We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a winner!”
Review of Colonial Lodge

Colonial Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The Colonial Lodge is located in the heart of Stone Harbor, one of Jersey's most charming towns. It has been managed for years by the same family, whose top priorities are hospitality, service, cleanliness and the utmost friendliness. Fashioned in the Williamsburg style, rooms are tastefully decorated and feature up-to-date amenities. Just outside the door is a bike lane, where cyclists enjoy the right-of-way on the main thoroughfare. From here, you are only two blocks from the 93rd Street Beach, a beautiful strand--or walk a few paces to 96th Street, where one is transported back to small-town America. Tree-lined streets feature fine shops, US Post Office, banks, a movie theatre, ice-cream parlors, good restaurants and fun pubs. Stone Harbor has won awards as a family resort with excellent recreational activities, greenery, flowers, gracious homes and safety. The Colonial Lodge, quiet and cozy is at the center of it all.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank iwndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

The Colonial Lodge is small, friendly and a great place for a family vacation. CLEAN, FRIENDLY, close to town and the beach, who could ask for more? With so few places to stay in Stone Harbor, we've stayed in all but one of the motels and this one is the best which is why we keep coming back.

Room Tip: They are all good but look at the web site to see what amenities are there and choose what you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have stayed and enjoyed the Colonial Lodge for the past six years. Great folks who run this place. Quite location, short walk to the beach. Bathroom is small but are you really at Stone Harbor to hang out in a bathroom? Our room has a fridge and a kitchenette . Porch with tables and chairs for an afternoon drink before dinner. I can't say enough nice things about the place. I would highly recommend The Colonial Lodge. George's in Cape May for lunch and The Knife and Fork or The Dock in Atlantic City for dinner come back to the Lodge, walk the beach at night, smooch on your friend to the sounds of the ocean and your done! What could be better?

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rullophotographycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Based on reviews here we booked a room for a weekend in October 2012 for all the festivals and crafts fairs in the shore towns. Good Parts - It was a good price, clean, and quiet, but the rooms are old. They left enough clean towels every day, and it had an iron & board. It had a room fridge and is walking distance to town shops and beach. Off street parking is available but tight. There is a ceiling fan.

Bad Parts - Free WiFi but no where to sit your laptop on a table. Two old wing chairs jammed in front of the room with a teeny low lamp table between. Cushions were shot (you sink in a mile). No comfortable seating at all. No table space to eat takeout. Bathroom is particularly small. Coffee pot uses "packets" and they give you 2. It makes 2 cups of weak terrible coffee. Not a plus. Better to bring your own instant and nuke a cup of water. They could offer better in the office if they put in a large commercial pot.

It was okay for a weekend, perhaps the bigger suites are better, but I wouldn't want to spend a week in a room that small. Not w/o a table and better chairs to use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This was the neatest,cleanest, independent small motel that we have ever stayed in ! They have all the usual accoutrements, Beds were excellent, too !I t's a perfect to visit with relatives in Stone Harbor without extra space. Only minutes walking to town, beach, restaurants and shopping. Saved $ with AAA and AARP, Too.

Room Tip: We like 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nedct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012 via mobile

Our family has been staying here for the past 10 years. It's walking distance to the beach and to the center of town. The rooms are clean and there is wifi. The price is very reasonable compared to other places in the erea.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drewlou102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We have stayed at Colonial Lodge for a week every year for the last 8 years. Beginning in 2011, we increased to a week in June and a week in September (Labor Day week). Colonial Lodge is always clean, neat and tidy. We always have a corner 2-room kitchenette, but all rooms have microwaves, coffee pots, and fridges. Frankly, I'm glad there's no pool. It keeps the property quiet, and there are other places (like Seaward) if a pool is desired. Pat and Laurie, the management, are like family, and there are other guests who feel the same way. If you're looking to use your HHonor points, forget it. This gem is so well worth the cost, we can't tell you. Colonial Lodge is located 2 short blocks from the beach and 2 blocks to the town center. Plenty of good restaurants in both Stone and Avalon, and NO franchised fast food places. WWe just wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Norris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
0.8 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
274 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
8.4 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,236 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge

Address: 93rd and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range: £125 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Stone Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing