missed peak foliage by a few weeks, meaning we'll want to be back at other times of the year as well.

  • Liked — excellent location, facilities and food
  • Disliked — too bad can't bring children here
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 649ic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    38
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
225
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
282 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

My husband and I recently spent two nights at the Woolverton Inn. If you want rest and relaxation, and actually enjoy the company of your significant other, this place is for you. The inn offers an understated, yet classy atmosphere. The Hunterdon Cottage, where we stayed, was a cottage separate from the main house. It offers a screened-in porch, fireplace, and two-person Jacuzzi. Behind the cottage is a sheep pasture, which you can see from the back window. The sheep are adorable, although my husband didn’t find them so cute when they begin baaaaing at 7:00 a.m.! I even thought that was cute.

The innkeepers are very friendly and accommodating without being intrusive. And the food…very good! We had an excellent breakfast both mornings and never missed the afternoon cookies.

The inn is conveniently located in Stockton, which is only a two minute drive from Lambertville and less than ten to New Hope, PA. Both towns have several restaurants, bars, and shops. I would recommend Martha Brown for dinner and the Blue Tortilla for lunch (both in New Hope); although, the Blue Tortilla was a bit expensive for casual Mexican food.

Have fun!

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — It was a bit expensive
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godiva0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

My husband and I visit the Lambertville/New Hope area each winter. I have stayed at the Woolverton Inn several times, in a total of four different rooms. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They are only too happy to suggest restaurants and make reservations. Breakfast is sublime, really just unbelievable, and the afternoon tea and cookies (hot cider in fall and winter!) is an extra special touch. Because of all this I am willing to overlook a few things. I do agree with other members' comments regarding the thin walls that put a damper on romance. I would not recommend a honeymoon visit. Also, I feel the smaller rooms are not at all comparable to the larger, pricier rooms. I suggest you avoid Asher's Glen, Dorothy's Room (both are tiny and Dorothy's needed some serious sprucing up when I last stayed there) and Primrose Room (never stayed there, but I know there is no bathroom in room - it is across the hall). The larger rooms are much nicer...Newell's Library and Stockton's Hideaway are lovely.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, amazing breakfast.
  • Disliked — Thin walls and smaller rooms needed TLC.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCTtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

im really surprised not to see any negative reviews about the woolverton inn. my husband and i stayed there in january of 2008 and were shocked to find upon arrival that the pictures on their website are misrepresentative of the place. our room, ashers glen, was much smaller than the pictures led us to believe. the walls were so thin we could hear our neighbors across the hall and, suffice it to say, it made for some uncomfortable moments. perhaps this is not the case with the more expensive rooms, but our room showed obvious signs of wear and tear. our bed was hardly big enough for two and worst of all, it creaked with every movement. the blanket was not very warm. also, the room has no tv.

the only redeeming quality about the inn was the food. the full breakfast they served the next morning was delicious. they also had homebaked cookies sitting out on the morning we left. we took a couple for the road, knowing we would never be returning to the woolverton inn in the future.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank BubbaGan0ush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, 11 September 2008
Thank you for taking time to share your review of your stay at the Woolverton Inn. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We strive to represent our property through our website accurately; however, it is difficult to show the size of our smaller rooms, like Asher's Glen, through photos. That being said, we feel that our pricing is appropriate and comparative according to each room's size and appointment of amenities. For future reference, we have an accommodating staff that is more than willing to describe the layout or size of the rooms. We noticed you stayed with us in January, 2008 although you posted your review in August, 2008. We use our slower months in the winter season to spruce up the inn with fresh paint and minor maintenance, which is what we have since done in Asher's Glen. Once again, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Warmest,
The Management at the Woolverton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowie, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2008

My husband and I just went to the Woolverton for our honeymoon. It was everything we could have asked for. We stayed in Stockton's Hideaway which was a good amount of space with the window seat and both tub and shower. The breakfasts were superb, especially their lemon ricotta pancakes and the different muffins and biscuits everyday. They put out baked goods every afternoon and always have hot water for tea, soda, or water available. The backpack lunch was also very good and worth purchasing. We loved the goat's cheese and had to stop at a Wegman's on the way home to purchase some.

The property is also very nice. We enjoyed sitting and reading on the porch as well as other chairs near the fields.

The owners and staff are also very knowledgeable about the local restaurants and their recommendations are worth taking. Our first night we got in later than we had planned and one of the owners called ahead at the Stockton Inn, which we would also recommend for its salads and entree selections. We also loved Lily's on the Canal in Lambertville.

This was a very good inn as well as the perfect setting for fine dining, wine, and relaxation.

  • Liked — Relaxing Environment
  • Disliked — Cobwebs and spiders on the outside of the building
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ekeplinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

My husband and I spent a lovely night at the Woolverton Inn recently. We stayed in Amelia's Suite which was elegant and comfortable. It was on the second floor of the main house. We had a fireplace, a large whirlpool tub overlooking the sheep pasture, and a bath with a two-person steam shower that was great! They also have fancy cottages that you can stay in. The cottages are near the sheep pasture, except for the Garden Cottage (the only one that allows pets) which is attached to a residence.

The setting for this inn is tranquil and peaceful - a wonderful place to relax. The property has a sheep pasture and woods. At the same time, there are some towns nearby that you can drive to with shopping, restaurants, etc.

Breakfast was brought to our room upon request and was delicious! It was presented beautifully and tasted great. Afternoon tea meant scrumptious baked goods and fresh fruit.

Everyone there made us feel comfortable and welcomed. We loved it so much that we have already made plans to return and stay in one of the cottages!

  • Liked — The peaceful environment and delicious breakfast.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lk4trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2008

My husband and I stayed here after we were married for 1 month. Our honeymoon was planned for later in the yr and this was a great romantic getaway.
It was a rainy weekend, but the place was so cozy and quiet.
We loved our room, small and quaint. Breakfast was unbelieveable and i loved the sheep.

I have no complaints, except Stockton, NJ town area is small and not really anything there.
New Hope was a disappointment as well, but well worth the weekend to stay at the Woolverton.

  • Liked — Breakfast and no tv or phone in the room
  • Disliked — Stockton NJ wasnt that exciting
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ABENj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
3.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.0 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.2 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Property: Woolverton Inn
Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing