We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have stayed at the Lark!!!!!”
Review of Harbor Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Harbor Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Orrstown, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should have stayed at the Lark!!!!!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We were supposed to have a rental for the week 08/25-09/01/12, but that fell through, so I found a 2 bedroom efficiency here at the Harbor Inn starting on the 26th. We have stayed numerous places in Stone Harbor and Avalon, but never at the Harbor Inn, and will not stay again. This place is WAY outdated. The cleaning staff spent more time taking breaks to smoke and read books than doing their job. I had to clean out the drawers when we arrived and there was tape on top of the dressers. The tv is ancient and very hard to watch. The ceiling fan in the one bedroom made crazy noises. Then to finish off our stay we went for dinner and found that someone had scratched the drivers side door on our vehicle. It isn't something that can be buffed out either, and they know they did it. Didn't even make it the complete week and were checked out and heading home on Wednesday. Only thing good I can say is they refunded us for the last 3 nights we were to be there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    19
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phila Pa
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Modest place to stay. Front desk friendly enough. Take note the rooms might be smoke-free but there are tables with ashtrays outside every room. Sad when I had to explain to my 7 year old what an ashtray was. Didn't appreciate the entire housekeeping crew smoking outside our room (102) every morning. Shows poor taste, not too mention a health & safety hazard. Might I'd advise renovating a but, for $175 a night I shouldn't have to re-heat my coffee in a microwave time stamped for July of 1995 or deal with peeling wall paper repaired with scotch tape-really?!

Room Tip: Do not take Room #102-housekeeping smokes near it every morning; noisy ice machine outside and the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I booked my family into the Harbor Inn for two nights in Stone Harbor and it's probably on par with any of the other small hotels in the area. It's close to shopping and fairly close to the beach, so that's two big positives. The rooms are clean but small and very basic - old fixtures, old furnishings, old TV... The staff was friendly and helpful. They set you up with beach tags (deposit required) and umbrella/chairs (for a fee). The front desk and cleaning staff were both top-notch. We were a tight fit with two adults and two children in a two twin bed room, but on top of that they charged me an extra $20 a night "extra person fee". So my advice is to find out beforehand how many people are allowed in your type of room and just tell them that's how many you have. Prices were fair, I guess. You're paying more for the location than anything else. Also there's no pool. I wouldn't have a problem recommending someone stay here, but keep in mind it's a basic motel so don't expect a beachfront resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chunkylover5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed in the 2BR unit with LR, tiny but adequate kitchen, ok bathroom. Everything was clean and neat, and the staff friendly and helpful. It is a great location, close to the beach and the shopping and dining area. But as stated in another review, there are a few drawbacks. No pool, even though it's sister/adjoining motel has one only steps away, we were not allowed to use it. Also, the wifi signal was so weak that it couldn't be picked up in the room, or even on the balcony. If you sat in the tiny lobby, there was a good signal, but there was really nowhere to be there. If you cross the street to the local real estate place, they have a free signal, and a couple of chairs and table on their porch where you can use it. I would stay there again, though I'd try to get a room at one of ther other nearby motels with a pool first.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on their website to see the floor plans. Some are basic rooms. Some have more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnePgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at Harbor Inn Motel with a friend of ours and we stayed in the 3 room + bathroom efficiency suite. It was perfect for sharing with a friend, we each had our own privacy with the separate bedrooms and the living area and kitchen was big enough for us to spread out and enjoy each others company what little time we were in the room.
Ceiling fans helped keep the air conditioning circulating into the bedrooms since the a/c unit is located in the small kitchen area outside the bedrooms...that would be my only complaint...the location of the a/c. I think it would be better to have an a/c in each of the bedrooms and leave the bedroom doors open in the day time to cool the living/kitchen area.
But aside from that...service of the housekeeping staff was good, friendly and efficient.
The price for the room was not too bad.
The "balcony"/walkway areas outside the rooms on the second floor is awfully narrow, though. If you or someone else was sitting outside the rooms, it was hard for whoever was walking by to get past without bumping into each other.
You can park here and walk just about everywhere you need to go in Stone Harbor, though, so that is good.
Our stay was in July of 2010 not 2011, but 2011 is the only option on the drop down menu provided.

Room Tip: The efficiency units are nice but if you don't like being in the "breezeway" area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Harbor Inn is a basic 1950's-1960's motel refitted in the 1980's. Close to the beach and shopping/dining areas, Harbor Inn is in a good location and provides a reasonably clean room at a fair price. Stone Harbor is a quet beach town and Harbor Inn is a quiet place to stay. Breakfast at Uncle Bill's Pancake House is expensive but the service is almost as quick as McDonald's.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

If you are looking for a no frills, clean place to stay, this is it. We left a bed and breakfast to come to the Harbor Inn Motel, because the bed at the B&B was extremely uncomfortable. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the motel room was very clean, and the bed was not bad at all. The airconditioner worked well, and the water pressure in the shower was great. Other than that, it was a typical shore motel room.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trance4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
1.0 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
11.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#13 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn Motel

Property: Harbor Inn Motel
Address: 97th and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Stone Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing