We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay - although a tad overpriced”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We spent a weekend overnight stay at this Bed and Breakfast. We were lucky to snag this one night on the weekend through their website although when my wife phoned earlier in the week, they stated it was a two night minimum,

We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms which was priced around $200 with taxes just for the overnight. There were other rooms that raged upward to over $325 a night. The house itself is beautiful and tastefully decorated. It looks like it would be a warm and cozy place in winter as there was a nice fireplace. Our room itself was rather small. Nothing else in the room except the bed with an enclosed bathroom with shower only. The bed was comfy. The ceiling wallpaper and paint could use a little attention.

The hosts served us a hearty breakfast which I can recommend. The inn itself was a mere ten minutes from the heart of New Hope.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay although I dont think I will be back or recommend it due it being a little too overpriced. But you know what they say about supply and demand ... pity.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSubmariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Woolverton Inn.

We're happy you enjoyed the gourmet breakfast which is prepared with all fresh ingredients. We also serve homemade biscotti and fresh baked goods in the afternoon. We appreciate your concern about price during these trying times; however, we have not raised our prices in over two years although our expenses (utilities, food, taxes and supplies) have increased sharply. We use high quality products such as Aveda amenities and Egyptian cotton towels and bedding in every room regardless if you're staying in a standard room or our most deluxe. We also offer the same services to all our guests such as breakfast in bed and any type of concierge service you might need. Regardless of what type of room you choose, all our guests also are encouraged to enjoy our ten acres of land with seasonal gardens and views, the porch and patio in the summer and the two fireplaces we light in the living room and dining room during the colder months. We'd also like to mention we offer specials throughtout the year which can be found on our website.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

I spent a long weekend (Thursday-Sunday) at the Woolverton and loved every second of it. If you are looking for a nice quiet get away with the most helpful inn keepers...this is your place. I even stayed in the least expensive room (Primrose) and everything was perfect. Our room was the one room with a detached bathroom (right across the hall and it was private), but we didn't mind (also the bathroom was huge with a great view and they provide very nice robes to walk arond in!) The best part about the Woolverton is the amazing breakfast they serve every morning....3 courses! You don't even want to think about lunch! We were never served the same thing, and these people know how to cook and bake! The inn also provided fresh baked cookies and fruit at all times! We enjoyed our stay to say the least and plan to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Court2234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

One of the few times the website exceeds the actual location. The local is remote enough for a quiet getaway weekend but we've traveled to B&B's all over the country and I would argue that the rooms at Woolverton are vastly overpriced!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Woolverton Inn. We respect your opinion and regret that you feel we did not meet your expectations. We are always striving to make our Inn live up to it's name and reputation and hope that you will give us a second chance to prove ourselves. We are sentitive about our pricing and offer reduced rates during the week (Dec. thru Aug.) along with additional special weekday discounts during the winter months. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment and know we take all our reviews very seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The Woolverton was everything we expected and more! The hosts treated us like family and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts were the best ever. The atmosphere inside & out was great. We ate on the outdoor patio while watching 5 young deer frolic in the garden. If you're staying anywhere else, you are missing out on a wonderful, relaxing expieriance.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Wisia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

We had a great quiet getaway at the Woolverton - we stayed in Newell's Library which was very charming in the main house. We are both tall people and the bathroom is rather tiny - low mirror and close quarters around the commode. The inn keepers were very nice and we had the best breakfasts that we've ever had at B&Bs. Freshly baked breads and entrees made to order. The town of Lambertville is close by and has some amazing restaurants. We also went tubing on the Delaware River which was a lot of fun. The Inn is also close by to New Hope for antiquing, etc. Overall a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Golinda68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We just returned from our second trip to the Woolverton; this one was to celebrate our 7th anniversary. We were previously there 5 years ago for our 2nd; it was fantastic both times, although we think the attention to detail in the gardens and exterior maintenance might be slipping a little. But don't get me wrong -- we WILL be back!

Our first stay was at Asher's Glen. It's a small room but we were very comfortable there and would definitely stay there again. Asher's Glen was a good combo for us: queen bed, bathroom with tub/shower (in one), and a great price.

Last night, we stayed at the Sojourn Loft. It's the most expensive room in the place and we could see why. There is a king bed and fireplace on the ground level, along with a small refrigerator/freezer, sink and coffeemaker. Upstairs is an open, beamed loft with a hammock, hot tub for two, shower for two, and beautiful bathroom. Oh, plus another fireplace! It was absolutely fantastic and probably the most romantic place we've ever stayed. The Aveda products are another nice touch.

We noticed a few things that seemed to have slipped a bit since our first visit. The grounds could use some attention; even just mulching the flower beds and sweeping the cobwebs off the porch where we had a fantastic breakfast would have made a big difference. The 2 adirondack chairs set outside our room were great, although one was missing an arm! This was kind of surprising considering they were for the use of the guests in the most expensive room in the place, and it doesn't seem like it would be that big a deal to fix or replace.

We were also surprised at the casual dress of the staff. They all wore very casual jeans and t shirts when we checked in and when they served us breakfast, which was surprising. I don't think they needed to be dressed up, but even a more dressy casual would have been appropriate.

That said, we love the Woolverton. The room itself, the inn, the breakfast, the surroundings, were all just stellar. The location is so quiet and private, and the decor is phenomenal. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We just hope it's not slipping, and that we can return in the future and find the same relaxing, luxurious experience we've had before.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BitsyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2009

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Woolverton. We strive to fulfill all of our guest's expectations.

In May we had over six inches of rain, well above the average. In addition, there was a frost the third week in May. I mention this because we start planting our ten gardens in mid May and due to the rainy weather we fell a little behind. There are cycles of blooming in spring with the daffodils and tulips blooming first, then the flowering trees take over, we plant pansies in the smaller gardens, the herb and vegetable gardens next and then we begin to weed and tend to the perennials. The last thing we do is plant the annuals and mulch everything. In addition to this, the ten acres of land is mowed and attended to. In May we also cleared the meadow in back of the sheep pasture and cottages and are working with the NJ Audubon Society to create a meadow with plants that are native to New Jersey.

May is also a busy month for outdoor maintenance to the property. We have just completed painting the ouside of all the cottages as well as painted and repaired all the outdoor patio furniture.

The Woolverton Inn is a country inn and we do wear casual attire. The owners and staff wear many different hats throughout the day. The person bringing breakfast to your room could also be the same person that is turning over your room. One of our main innkeepers is also a volunteer for the Stockton Rescue Squad as well as the Fire Department. She can be called away for an emergency at a moment's notice. It is also the owners that tend to the many gardens. Our attire may be casual, but we are anything but casual in tending to the needs of our guests or any other form of customer service.

With all this said, I assure you that we are working harder than ever to make the Woolverton the best is can possibly be. I hope that you will visit again and see the property and the beautiful gardens now that we have completed our spring clean-up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

Where do I begin.....we started coming to the woolverton Inn at least 5 yrs ago, and have been back every year at least once a year, sometimes twice!! We love this place. We love everything, from the old country manor feel to the amazing breakfasts, to being woken up by the sheep. It is close enough to New Hope and Lambertville, but tucked away up on a hill of countryside!!! We will stay there once a year forever........Carolyn and Bob better not go anywhere, anytime soon!! This is a treasure and my husband and I call it "our Inn".......

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2HappySheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
3.6 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
255 reviews
5 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Doylestown
3.2 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range: £141 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing