We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient”
Review of Dunes Motel

Dunes Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dunes Motel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Nutley, NJ
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Clean and convenient”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great place for a long weekend in Stone Harbor. We probably got the very last vacancy on the island for the Labor Day Weekend -- the Pod. Compact and clean and decorated nicely like the other Dunes rooms. Use of beach tags included. No parking spot for this room, but we did find parking up at the beach. Walk to everything --beach, shops, restaurants -- very convenient and pleasant. A few comments: the rack above the refrigerator in that room is useless -- put more hooks on the front and back of the bathroom door, and there should be shelves installed above the toilet to maximize empty space. AND when you cut a shower curtain in half to use for the showers in two pod rooms, dont be too cheap or lazy to hem it, for Pete's sake!! Deck furniture needs some upgrading/additional pieces. Otherwise, get on their mailing list for their specials bulletin! They offer some really good getaway deals!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaureenBNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ANNAPOLIS
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay in August 2012 at the Dunes. It was very clean. We had a two queen bed room with kitchen. The kitchen had full frig, cook top, toaster, coffeepot and pans and dishes. It was a short walk to the beach. One parking spot is included in the rental which is by the night. We did have to leave a deposit for the key and beach tags but that was refundable.
We found Stone Harbor to be a lovely low key place to vacation.
No pool or restaurant attached. We weren't looking for those in a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

I've been going to Stone Harbor for 30+ years and been a patron of of this hotel. I scheduled a 5 day stay at the Dunes 2 months prior. Had an emergency medical procedure that arose and needed to cancel (seriously, I had a doctor provide a written letter and also offered to document it by showing the hotel my insurers explanation of benefits as proof) . They advised me to write a letter. I clearly and professionally documented the reasons in writing. When I followed up they offered me NO options... not even a credit which is all I was looking for! I wasn't even looking for money back, just the opportunity to use it at another time. During the scheduled time of my stay, I called to see if they had any availability and they had NO VACANCY, so they basically sold my reservation and kept my money!! Double dipping in my opinion!

Very disappointing experience. Please be aware of the cancellation policy at the Dunes!

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank 1antera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgej1, Manager at Dunes Motel, responded to this review, 1 October 2011
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your experience with our customer service at the Dunes Motel. We did receive a letter requesting a credit for your deposit, however we did not receive any documentation of your medical emergency. Furthermore, a check back in our reservation database did show vacancies for the dates that you were scheduled to check-in.

If the motel received your notification prior to the 20-day cancellation period or if the room was re-rented for the dates of your reservation, we would have gladly refunded your deposit. We are not in the practice of keeping our customers' money if they cancel. We have an 85% return rate of reservation deposits due to cancellations. We are a small family run establishment and recognize that customer satisfaction is neccessary when running a successful business therefore we pride ourselves on the high quality of service we provide to all of our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stone Harbor hotels

Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

High quality motel. We stayed one night at the dunes motel. without question or hesitation they gave us the key and let us check out the room before booking. When we walked into the room it was clean, with a full size fridge/freezer, microwave, stove, and plates/pots pans etc.
The beds were comfortable, and we got good sleep. The balcony gives you a nice overlook of the town area, it is right near the beach and the town-all in short walking distance, yet peaceful and private. If you decide to stay for a couple nights at the beach for a decent price, I highly rec. this motel. Very convenient.
They can only park one car per room, but there is free parking on some areas of the streets. The towels are small/thin-but for what you are paying and getting, that doesn't matter. I rec. to bring your own towels and toiletries for this reason.
*checking out was a breeze. it literally took 10 seconds!
*staff very polite and to the point. they let you have your privacy and enjoy your stay, but are there when you need them.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielrm5210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We come to Stone Harbor for a few days when we can't get away for a real beach vacation. I'm not a fan of the pricing model of these motels...it's annoying...and expensive...but as far as motels go, they don't get much better.

The room was very clean, beds were big and fairly comfy, but the bathroom is tiny and the towels are pretty small and thin. The microwave and minifridge are helpful, as is the counter. The coffee pot is a joke however.

You really can't beat the location. They share an office with the Seaward, I'm not sure why they can't share the pool too??

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrizzybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My husband and I have stayed numerous times at this small motel. It is updated, It is a small room with a kitchenette area, good beds, very clean(thankyou to the cleaning staff) and close to walking to town and the a nice sun balcony to relax on and watch the world go by. These are the positives. The negative is there are surcharges sometimes added in at certain times as quoted by the manager. They are not based on anything in particular. This information is not in their brochures so they can charge the 20-30 more whenever they want to. Why quote rates in a brochure? And if a surcharge could be added why not state that? Many motels charge extra for weekends but let the people know! We probably will not go back because of the answer we got regarding the inflated amount over the quoted rate that we paid 2 times so far this year. Unfortunately we have just discovered the discrepancy. It is a personal decision whether you want to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shell025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phiadelphia, P.A.
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2008

It was a fun and surprising trip. We had such a great time.Along with the friendly staff. The young lady the had cleaned our room was very kind and always kept the room clean.Whenever we needed towels the nice people at the front desk. they are very welcoming. Also the main street is only two short blocks where there are many little stores. We had a good time and we hope you have as good as time as we did.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bsb1092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
1.0 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Lodge
Colonial Lodge
#3 of 6 in Stone Harbor
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
1.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
423 reviews
8.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Motel

Property: Dunes Motel
Address: 9801 2nd Ave, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1960
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing